We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice evening at the Alchemy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alchemy

Alchemy
Ranked #166 of 295 Restaurants in Boracay
Cuisines: Philippine, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice evening at the Alchemy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had a nice evening at the at the Alchemy. We were a bigger group so we order ALL available starters. ALL of them have been really great, some have been orgasmic. Wine was decent and reasonable priced. At the Main courses the Fish dishes were better then the meat dishes. Steak was a bit hard. The Service could need some training or supervision. The restaurant definitely uses a credit card machine. All in All we had a nice evening with some great food. I will definitely go there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
epsom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

A must visit for every food lover, What Josh & his team at Alchemy do is put passion into the cooking, presentation and service of his simplistic menu using local ingredients without the frills.
Without doubt the finest restaurant on the island,

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markis1md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not as spectacular as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

After reading some very good reviews, I had lunch there spice. Unfortunately I was disappointed. The sea food was not up to the expectations set by the reviews. Once slightly undercooked. Another time simply not tasty enough for me.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Boracay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I've been to Boracay over 18 times in 2011 and already three times this year. I scour the island for really good food. At first Mama's, the Austrian/German restaurant located in Hagdan and ran by Marcus as my favorite but now it's Alchemy. The menu changes weekly, the ingredients are fresh, and the quality is 5 star at 3star prices. From their bread, asian fish cakes, pork belly, and a simple calamari pasta it is truly a gastronomical delight. It's the perfect name for the restaurant as it tears thru tradition to come up with its own way of concocting and crafting cuisine. The prices are extremely affordable for the food they have. And most importantly, they are consistent -with taste and quality- something that most restaurants in The Philippines have a difficult time achieving. So if you have to eat in one place in Boracay, eat here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ClutchCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumagette
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“taste also matters, not only presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is the best dining experience we had boracay (the best among many dissapontments). In any other town, i would call it average.
All courses were served superbly. We felt a youch of a real artist in every course. Sadly, but the artist was not the cook... So, the taste was average. Not bad, but nothing special. In some courses there was too much accent on 'modernism', which didnt blend in taste-wise (popcorn and chicken breast). Oh, and we loved their bread!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alchemy also viewed

Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Alchemy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing