We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sea Wind Boracay Island
Ranked #28 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Was a little disappointed with Sea Wind initially. Wrote them 2 emails to check on my booking and to ask for pick up at the airport but receive no reply from the hotel.

We got to the hotel at 7pm and were allocated to a room across the road despite indicating in my booking that we wanted a room on the beachfront. The staff checked and informed us that all deluxe room on the beach front has been taken. In the end we had to pay an additional $1000p per night to be upgraded to a super deluxe so as to be on the beach front.

The super deluxe room seem to look the same as the deluce room across the road. The staff was kind enough to let us view both rooms. The room was big, with a queen bed and a single bed. Ample walking space. The wooden flooring was very well polished. Too well that we almost slipped a couple of times. There's no bedroom slippers.

Even if we were on the beachfront, there's no view of the sea at all. That's due to the poor orientation of the rooms. Beachfront merely means closer to the beach. Indeed, we were merely 100m from the beach, and breakfast was right below our room. There's a small and unattractive pool just beside the dining area but who needs the pool when you have the whole wide powdery white beach and tiffany blue sea right at your door step!

I do not look forward to shower at all even though we had to pop in for a quick shower everytime we head back to the room to wash off the sand. It would be more welcoming if the water from the shower head could be more powerful.

Breakfast was mediocre. We head out for breakfast from the 2nd morning onwards. Lots of food choices as we head towards station 2. Our favorite was Jonah's which was 5min walking diatance away.

Walking distance from Sea Wind which is on station 1 to station 2 takes about 15min via the beach. It was a very nice journey, looking at the waves gushing onto the beach and walking on the powdery white sand. You can take a step closer onto the waters and walk in the crystal clear waters too.

The hotel offers complimentary beach towel for your use on the beach. We took it out and sat on their beach chair to enjoy some tan.

Wifi was complimentary too but signal was very weak. The strongest signal was at the dining area and thats where you see guests typing away on their laptops. 

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smiling_mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    151
    47
    14
    8
See reviews for
121
122
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you want a hotel that is on the beach but also allows you to explore the island than this is a an good place to stay. Make sure you contact the hotel directly before booking as they have different ideas on what they call sea view rooms.

The place does need a complete overhaul but it was cheap & clean. the access to the beach was fantastic, this could be a great place if they upgraded the hotel but then the price would go up. We never ate at the hotel as so many other places to try.

Room Tip: go a high up the building as you can to avoid the noise of kids in the morning playing in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpkins247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family and I took a summer vacation in Boracay and decided to give this resort a try. Surprisingly, it wasn't a bad decision though. The resort is located in station one. It is the quiet and relaxing part of Boracay. Away from the loud parties and drunk kids along the shore. It is located near the grotto. Though there could be some sea weeds on it's part of the beach but it's okay. They also provide boat and land transfers that will pick you up in the airport to the hotel and back.

It looks quite old though but it was clean. Nothing too fancy. It wasn't as posh as other high-end resort in the island but it is big enough. It even have an extension when you cross the street. The pool isn't the best but it is okay for added amenity in the resort. There's also a bar near the beach. They provide ample seats with shades within the shore for your sunbathing moments. The food is great! The breakfast buffet is awesome and the dinner buffet by the beach is heaven!! Service is also okay. The people are very accommodating. They could also arrange some tours for you

If you want some quiet time in Boracay, check out this place. Great for families since there's no parties being held within this area. You can clearly see the location's difference when you walk from this resort (station one) until station two.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the beach and try to avoid to choose a room with garden view (i think it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beestows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Owned by the landed Tirols who pioneered resort building on heavenly Boracay Island, Sea Wind had been one of the prime and elite destinations of developed Boracay(along with Pearl, WalingWaling/Estacio Uno and Fridays. That is until Shangrila and Discovery came to the island. Happy to report that the famed service and larger rooms in elegant Filipino design still measure up. Again, it's important to note that this place is the epitome of boracay as it should be so if you are one to expect a rain shower with an infinity tub and jacuzzi in your room, go to Shangrila and Discovery and fork out $250++ a night.

Why do I spend time discussing this? Because the Boracay experience happens outside the comforts of a 5-7 star western hotel room but on the fine white beaches while you sip your favorite sweet fruit shake from Jonas.

Meanwhile, if you're one to really want to get to know about the rooms at sea wind, beds are comfy as can be with 300 thread count sheets with all the western tv stations you'd like in cable. The room decor will make you feel as if a rich landed aristocratic family like the revered Tirols of Aklan have hosted you in their own home.

We called sea wind directly and negotiated a good rate inclusive of transfers all the way from Kalibo--was smooth as could be. We went through a private dock to get to the island.

Breakfast is extensive with both Filipino and continental choices. Again they make certain guests experience what the locals eat as they give a sampling of various filipino fish and meat items for breakfast.

Location is as good as it gets, allowing guests to go back and forth between the pool and the beach. Families were having a grand time on our visit--Koreans, Chinese, honeymooners. Not really the place for the red bull/adderrall cocktail consumers. Security is tight so sleep tight.

Frankly, I didn't care much for the other meal items other than the inclusive breakfast buffet. There are plenty of dining choices in station 2 now. It'd be helpful if sea wind provided a shuttle. That's my main beef with our 5 day stay.

Wherever you stay, please take care of this precious island. We want it to still be there for our next visit. Boracay truly is a gem. It's not the white sands or the water that will do it, but that warmth and tranquil energy that floats in the air ready for any one with an open heart.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaleTula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Thumbs up for the friendly and warm reception we got from the staff.
We got a beachfront room and the room was clean and nice (remember to ask for one when you book).
We were quite satisfied with teh breakfast buffet.

The pool is not that big though, but who cares when the white sand beach and crystal clear blue water is just a few steps away.

I would definitely recommend this resort to those who are planning to stay in Boracay.

Room Tip: Upon booking request a beach front room. Note that the hotel has two buildings. The other building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights before moving to the Shangri-la for a friend's wedding. I found this resort to be a great value! We were greeted with complimentary beverages (something we didn't even get at the Shangri-la) which was a relief from the heat! The rooms were clean and orderly. It's located right on the beach with a plenty of beach chairs available at all times. The breakfast was pretty good too. We enjoyed accessing the beach down to where all the action was. I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Warm reception by Patty and her colleagues. Very pleasant yet professional approach. We booked rooms 1 and 2 (bamboo cabines) on the first floor and loved it. Nice, down to earth people providing TOP service. I wasn't thrilled by the breakfast though. Juices should be fresh and not the way to sweet packed stuff.
The beach is pristine, pool and bar area clean and well taken care of.
Surely the place to return and stay longer.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are the bamboo huts/rooms and perfectly facing the beach, pool and bar. Airco was a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesheikhfromdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.3 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 145 in Boracay
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0.9 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#31 of 145 in Boracay
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Two Seasons Boracay Resort
Two Seasons Boracay Resort
#29 of 145 in Boracay
494 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House Beach Resort
White House Beach Resort
#49 of 145 in Boracay
271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Wind Boracay Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Wind Boracay Island

Property: Sea Wind Boracay Island
Address: 1 Roberto and Gloria Tirol Park Balabag, Boracay Island, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Wind Boracay Island 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Wind Boracay Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Wind Boracay Island Hotel Boracay
Sea Wind Resort Boracay
Sea Wind Hotel Boracay
Seawind Resort Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing