We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Reserve Beach Hotel
Ranked #55 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

This was one of the worst hotel experiences of my life and I don't understand how this place has so many good reviews. For 150 usd (quite a hefty sum in a country like the Philippines), we had a dirty room and a bed with a foam mattress. We were 3 girls staying in the deluxe room with attic, but we didn't realize before arriving that one of the "beds" was in the attic. I put "bed" in quotes because it's more like a giant round love-seat with a very thin mattress. To get up to the attic you have to climb ladder-like stairs and basically crawl in. The ceilings of both the main room and the attic were covered by loose fabric, which made the whole place really dusty. I was scared of touching the fabric on the way up to the attic being afraid of what creatures were breeding in there. The bed of the main room was also very poor quality, the mattress was thin and uncomfortable. I kept sliding toward the middle of the bed during the night. I was waking up with a back and neck ache every morning. They don't put the blanket in a cover, they only put a loose sheet underneath; I'm not sure if they ever change or wash the cover. The lighting in the room is really poor and I wonder if they do that to cover up the general run down look of the room.
This hotel is a total rip off. Friends staying in other beach-front resorts with nicer and cleaner rooms paid just a fraction of what we did.
If you want to enjoy your beach holiday and to keep your sanity, I suggest you move on, and book one of the other 200+ hotels on the island.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_sunshine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    11
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This is my worst experience , cottage is not clean, has no place to hang the clothes , agoda advirtise breakfast is include, yes there is breakfast inc, but they serve only bread , jam and tea, if you can call it breakfast. Agoda advirtise free wireless internet but this is only around reception service , not in your room. staff is not helpfull. you can have much better service and value of money any other hotel near by. their only care to milk the customers. stay away from this hotel otherwise you will regret it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leehoxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We stayed in La Reserve last February 2010( Chinese New Year ) and it's a great place to relax and enjoy Boracay. A little bit expensive but it's worth it. We stayed in the family cottage, 2 BDR complete with living , T& B and external verandah. Almost everything is perfect ,only the T&B and BDR has no door lock maybe it's designed really for family.two plasma tv and the tub with shower is ok.Clean and very peaceful. Even the guards are very accomodating as well as ladies on the front service. Breakfast is ok , western menu.Thanks for making our stay memorable.Sure to see you next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dohace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

I've found paradise. We were travelling in a group of 38 for a close friends wedding and after 38hours of travelling from birmingham we arrive at La resereve Resort just as the sun was setting WOW, it really is the best beach in the world as voted in travel magazines. When arriving in our room which was meant for 4 sharing wasn't ideal for two copules as there was no separation between bedrooms, but after the first night we moved rooms ans everything was perfect. breakfast was either served to your room on the balcony or in the restraunt. We couldn't fault the service the only problem we found was the money exchange in the hotel didn't change us dollar travellers cheques but we eventually found the tourist centre and changed the money no problem.
The rooms where great and cleaned to a high standard daily and security at night was to a high standard. We loved boracay and the accomadation at La Reserve.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — shower wasn't the best
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 June 2006

We stayed at La Reserve Beach Hotel (BEACHFRONT, Station 2 beside Red Coconut) for the duration of our stay of three days and two nights. It was quite expensive but well worth it. Our almost ten thousand pesos accomodation got us quaint villa. In front is a lanai that has a breakfast table that seats two person and a fancy hammock for lounging. We do our smoking there since hun knows that i don't like the after smell of yosi in our room. Inside you'll be greeted by a big sofa with a matching coffee table and refrigarator equipped with fancy french drinks and the normal filipino ones. The armor has no doors but that's ok since there is a safe provided for keeping the valuables, next to it is a small vanity desk and a mirror. And there's the bed. Queen size with supple sheets. Although the pillow was a bit narrow, i still felt comfy while sleeping and had no trouble on my neck when i woke up. :) Of course there is the cable tv with DVD! hehehe! too bad we didn't bring any flick with us. nevertheless you can rent their collection if bora becomes boring for you. :)

Now the bathroom, the bathroom has a big entry way since the door slides. welcoming is a big sink that holds all my kakikayan. it has a blowdryer for those who needs it. To its right is a huge heart-shaped bathtub (a special request from hunnie. hehehe!) and to the left is the onyx toilet. :) it was spectacular. very much like hotels here in Manila. Let's just say that I could spend my vacay just being in that room. :)

THE STAFF, well, you'll never see a more hospitable and cheerful staff than in LA RESERVE. they are ver y accomodating. for all the granduer of the place, there was never a hint of hautiness or discriminative in any of the staff. when i lost my wallet back in Antique, i had my passport delivered to the hotel even before we arrived. Miss Marisa has been very nice to take care of it for me also when my boyfriend got a scratch on this head, they immediately took care of it and provided the first aid. till the very last minute, the hotel staff has been very nice. :) they treated us like a family, foreigner or local. Definitely, a place we'll come back to. :)

The food, was pretty expensive for our budget. Food rages from 150 to 1000 pesos depending on what course. :) The breakfast was very good. I ate every bit served. :) btw, the packege includes free french breakfast every day. but i've seen the seafood grill they serve and it was tempting. :) A must-try on our next visit.

They also have money changer, great selection of champagnes and wines and ice-creams.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 January 2006

First thing, that i didn't liked these resort was the slow service to the guest at the LA Reserve restaurant, like when you're goin order something in the menu list, it takes an hour to wait. Terrible! And i don't like the room too, the thing the called a bed was a foam not a mattress. Perhaps you will pay $100-$140/night. I think it's too much for that stupid room. And the phone wasn't working so well.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 September 2005

My wife & I stayed 3 nights at La Reserve. Rooms are tasteful, clean & well-appointed with fridge, safe & excellent cable. Complimentary breakfasts were great. The staff were very nice and cheerful, especially Marisa & Venus. Rooms are individual bungalows with no view & the hotel has no pool, but who cares? Rooms are for sleeping & showering, and the ocean (30 sec walk from this hotel's lobby) is the best pool!

Speaking of the ocean, the locals told us that the beach in front of this area is very busy, and the water gets commercial traffic, therefore the ocean/beach isn't as clean as in other spots. I think they're right, but so what? Walk 5 or 10 minutes north on the beach up toward Fridays and that problem is soved.

La Reserve is in the middle of the White Beach area, so it's near shops cheap, local resturants and convenience stores, so you can buy food & drinks & bring 'em back to the room. (As a rule, we always avoid hotel restaurants & drinks & snacks from hotel room fridges.)

La Reserve had better rates for money exchange than other places on White Beach, including the banks, so that was a plus.

3 nights here cost us less than 10,000 pesos ($200) and was, overall, a great value. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Boracay SandCastles The Apartments
0.2 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#33 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boracay Crown Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boracay Uptown
Boracay Uptown
#61 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Angel's Place Spa and Resort
#96 of 167 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore Time Hotel Boracay
Shore Time Hotel Boracay
#13 of 219 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve Beach Hotel

Property: La Reserve Beach Hotel
Address: White Beach Path, Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending your vacation at La reserve will make your holiday dream come true, full of relaxing and partying, with nice ambiance that feels and brings you in paradise. Spend the night in their elegant rooms, and enjoy breakfast on your private balcony with garden views. La Reserve is ideally located for day trips. Spend the day exploring nearby towns or the natural attractions of Boracay Island, or simply relax at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Reserve Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing