We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude and Arrogant Staff Member!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balinghai Beach

Balinghai Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.08*
and up
Boracay Island Hopping
Ranked #18 of 69 things to do in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A romantic, secluded cove on the northern tip of the island.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rude and Arrogant Staff Member!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Swam around from Diniwid and had money for coffees.. one staff member accepted our order, and then another said 'there is a 500 peso cover charge!' .. we asked if she wished to accept our order or not.. we only had 200 pesos.. she said 'how did you get here? this is a private beach' .. we pointed out that there is no such thing as a private beach in the Philippines, it is against the law... She said sniffily 'If it is only drinks, I won't report you' (to whom?) .. totally totally unecessary and a way of being superior to the first staff member who apparently had just joined the bar.. When I came to pay, we had been overcharged. I pointed this out. The same rude staff member pointed her nose in the air and returned the bill with the correct amount. No apology. I don't know if training would do the trick with this one, who appears to be the supervisor.. shame, because the beach itself is nice...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank Jaye87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    47
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Secluded coves and nice reef walls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Consisting of two small coves with equally small sandy beaches, Balinghai Beach can either be reached by outrigger boats from White Beach or on foot by "trespassing" through the grounds of the Houses (Bat House, Hill House, Rock House, Tree House, etc). It is small and secluded enough to be a secret romantic spot for two unless, of course, during the high season, when a dozen or so tour boats use the beach for their lunch stopovers.

Scuba tip: Named after this beach, the Balinghai Reef is a 200-m long pair of parallel reef walls located between Diniwid and Punta Bunga reefs, about a 10-min boat ride from the beach. For experienced divers, it is a boat entry beginning at 10 meters onto a reef plateau that gently slopes down to a staghorn Acropora garden. At this depth, it is said that a couple of resident turtles patrol the area between Diniwid and Balinghai (although I did not personally see them). Generally in calm waters with a visibility of about 25 metres, the shallow reef wall houses a few lionfish, triggers, some clowns, bannerfish and lots of Lyretail anthias. The deeper wall displays the more pelagic sea life like sharks.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Look For Resident Turtle...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Try diving in Balinghai and look for the resident turtle, very friendly. Will swim around you and you can take pictures with it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MASTER_PETER_TAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Corner of Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Balinghai Beach is truly a corner of heaven, secluded and protected by the masses.
The place is located within the premises of a private resort, which is as well trying to take care of the beach, sometimes with deluding results, especially in low season.
Perfect for an afternoon with the family, when you want to escape the crowded Boracay buzz

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really worthy experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We've been on the both parts of Balinghai beach - the almost wild part and on the beach of Balinghai hotel. On the wild part we were delivered by boat for BBQ and snorkeling. BBQ from Red pirates was beautiful, but the beach in this place is not really good - many broken glass in the sand.
The beach of the Balinghay hotel is very comfortable. We've been there all the day long. There is the restaurant here, in the beach, and you can eat and drink whenever you want. The beach beds are soft and pleasant, the sand is white. And there are many living beens here - on the shore and in the sea.
Near the beach tied several rafts for snorkeling. The sea life that we've seen from them was very interesting - starfishes, urchins, corals, fishes...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlgaLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balinghai Beach also viewed

 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Balinghai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing