We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't misinterpret this”
Review of D' Talipapa Market

D' Talipapa Market
Ranked #14 of 71 things to do in Boracay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hordes of locals and tourists throng this street, where anything can be bought and all prices haggled.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Don't misinterpret this”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

So Talipapa is known for market of fresh seafoods. Ever wonder where those seafoods come from? Not in Boracay itself of course! Those seafoods are from Roxas. But they still manage the seafoods to be fresh. :)

Just bring extra money because they will chop your wallet lol. and you will let the resto near the market cook it for you with of course the right fee.

Oysters are good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Taramochi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    146
    59
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, QLD
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“don't miss”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

lot of people went to Boracay and missed the wet market Talipapa.

Here you can get fresh seafood for a reasonable price after some bargaining.

There are restaurants around which will cook ur catch for a fee like yummy garlic prawns.

But the charge now up to 250PHP per kg.

If you come through the alleyway next to Victory Divers there was a place with a 100 cooking fee

also small stalls in the way from Craft supermarket cook it for 100PHP.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dieter8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good for shopping and seafood”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A special market place where you could choose your own seafood, bargain at the price you wanted and request the restaurant to cook at your choice! However, do not find that the seafood is worth it as it seems more costly than other places.... But the food was very yummylicious thou!! :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pala pala in Boracay”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Its a nice place to eat when you are looking for fresh seafoods. Price is expensive to me (compared to what I buy for my restaurant). But no choice, they all have the same price. Just need to haggle a bit for many orders. Since we are 15 in a group and my budget was just 2000, 500 per kilo for a shrimp is a bit expensive compared to 240 where i bought for my restaurant. So i need to improvice on a cheaper shellfish instead for soup and viands. We had tinola clams for soup, chilli buttered shrimp, squid adobo and calamares. We had it cooked just beside the market. The soup was perfectly cooked but the buttered shrimp is not spicy. The squid adobo lacks the tanginess of the vinegar. The calamares is soggy, i think they made a wrong batter. I hope they will see this and improve next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling Chef W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Must Bargain Bargain or u be slashed.”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Ate here twice and the price gets cheaper 2nd time. 1st Nite paid 2000 peso for 2 fish, 2nd Nite was 800 peso for 2. It's a deal. Total bill for 2nd Nite is 900 peso per pax with a group of six. It was worth it. Really enjoy ourself on the good spread. Can make a trip here when in Boracay, many types of seafood is on sale. U pick yur choice, bargain hard than chose a restaurant to do the cooking for u. Our 900 peso included drinks n cooking.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Teo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D' Talipapa Market also viewed

Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to D' Talipapa Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing