We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MNL Boracay Beach Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed for 1 night in a Twin Room in May 2014.

Pros:
- Includes breakfast: Very simple meal but good enough to start the day
- Walking distance to White Beach 2 & Bulabog Beach
- Close to the action on Beach 2
- Very clean & had a safe
- Sufficient power points to charge any items

Cons:
- Wifi was weak & could barely be enjoyed from the room, though we were on the same floor as the reception
- Heater was a little iffy and didn't seem to work well.
- Streets are a little dark
Great option if you want to go budget but still be near the centre of the action.

Would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank theorangepassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for MNL Boracay Beach Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

clear, comfortable, convenient and friendly. it's perfect to have strong air-con in this boiling summer on boracay. you can also meet the best people from around the world. nice wifi in social area, and awesome place to chat over on the top of the roof.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank peach L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I'm on a solo RTW backpacking trip for one year, so I've stayed in a lot of hostels and will be staying in a lot more. All I can say is I hope I run across more like MNL Boracay- I loved it! The location is good, right near the main road, just down from a nice laundry place, and about ten minutes from the beautiful beach. The staff is very friendly and the hostel is huge, so there are tons of people to socialize with. As a solo traveler, meeting people is a priority for me. At MNL, I had hardly walked in the door and already had a group of friends. The upstairs bar/hammock area is great for lounging, and the rooftop area is awesome for the same- we even played some late-night drinking games up there when it wasn't raining. I stayed in a mixed dorm- I love the pod-style beds. There are no curtains but still a fair amount of privacy, if you're on the top level anyway. My room was directly off the bar/music area so you can't really nap during the day because there's always music playing, and people are hanging out and drinking right outside your door at night, but I didn't mind. It's all part of the party vibe! The showers are really nice for a hostel I think, and there are plenty of them. They're clean as well- if someone's not in the showers or toilets at that moment, the staff is feverishly cleaning them so they're always pretty spotless. Pretty good wifi as well- works best on the main level. So if you're not into partying or meeting people and are extremely noise-sensitive, you might not like this place. But I absolutely adored it and have amazing memories from my stay at MNL Boracay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelarose92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

4 stars for now as we havent experience the rooftop chillout and fun with the staff and fellow traveler.

As on our first night we encounter rainshowers and the following night we made plans to be at the beach.

This just mean that we are definitely going back!

Keep it up!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Marian Audris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is famous for backpackers. The price is very cheap but the accommodations were good. I stayed in a mixed dorm room and was assigned an upper sleeping pod. The bed was very comfortable but it was hard to get up and down my pod using the tiny ladder. As for the shower facilities, they were also OK with hot and cold water but some of the toilets were windowless so it can get pretty hot inside. Breakfast was very minimal and basic. Just toasts with an assortment of jams an 1 hard boiled egg and 1 banana each.

This being a backpackers' hotel, the fun part is what happens in the common areas. When I arrived, they had free yoga sessions at the roof deck. And then there's always something going on to encourage socializing with other people. Some of the staff would play at night so the guests could sing along or mingle and just have fun. There's also free wifi in the common area and a computer for the guests' use.

Room Tip: If you're booking a sleeping pod in a dorm room, I would suggest the lower pods because it's...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euridicee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Amazing dorm rooms! Great bunk beds with private lights, comfy beds, private lockers. Towels are provided too. Air con is great. Breakfast is great if you can get up on time and amazing rooftop social area. Staff are so friendly too, we had a great time staying there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireS772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A great hostel for backpackers and too a best spot for backpackers to gather together! The price is reasonable, breakfast is included and of course, free wifi! And they will provide u with the new bedsheets and blanket upon check-in. Do remember to pre-book on-line to secure your booking and get a discounted price. I love the design of the room, I stayed in 6 chambers mixed dorm. Each chamber provides you with plugs, light and space to put your stuffs. No regrets of picking this hostel, which the location is strategic with just a walking distance to the D'mall and the Bulabag Beach. This hostel is so so so happening at night, do discover it at night! I miss the moment when I was there! O'some!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clayton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.7 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#44 of 146 in Boracay
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Carmela de Boracay
La Carmela de Boracay
#101 of 146 in Boracay
1,212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#54 of 146 in Boracay
310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
0.8 mi away
Villa Romero de Boracay
Villa Romero de Boracay
#65 of 226 in Boracay
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MNL Boracay Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MNL Boracay Beach Hostel

Address: Road 1-A, Bulabog, Brgy. Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Price Range: £11 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MNL Boracay Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MNL Boracay Beach Hostel, an offshoot of MNL Boutique Hostel in Manila, brings you luxury comforts plus backpacker fun in the best island in the world! Yes, paradise just got better! We combine the best of the basics: 8 inch spring mattresses, high thread count linen, fluffy pillows, power showers, free high speed fiber internet, and add to that an awesome backpacker experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your MNL Boracay Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing