We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great oasis on Boracay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Ranked #11 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Trollhattan, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great oasis on Boracay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We asked DSHI (Dave´s Straw Hat Inn) to arrange our transfer from the airport to the Hotel - worked perfectly all the way, as it did also when we left for the airport. Also the price was good (225 Pesos per person I believe).
The room was nice and clean with a comfortable bed. The aircondition is ok but a little noisy (as I think all AC:s are in the hotels...).
The location is in the calm part of the beach, which for us was exactly what we wanted. To get to the "high life" you need to walk a few hundered meters.
The staff is allways happy and serves you with anything you need (even breakfast 5:30 in the morning !). They also helped us to celebrate our frinds birthday with a great result !!
All in all a very positive experience for us !!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STO60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    185
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
96
361
103
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

I really loved my stay at Dave's. I'm staying in Room 4 with a friend. The people there are friendly and helpful. The room is clean. Everything is almost perfect. However, there may be room for improvements for the shower facility as it takes quite some time for the water to heat up. The pillow is too soft. And lastly, the wifi connection in the room is very weak. I need to be sitting outside the room to stay connected. Would definitely recommend my friends to stay here if they want to be away from the noisy crowds.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pigletpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here at Dave's Straw Hat. From the moment we were greeted at reception, to the moment we waved goodbye, we felt like we were part of the family. The small group of staff are attentive and genuinely friendly and are the resort's main asset. 

The rooms are comfy clean and a good size. Pretty much what you'd expect from this price range. You could argue that it's on the more expensive side for a place that has no pool, views, or breakfast included, but Boracay isn't a cheap island so I think it's about right. The air-con unit isn't the quietest, but we've been traveling around the Philippines and they're all the same style. The rooms do have quiet ceiling fans so you can switch between the two if the noise bothers you when you sleep. Prices for food and drink are very reasonable, if not cheaper than some of the bars on the beach.

The resort itself is situated down one of the side streets at the quieter end of White Beach. The majority of the rooms are around the edge of the reception, so it's quite a compact layout. We had a young family across from us that were up early everyday. Due to the layout of the rooms if their toddler is throwing a tantrum on the balcony at 7am you'll probably know about it. This is Asia though, so you probably weren't planning on sleeping in anyway were you?! It's worth mentioning though, that due to the close proximity of the rooms, guests should maybe be a bit more considerate regarding noise. This isn't a criticism of the resort just something for the people staying there to keep in mind.

We don't have any regrets about our stay and would recommend it to others. Keep carrying on the good work guys! :-)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grassy_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

We had the greatest time staying here, all the other reviewers are right. The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming and we really enjoyed eating at Dave's, especially the breakfast burritos and mango drink. Yum! It was a bit of a walk (10 minutes) to the main shopping areas but we enjoyed the exercise each day. A great place to stay and highly recommended! Thanks Janet:)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kit_kat009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Dave's is located at one end of White Beach which is quieter than in the middle but only a couple of minutes walk from the action which is great. The rooms are very nice with AC, satelite TV and verandas and you can use the sunbeds for free at another hotel which is a few minutes along the beach. The staff are very helpful and the pacakes enormous! I would highly recomment this hotel and would stay there again if I returned ot Boracay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules1234Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

i love your welcome drink, unique resort.When i live there ,i felt i stayed at home.Anything is perfect,especially the great service from janet,jimjim,ronald,jan and somebody i can't remember the name( sorry for my wrong name spelling). It is quite there and comfortable for living. More i have to say is that it is very close to the beach,2 minutes walking. Dear everybody, thanks for preparing a birthday cake for me, it was really a big surprise and i would never forget this birthday. Next time i would choose dave's straw again.

Room Tip: standard cottage and deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paper0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

We made our 3rd trip to Boracay, staying at Dave's again as we had for our previous 2 trips. Wow, Boracay has continued to grow over the last 7 years but Dave's still has remained a great place with excellent staff. All the best to the crew!!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LovePI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.3 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#9 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#40 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Property: Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dave's Straw Hat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing