We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place to stay in Boracay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Ranked #11 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best place to stay in Boracay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

its our first time for me and my husband to go to boracay and we want a special place for our honeymoon. so I went to check who got the top hotel spot in boracay and its Dave Straw Hat Inn.. Our stay here was awesome...Price is very good too! Personalize and a five star hotel service too! They suprised us a very very delicious choco cake on our of our nights... thats very heartwarming .. We will get our family here and stay here for our next vacation in Boracay...It might not be the front ing the beach but its just barely two minute walk from the beach... no loud music from the party scene so u could sleep well.. there are store around the area so if u forgot to bring toiletries, you can always buy it from them for a small amount..and also a nearby massage spa...Pancakes - banana and mango are sooo fluffy and tasty! Freckles is such a good dog...aaaww i always wanted to bring her here lol...
kudos to the staff of Dave Straw Hat Inn! too bad we didnt see Janet , but will see her soon when we come back as promised.. we love u!

Room Tip: we got room number 4 for our honeymoon room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rkstanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    185
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
96
361
103
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights while on holiday in Boracay. Just like many others, chose this hotel based on the plethora of good reviews already posted by fellow travellers here. Right from the time of contacting the hotel for availability information, till the time we checked out, it was a completely pleasant and hassle-free experience.

The hotel is about a 2 min walk from the beach-front and is located at what they call as Station 3.. Actually works better being slightly away from the beach-front as the hotel turned out to be very quiet and peaceful. All the bars and restaurants are within walking distance from the hotel.

The pick-up they had arranged for us from the airport also worked flawlessly and made for a hassle free transfer from the airport to the jetty and then onto the island. Strongly recommend using their transfer services.

The rooms are a bit on the small side, but comfortable none the less. The staff were all friendly and were ever ready to help you out. All in all in a very pleasant and memorable stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quarryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

My wife and I stayed for 8 nights starting 10th May. Absolutely loved it!

Staff are super courteous, helpful and friendly. The rooms are cleaned every day (we loved the finishing touches such as the different clean towel 'origami' every day!), the location is quiet, the breakfasts are delicious, and the white russians are very generously sized!

We would stay there again without a second thought.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie-and-James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan City, Metro Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

I am not at all biased and have no connections whatsoever to the staff/management/owners of this hotel. We only found out about this hotel through the good reviews they have in the Internet.

But inspite of the positive reviews, I was at first still a bit cynical, when we first booked at this hotel. In fact, we had initially only booked a one night stay. All this changed when we first entered the gated compound of Dave's Straw Hat Inn. The staff greeted us warmly and provided us a delicious iced tea shake as welcome drink.

Even after this, we did not yet expect that our expectations would be far exceeded. The room was very clean and cozy. It had clean curtains that covered the glass sliding door. The airconditioner was also working very well (quiet/no noise and cooled the room despite the very hot weather when we were there), and there is a large nicely decorated ceiling rotating fan. We were impressed with the design of the rooms, and we got many, very relaxing restful sleep that rejuvenated us during our stay. The hotel room truly provides value for money to its guests.

What made the hotel even more relaxing and beautiful was the garden. There are many plants that surround the walkway going to the information counter/mini-resto and the rooms. Outside the room, there is a patio with many plants that made the area cool, despite the very hot weather. The bed and the pillows were also excellent, as they were very comfortable. They even provided us mosquito repellent (katol) at our patio in the evening. (Probably our only suggestion would probably to grow some aloe vera plants in the place that help repel mosquitoes in the area, although these did not interfere much with our stay.) We felt that the staff and management of the hotel was making the room as comfortable and cozy as they would have liked it.

But the best comment we have goes to the staff who have all been great and warm and friendly (much better than 5 star hotel).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank force_of_tao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trollhattan, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We asked DSHI (Dave´s Straw Hat Inn) to arrange our transfer from the airport to the Hotel - worked perfectly all the way, as it did also when we left for the airport. Also the price was good (225 Pesos per person I believe).
The room was nice and clean with a comfortable bed. The aircondition is ok but a little noisy (as I think all AC:s are in the hotels...).
The location is in the calm part of the beach, which for us was exactly what we wanted. To get to the "high life" you need to walk a few hundered meters.
The staff is allways happy and serves you with anything you need (even breakfast 5:30 in the morning !). They also helped us to celebrate our frinds birthday with a great result !!
All in all a very positive experience for us !!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STO60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

I really loved my stay at Dave's. I'm staying in Room 4 with a friend. The people there are friendly and helpful. The room is clean. Everything is almost perfect. However, there may be room for improvements for the shower facility as it takes quite some time for the water to heat up. The pillow is too soft. And lastly, the wifi connection in the room is very weak. I need to be sitting outside the room to stay connected. Would definitely recommend my friends to stay here if they want to be away from the noisy crowds.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pigletpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here at Dave's Straw Hat. From the moment we were greeted at reception, to the moment we waved goodbye, we felt like we were part of the family. The small group of staff are attentive and genuinely friendly and are the resort's main asset. 

The rooms are comfy clean and a good size. Pretty much what you'd expect from this price range. You could argue that it's on the more expensive side for a place that has no pool, views, or breakfast included, but Boracay isn't a cheap island so I think it's about right. The air-con unit isn't the quietest, but we've been traveling around the Philippines and they're all the same style. The rooms do have quiet ceiling fans so you can switch between the two if the noise bothers you when you sleep. Prices for food and drink are very reasonable, if not cheaper than some of the bars on the beach.

The resort itself is situated down one of the side streets at the quieter end of White Beach. The majority of the rooms are around the edge of the reception, so it's quite a compact layout. We had a young family across from us that were up early everyday. Due to the layout of the rooms if their toddler is throwing a tantrum on the balcony at 7am you'll probably know about it. This is Asia though, so you probably weren't planning on sleeping in anyway were you?! It's worth mentioning though, that due to the close proximity of the rooms, guests should maybe be a bit more considerate regarding noise. This isn't a criticism of the resort just something for the people staying there to keep in mind.

We don't have any regrets about our stay and would recommend it to others. Keep carrying on the good work guys! :-)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grassy_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.3 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#9 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#40 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Property: Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dave's Straw Hat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing