We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awsome inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Ranked #11 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awsome inn”
Reviewed 7 June 2007

Stayed at Daves Straw Hat Inn for 18 nights in May I wish it could have been longer Janet and her staff were so nice, and the room was always so clean. The Hotel staff did everthing to make my stay unforgetable.

Dan

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DanHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    188
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
96
367
107
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

I read so many good reviews about this Inn, so I decided to bet on it.
Well, I can say now that I stayed with my family while in Boracay, and by family I mean my wife and the staff of the Inn.
It is a mix of family atmosphere and professionalism that is tough to beat anywhere in the world, and I've been in many places through out the world.
Save one more hassle in you trip, just book with them and worry about other things. However book as earlier as you can. The secret is out and they are always solid booked.
Do not be fool by the "not at the beach" gimmick. It is such a short walk that looks like one step when you see what I mean by family atmosphere and professional work..
And Janet, think of a mix of best friend and concierge. She will bend over backwards to make your stay as perfect as possible, and all the staff is not far from her.
I even joke with her, I asked for restaurant suggestions every evening, and she will come up .with one everyday. So, by the third day I said: "you are 3 and 0, so you got to keep the streak going", well she did not disappointed me and kept the streak intact to the end.
They are good in any aspect, when I booked I emailed Janet, well it felt like she was next door, not on the other side of the planet. She will respond you as fast as one can ask for..

So, If you go to Boracay you must stay at the Inn, period.

  • Liked — Staff and rooms
  • Disliked — I can't find anything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ZZZLPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2007

The room was just what I needed and the staff there is # 1 Hope to get back next year and Daves will be where I stay.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaHaliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2007

Boracay is stunningly beautiful but at times can seem a bit like a “Korean Cancun”, young groups come in droves invading the beaches and restaurants. Dave’s Straw Hat Inn is a respite from the small package resorts and thumping bars catering to this crowd that cover much of the central and northern parts of White beach. Dave’s is located about 100 meters off the beach in the relatively quiet southern portion close to Station # 3. We booked directly with them online through their website for around $39USD per night.

Upon arriving at we were shown to our room (#6), which was a compact double with cable TV, a small refrigerator (stocked with San Miguel beer and soda at only 35PHP = $0.75USD each!), a few chairs, security safe, sliding glass door and a private patio. The room had a cute décor and was well maintained and spotlessly clean. Daily maid service was provided. The security was good (not that it was needed, Boracay couldn’t have felt safer!) with fence surrounding the property and someone staffing the desk anytime we happened to look. They have a large lending/trading library of books, their kitchen prepares good food (try the breakfast burritos!), and they can get you a deal on SCUBA through the nearby White Beach Divers. We paid $150USD for a total of six guided dives including equipment, great price!

About the only complaint we have is their booking procedure. In order to make an advance booking you must prepay 50% (for rack rates) or the entire sum (for “discount rates”) to have the reservation confirmed. Since they choose not to accept credit cards this means that you have to make payment via Paypal and have Dave’s charge you an extra 4.1% to cover the commission Paypal charges to Dave’s. If you don’t have access to Philippine banks to directly deposit the payment, the only other options Dave’s provides are to do a ridiculously expensive Western Union international payment or send them a cashiers check from an international bank by overnight certified mail (the fees alone on this would cost more than a two night stay!) It was annoying and not customer friendly that they required 50% or full prepayment and on top of that make the guest pay the fund transfer costs!

I would hope that in the future if Dave’s insists upon prepayment that they might consider either accepting credit cards to just to secure the reservation (but still require the room be paid in cash upon arrival) or else just absorb the cost of a Paypal transfer themselves.

Other than that though Dave's was a wonderful place to stay in every respect!

  • Liked — Friendly service, free WiFi internet
  • Disliked — Reservation fees and prepayment
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank globedecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

dave's straw hat inn is the best place to stay in bora coz you're getting the 5-star service and accomodation without paying too much... its really getting the best value for your money... they have very assistive, polite, enthusiastic and helpful staff who are always around for their guests. janet -the owner is very accomodating... all of their rooms are super clean and very comfortable to stay... plus the best thing i like in this place is that they offer free wi-fi service, so if you have xda, pda or laptop then its really great to stay here... you could check your email and do your business while enjoying a great vacation... its just a minute walk to the white beach... their food are good and inexpensive too. try their filipino style spaghetti and chicken curry. they have a very tasty home made iced tea too... i'll go back here soon, i'll bring my family and friends... i really recommend dave's straw hat inn a place to stay when you're in the beautiful boracay island!!!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jpcoballes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2007

We just returned from our 2 weeks holidays on Boracay. We enjoyed the trip very much!! The staff at Dave´s was helpful and friendly everytime we asked for special things. If you plan to go to Boracay do not miss a nice German meal at Kurt and Magz restaurant at the Beachfront. If you are planning to visit the Bat Caves do not forget to bring your hiking shoes!!!

Again many thanks to Dave, Jane and all their staff who made our trip
unforgettable!

Björn and Sandra

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2007

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here on a 4 day 3 night stay. I happened to find this site based on prior customers reviews. This was exactly what I was looking for. Far endough from the beach to be quiet but still close. Dave and Janet and their very helpful and friendly staff were extremely courteous to all of their guests. Daves Straw Hat is clean and with the small intimacy of a bungalow inn that makes you feel right at home. One of the great touches that impressed me is the mosquito coils in the evening near your bungalow entrance that keeps the mosquitos away and coming from a foreigner that attacts mosquitos as much as souveneir sellers, I was very happy to not be bitten once in the four days.
The personal touch that Dave and Janet give to their customers is what I feel should be kept in the spirit of Boracay. I wanted to avoid the big hotel feeling and have the feel of primitive but with the convenience of the modern and this was a very good deal.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank American_Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#53 of 145 in Boracay
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#44 of 145 in Boracay
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 145 in Boracay
1,465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 145 in Boracay
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Property: Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dave's Straw Hat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing