We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over substance...one to avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Coconut Beach Hotel
Ranked #32 of 152 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Im staying here cureently unfortunately i prepaid my room and cannot move. The poolside deluxe room is horrible for almost 7000 pesos a night the toilet is tiny with not even a curtain between the shower and the toilet area.

On checkin the reception staff refused to print a second keycard for me.

The in room internet is not free, which would be okay except the internet they sellbis horribly slow that i am using my mobile 3G instead so they are basically stealing from unsuspecting customers.

The restaurant is good for food but the service takes forever even to take your order. Actually the whole hotel seems to be understaffed. When i chdcked in i had to wait an hour for the only reception staff to get freed up to serve me... This was at 7 pm so really no excuse for such lax service.

Sorry but for the price you pay here i expect much better service and quality. Very diaappointing!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArunSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocomanager, General Manager at Red Coconut Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

We wish to first thank this valued guest for choosing to stay with us and then to offer our wholehearted apology for failing to meet her expectations. It's most unfortunate that management was not notified while this guest was present with us. We would have been happy to meet her needs.

Just for clarification, all of our Poolside Deluxe rooms do in fact have a tinted sliding glass shower door which separates the water closet, or toilet. Understandably, we are a little unclear about this concern.

Regarding our key card policy, we do in fact issue only one key card per room as a practice. Being an Eco-friendly hotel and for this purpose, we encourage conservation of electricity, however, we gladly issue second key cards when our guests express the need. We will make sure our front office staff remembers and understands this.

Regarding our WiFi, we'll have to agree with this guest. Granted, our wireless system is above industry standard, yet the internet providers/suppliers here in the Philippines are remarkable slow. We apologize on behalf of the internet service here yet we understand the need for the internet nowadays, therefore it's something that we are compelled to offer, albeit slower than other countries.

Regarding our restaurant service, we apologize for not satisfying your expectations. This guest was here during our busiest holiday season and our restaurant was at capacity for several evenings. 7 pm is actually the beginning of our peak hours in our restaurant. Of course this is no excuse and we vow to educate our servers to be more attentive.

In conclusion, we understand that this guest had a very difficult journey getting to this destination and it evidently set the tone for this entire trip. That being said, we always recommend to all of our guests, please, by all means, approach any of our management staff with your concerns (while still on site) and we'll be delighted to satisfy you. We take all guest feedback very seriously and will use this to better ourselves. Though it may seem a bit to late for this guest this time around, we nonetheless warmly welcome her back so we may demonstrate what we have become famous for, namely, guest satisfaction. Hopefully the next trip here will be a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Really an ideal location. Situated at the center of the island at station 2 you have easy acces to everything. Fantastic staff, good food, excellent service. The red coconut really is an ideal hotel for boracay goers.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmJ1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at Red Coconut for 13 nights in Feb 2013. We stayed in Room 307 which was on the 3rd Floor with good view of the beach. The room was great. Cleaned every day and had everything you could need. Also a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and Coco Cafe. We had seen on previous reviews that due to the central location of the resort that we may be affected by noise at night, so took ear plugs. Didn't need them once. We weren't distrubed at all. The staff were excellent and very attentive. Always pleasant with cheery greetings every time. One of the things that I especially loved was that on 3 separate occasions the staff were joking and laughing with each other, Not at the expense of the guests but happy staff make for happy guests. The food was great and we ate at Coco Cafe on several occasions. Happy hour between 4 - 8 pm. The staff were happy to get drinks for us while we soaked up the sun on the loungers on the beach. The Coco Bar was also great. Fab bar staff. Check in and check out were easy and I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting a great relaxing holiday on a beautiful island. Very close to D'Mall which in itself was an education, Expensive shops mingled with typical Philippino style shops. Recommend that if you want to get cash, go to the ATM early. There are several of them. We had no problems getting cash. We had a fab holiday at Red Coconut. A suggestion. If you want a quieter swim, walk the half mile or so to the north of Station 1. The water is so clear, it's so quiet, your very own little spot of paradise.

Room Tip: My husband asked for a room that was on a higher floor and that overlooked the beach. This was acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arabian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Well, it's mainly our mistake as we didn't do the right preparation - detailed reading of reviews, check of web pages… But I suggest to call Superior room rather Basic or Budget (although the price is definitely not budget). Especially room no 211 is a real pit, "view" to the building 2 meters far, short beds, noisy A/C, awful ceramic floor… Room 412 (where we moved after 1 night) is much better and acceptable.
There is no hair dryer in Superior room. When we asked the reception, we were told hair dryer is not part of Superior room… Come on! it is a 4 star hotel! Then we asked for manager and the hair dryer was provided…
On the other hand accommodation in Deluxe rooms with sea view on higher floors must be nice. Hotel has perfect location, very nice bar and restaurant and great beach (beach beds free of charge). Staff is nice, although not much helpful.
We would come back, but never to Superior!

Room Tip: Deluxe room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank postak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was our first trip to Boracay and The Red Coconut. The place was awsome, It is right along the beachfront and close to the D-mall. The staff was very helpful as was the bar which was only a 100 feet from our room. The Coconut has a free buffet type breakfast each morning which was really good. We also had dinner twice at the resturant onsite which also served excellent food and had 2 guys who played guitar and sang each night, When we return we will book with the Red Coconut again.....

Room Tip: If you are going with family you might ask for a room away from the bar area, you can hear the music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

We had a good stay at their family suite, the room is clean and big enough for the whole family. Staff are approachable. Breakfast is good. A good value beach front hotel....will definitely recommend and go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michica09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

if you're looking for a hotel in Boracay that's right in the middle of everything then check out Red Coconut. located right next to D'Mall between Station 1 and Station 2. the hotel isn't super fancy, but for the location you can't beat it.

luckily we were able to get a great rate even though it was peak-season for the hotel. staff were extremely helpful and service was great. Coco Cafe/Bar had great food and drinks at fair prices. the pool was decent, but more importantly there was a great beachfront for the hotel. though sometimes the seats can be limited, it's well worth the wait...especially for the amazing sunsets. Coco Bar was pretty busy every night which was great if you're with friends. probably not the best if you're with young kids and/or couples that want a quiet get away.

i would definitely recommend this hotel to a group of friends looking to have a good time at a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themattkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 mi away
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
0.2 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#34 of 152 in Boracay
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 152 in Boracay
784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Coconut Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Coconut Beach Hotel

Address: White Beach, Barangay Balabag | Between station 1 and station 2, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £64 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Coconut Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Coconut Beach Hotel remains the premier destination for informed travelers to our little island, Boracay. With world class amenities and personal service, you and your loved ones will have the vacation of a lifetime! Situated in the middle of the world famous White Beach, between station 1 and 2, we are steps away from the ocean, D'Mall, and other fun activities. Enjoy a cool tropical drink at our beach front bar or dine at our famous restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Coconut Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Coconut Beach Boracay
Hotel Red Coconut Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing