We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Nature Sanctuary Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandala Spa & Resort Villas
Ranked #20 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Mandala Spa & Villas for our 25th Anniversary in July 2014 and it was the best and most memorable holiday we have ever had!

Although Boracay is not the easiest place to get to (1st flight to Manila, change of terminals, 2nd flight on a 80 seater propellor plane to Caticlan, car to a small boat, land on the beach (literally) finally car/bike to hotel), it is well worth the effort. Hint, travel light!!

Stacy, the Hotel Manager, was helpful with our bookings. We were met at Caticlan airport by helpful and kind Dyo (the Hotel's transport guy) who made the rest of our journey to the hotel smooth and easy. At the hotel reception Glenda and Zheeri were also extremely courteous and helpful with all the arrangements.

It was not the best time to visit Borocay as it is the rainy/off season, but despite the occasional downpour, we still had a great time! Best to wear flip flops or wellington boots if you are travelling this time of year and wish to go walkabout as some of the roads and walkways tend to get flooded around the main road and D-Mall.

The theme of the hotel is 'back to nature'. The villas are surrounded by lush greenery very cleverly landscaped. The hotel is built on a hill and has just 12 villas spread out around the breakfast gazebo with one Pool Villa which unfortunately was not available. Do try to get the Pool Villa if you possibly can. It has the only pool in the hotel and is in heavy demand.

Our Garden Villa was huge and had all the luxury comforts one would expect of a 5 star with a few extras like a shower area open to the elements - where u can have a true "rain shower". The true essence of a 5-star hotel with the serenity and surroundings of a back to nature retreat!

We booked the 'Five Days: Submerge and Learn' Yoga package that included daily private yoga classes (with our wonderful instructor - Stacy) and massage/facial sessions. Although you can request this in the privacy of your own villa it is much nicer to have your yoga class in the "Vessel" and your massages in one of the several "Spa Villas". The Mandala signature massage is heavenly!

There used to be a Vegetarian restaurant on site; unfortunately, that has since been closed - hopefully Management will decide to reopen it. Other than the complimentary breakfast which is provided by the hotel for all guests, if you wish to eat in the hotel, you will need to order in from one of the many restaurants on the island who will deliver to your room. Menus from several of these restaurants can be found in your room. If you wish to eat out, there are many international cuisine restaurants along the beach, on the main road and in D-Mall all fairly close by.

The beach is about a 5-10 minute walk down some steps and a path through the natural forest past the Vessel. The powder white sand beach is just picture perfect! There are no motorised water sports on that side of the island (those so inclined can easily get to the other side of the island as there are many touts who will gladly arrange this for you). The winds and waves were fairly strong so sailing and kite boarding is popular.

We received the honeymoon treatment and the hotel set up a complementary Cleopatra Milk Bath in our Villa.

With the combination of the serene ambiance and the amazing staff at Mandela, our memorable experience will be treasured forever!! We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StressyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This resort is perfect for relaxation and peaceful vacation. No loud music and no outside noise and you will not be disturb by locals trying to sell hats and sunglasses. This place is perfect for meditation and healthy living!! We had yoga two times in the morning and then you can walk straight to the white beach for a quick morning swim. Front office was very helpful and friendly. the person who escorted us from the airport {sorry I do not remember his name} was extremely polite and knowledgeable about the island. Breakfast selection was not so big but it was freshly prepared and again the staff was always smiling and giving suggestions how to plan our day.
We have read so much about Mandala treatments and I would like to say it definitely exceeded our expectations, the massage was truly amazing. The rooms are private and upon check in we had so many fresh flowers! Very romantic!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My Husband and I spend 3 amazing nights at Mandala Spa for our honeymoon. We were searching for a quite and of course romantic place and Mandala was one of our number 1 choices. And here we are, enjoying and loving our island escape! The surroundings are beautiful, you feel so relaxed and overwhelmed. The staff is extremely polite and have lots of suggestions where to go and what to do and where are the best places for dining.

The island is stunning with unforgettable white sand beach and blue water and amazing diving experience. The transportation was not so impressive, but I would say it is still a nice experience since where else you will have a ride on this kind of transportation!!! We had fun!!!

The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and yoga classes in the morning! They also have evening classes but we were out for dinner every night.

We truly enjoyed our stay and we hope to be back next time we are on Boracay.

Room Tip: They offer Milk bath for honeymooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel! Beautiful set up in the villa, privacy and peaceful atmosphere. The hotel does not have a pool, but you can always walk to the beach or take a motorbike and go to another beautiful Boracay beaches. We also tried their signature massage, very relaxing and incredible experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhannet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Mandala Spa & Villas is a beautifully landscaped tropical retreat. There are so many spa options, the best thing to do is check out their website. Each villa is separate with private balcony. Healthy breakfast is served in outdoor hut. Morning yoga included. White Beach is short walk down the hill to where there is a walking path to D-Mall. I liked to spend the mornings at Mandala then walk down to White Beach for afternoon and dinner. The entrance is from Main Road so right there you can get a trike to wherever you want to go on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Co-ords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

In tripadvisor, there is a review showing its rusted and broken parts in the room. The management made a reply that this review was written by some malacious young couple wanted the full refund after their stay. I agree to the management. The room was really beautiful, luxurious and clean.

However, there actually was some parts need repairing. Flushing button and faucets were partially broken and was hard to maneuver, Large net protecting bed from mosquito had a teared spot and made it useless. AIr conditioner was too small for the spacious room. I was okay with the temperature. But someone who are sensitive to heat would complain for the air conditioner.

Their complimentary massage service was satisfactory. However, if I had to paid for it, I would not consider paying its high price. There are tons of massage shops offering less than half price.

Service was very kind and good. However, when we were checking out, even though they asked me our checking out time two times on the first day and I called them for helping hand 10 minutes before checking out, no serviceperson came to my room to carry the luggage. We had to mover our bags to the lobby in the hot day.

Also, I had to point out one mistake during the check out, We canceled one night a month before we stay. However, the bill did not reflect the cancellation and the staff asked me to pay for the night we had cancelled.

When I said it was not reflecting the cancellation, it took more than 10 min. for the staff to confirm the cancellation and issue a new bill. My familiy and transportation service had to wait during this checking out procedure.

Overall, I was satisfied with Mandala Villa, However, I sugget they need a little more effort to maintain their great reputation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phlip0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was the perfect way to end a splendid, tranquil trip in Boracay. The ambience is unique, and an elevated yet true representation of Filipino style - blending seamlessly with the tranquil beaches.

The staff are courteous and professional, yet still warm. There is a fine line between with being "too friendly" when front staff are entertaining guests, and I appreciated that the staff are responsive to guests and made us feel at ease.

Everything is first rate.

As to the massage itself, it was divine. An out-of-body experience. I've suffered a debilitating spinal injury back in 2009, which is exacerbated by my athletic activity - so my back is almost always sore. After about an hour of the massage, my spine seemed to be aligned and I felt light as a feather. While the massage itself was a relaxing activity, it was also therapeutic - meaning I will probably be visiting the chiropractor less this season. Thank you, Mandala Spa.


This is one of the best Spa experiences I've had. One must visit Mandala spa when in Boracay, otherwise the trip wouldn't be complete.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Brogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#23 of 148 in Boracay
1,557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
1.0 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 148 in Boracay
750 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 148 in Boracay
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala Spa & Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Spa & Resort Villas

Address: Station 3, Ambulong | Manoc-Manoc, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#12 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £105 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandala Spa & Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are committed to holistic wellness and well being. Our eco-friendly and luxurious resort villas are your door to a universe of healthy lifestyle options and internationally awarded spa treatments. The lush resort estate is private, full of tropical nature and birdsong. Mandala Spa and Resort Villas is located near station 3, just 5 minutes walking distance to White Beach. Each resort villa has its own private entrance, teak floors and vaulted ceilings. All villas are equipped with Wi-Fi, a 42 inch LCD TV, safe, mini bar, slippers, bathrobes, beach bags are provided for your use on the island or as a souvenir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandala Spa & Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandala Spa And Villas
Mandala Spa & Villas Hotel Boracay
Mandala Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing