We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great location, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frendz Resort Boracay
Ranked #12 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great value, great location, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in January 2011, busy season. The room was large and clean, very basic with a solar shower. I really enjoyed how close it was to White Beach - about a 2 minute walk.

The beach chairs provided and the discount for the Steak House were absolutely fantastic, but the best thing about the resort were the staff - very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Reinhard was fantastic - he helped us find a doctor, set up dive lessons, get our clothes laundered and even send some postcards! The free drink on arrival and the free wifi were much appreciated.

The only downside would be the noise - although Frendz is situated back from the beach, you can still hear bass from nearby nightclubs and we got woken up by roosters and people wandering past and talking. This might depend on where your room is situated and I think for the most part, the noise can't really be helped. If you're looking for peace and quiet maybe Frendz isn't the place for you.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will be recommending Frendz to our friends :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    133
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
21
78
150
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I highly recommend this hostel. It was a wonderful place to meet new friends. Everyone is very friendly and the staff is extraordinary. They have comfortable accomodations, but you will spend most of your time on their maintained beach front and in the common areas. They have a "private" beach front where the staff will take care of all your needs. They serve drinks and food directly to the beach chairs and have a restroom in the resturant. The owner is very friendly and is always there to help with whatever you need, he has great tips and can set up excursions if you wish. The hostel is a short walk to White Beach, resturants, nightlife, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbeiswanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Frendz is actually an ok place in an ok location with a friendly staff. However, at the price point, it's a very disappointing experience. The place has an ok bamboo hut kind of construction and a garden ambiance.

If you're looking for a bargain, this ain't it. But if you want a friendly environment pretty close to the beach, you might take this as a try.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenuinelyCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesteve, Owner at Frendz Resort Boracay, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Thanks for your feedback! I’m sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. I think it’s also fair to mention that you visited Boracay between Christmas and New Year, which are the super peak days here on Boracay. Everybody looking for a great bargain here on the island over these days will probably be disappointed. However, we try to keep our prices reasonable also during these days. Cheers, Reinhard (owner of Frendz)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights. We have booked a non aircon room and decided to transfer to an aircon room. Without further questions Reinhard instructed one of his helpers to help us transfer to our new room.

I asked for a news paper early morning and again Reinhard happily let me borrow his kindle for me to read international newspaper like herald.

One night me and my husband came back to the resort with me feeling really sick .. Too much drink.. And badly in need of a lovely brewed coffee.. Even the restaurant is already closed.. I think 1 am .. Reinhard happily turn on his Italian coffee maker... It took 15 mins to heat up but worth as the coffee is really good and helped me.

This was my 9th time in boracay and this is the only time that I enjoyed the island feeling at home with my own friends not as a tourist.

Free wifi, yummy breakfast, billiards , hummack, pocket books ... Most of all friendliness of the owners.

We will be back definitely.

Lenirose

Frendz really live by it's name. Thanks a lot! See you again

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We arrived on Halloween and didn't know what to expect. We found Frendz Resort to be a diamond in the rough. Right from the moment we arrived we felt the warmth and friendliness of Reinhard. The resort is short walk to the beach but that is a good thing. You are able to get away from the noise and busyness of the beach. The inner court area at the resort is truly a meeting place. We met so many wonderful, adventurous people. The owner gets to know the guests right away and introduces you to people that have things in common. One of the nights the staff went to market to get fresh seafood and then cooked it for us and put on a wonderful meal. The rooms are clean and a good size. The staff go out of their way to get to know you, call you by name and go above and beyond. The staff are all family and you feel part of their family. You feel very safe staying here. The owner also helps arrange tours and activities. Borocay is one of my all time favorite places to be. The weather is really warm day and night. The white sand and aqua water are so beautiful. We sailed around the island and stopped on one of the beaches for lunch. We also had massages on the beach, dinner every nite on the beach, and manicures. Everything is so reasonable. There also is a shopping mall very close to the resort. We went golfing for the day and went up a hill to the roof top of an apartment building to watch the most awesome sunset. We stayed nine days and felt that wasn't enough. I am planning on returning with my husband as I know it will again be an truly amazing holiday. This is a must to see. I can't stop talking about it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeoulSister52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

spent 9 weeks in the phils this past summer and this was by far my favorite place to stay. i came thinking i would stay here a couple nights and find somewhere else to stay...WRONG. great atmosphere. they say it's a 2 minute walk to the beach, but it may be less than that. great staff, better than okay food (plus, once a week they also have a big meal for everyone in the hostel to meet and socialize), free internet, the showers were decent (especially when compared to other places i stayed).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitchellharrelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Great location, great place to stay. Very friendly staff and fellow travellers. Very well organised with group activities etc. Good food, good beers. Great place.

If I had to write something negative, the noise of the roosters and the maintenance of rooms. One room was being upgraded, however the noise was never at early hours or late at night etc.

Great place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steelindustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.2 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
#10 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#28 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.3 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#30 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frendz Resort Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frendz Resort Boracay

Property: Frendz Resort Boracay
Address: | Near Boat Station 1 Balabag main Beach, White Beach Path, Aklan Province 5487, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Frendz Resort Boracay 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some good reasons to stay with us: - Designated beach bed area just within a 2 minute walk to prime locations - Free wifi in all rooms - Multi-awarded hostel in Boracay - Family run - We organize fun tours together with you - Discounts at partner restaurants, dive shops and kite-surfing schools - Free pasta with live music every wednesday and sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frendz Resort Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frendz Resort Boracay Hotel Boracay
Frendz Hotel Boracay
Boracay Frendz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing