We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable & good value for money”
Review of Orchids Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boracay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchids Resort
Ranked #66 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
AliceInSthEastAsia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable & good value for money”
Reviewed 14 May 2007

As a single girl traveller, I really liked this place, especially for the price. Having booked into a nearby guest house, I checked out of there after just one night and moved to Orchid's Resort which I found so much nicer. With a plan to stay 5 nights in Boracay, i extended my stay by another two nights, partly because I felt comfortable and safe and happy in this quiet little place. The property is really nice with a lovely big garden and balcony for the upstairs rooms. My room was nicely set out, with a clean bathroom. They also do a great breakfast for 100 peso.
It's distance from the hub of activity works for it and against it. The beach out front (about 1 minute walk) is lovely as it is not overcrowded with people, plus there are no little market stalls, only a few restuarants and cafes, so you feel like you can truly relax on this part of the beach. Although, it is a fair distance to walk home if it's 4am in the morning and you've been out at one of the bars nearer to station 1 or 2.
If you're likely to be annoyed by kids and noise in the morning try not to stay next to a family room - although i found it hard to let anything get to me on Boracay!
Not sure who the manager is that has previously received bad reviews... I didn't meet him, but I did get a hello and a smile from most of the staff.

  • Liked — The garden, clean comfortable room
  • Disliked — The walk back there at 4am in the morning!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AliceInSthEastAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    111
    43
    14
    15
See reviews for
50
128
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Key West FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

For those on a limited budget like myself I found Orchids to be far and away the best value on the island. The rooms were clean, good food and service as good as anywhere else on the island (which I must say had a "laid back island" approach)...

I was so glad to run across the Orchids and definitely plan to re-visit the resort in the future.

Adrian Blackshaw
Key West, FL USA

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — I was really quite satisfied for the money
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aforbesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2007

Boracay in itself is a magic spot. Unfortunately, due to some of the more recent hotels the volume of concrete has rapidly increased on the island. Orchids Resort built entirely with natural materials preserves the magic of this paradise. You add to this the fact that the rooms are clean, the staff always friendly, the garden filled with lush green and beautiful orchids and all that at very reasonable prices...Also, for those of you who like to play a game a chess, you will always find a member of the staff eager to measure his skills with the guests.
If you want to live a few days in paradise, Orchids resort is the place to go!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank ConfuciusTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2007

Orchids has a perfect spot in Station 3, being close to the market if you want to buy things. The place & service is really fine.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank quiczilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pino in Oz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2007

Living a frantic pace in a western society made us long for a hassle-free, a do-nothing and a laid-back approach for our holiday. Then there was the budget to contend with especially that we wanted a week's stay. Orchids Resort far exceeded our expectations. My daughter and I were looked after by the staff very well and yet they were not "in your face" by keeping a respectable distance. Safety and securiy were also important to us. I loved having my early morning swim, the beach being only a few minutes (2) from the resort, to arrive with a cofee and tea tray waiting in our own verandah, and check on my emails being connected wireless at a minimal fee - wow what a holiday! Then there was the Pickled Fish and Grilled Fish we requested as a special treat for our Sunday lunch. Mmmmmm we will be back at the next opportune time - this time with the rest of the family.
I am relieved we were not right in front of the beach where the traffic and the noise were greater, yet close enough.
One word of advice to other travellers. Know what you are looking for in a holiday. Orchids Resort offers great value for money particularly for families and therefore if one expects a 5-star place and treatment -well I suggest you are not in the right page. Be fair! Be realistic!

Arlene Caine
Perth, Western Australia

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank triggercaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

Not the best place, but certainly Its not as bad as what others make it out to be. You get what you pay for. This isnt a 5 star hotel. It will not be as fancy as those you see right on the beach but it has its own appeal. Its quiet and its homey. The staff there are really nice especially Jun. A friend and I stayed there for 10 days in february it cost use $100USD each. Pretty damn good since I didnt plan to spend all my time at the resort. I looked at it as a nice place to sleep. I really enjoyed the quiet garden atmostphere away from the hustle and bustle of White Beach. There were a few minor inconvinices like i had to make my own coffee in the morning, but for $10/night with breakfast and laundry service included and free transportation to and from the airport, I can live with making my own coffee and eating the same breakfast for 10 days.

If you're on a budget and dont mind a 3 star resort, this is the place to be.
If you dont plan on staying at the resort the entire time this is your "home base" as you're only a stone's throw to the beach anyways.
If you like to interact with people rather than have them act like robotic servants this is the place. Their staff have personalities.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Same free breakfast everyday
  • Stayed February 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank deity_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#51 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#39 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cool Stay Inn
Cool Stay Inn
#107 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
#10 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
#119 of 147 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Romero de Boracay
Villa Romero de Boracay
#73 of 219 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchids Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchids Resort

Property: Orchids Resort
Address: Station 3, Angol, Aklan Province 1268, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the island's most attractive, low-budget resorts, the ORCHIDS RESORT features native rooms and cottages made of native bamboo and nipa. And now equipped with Wireless Internet Connection. ORCHIDS RESORT is ideally located less than a minute walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchids Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing