We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not as amazing as other reviews make it sound.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jony's Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 152 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The location of this hotel is the best thing abt this, right on the beach on station 1 but very close to station 2, best of both worlds. The rooms were clean and ours was large. The bathroom was fine and clean also but nothing special. We had a balcony facing the beach which was lovely. The front desk staff were good but service was with a functional air rather than a genuine friendliness you get in say Vietnam or Thailand. Staff in the restaurant often had trouble with understanding English and one in particular seemed to enjoy lecturing us about not eating or smoking on the beach - way beyond the point where we had understood the rule. In the late evening  the desk is manned by security guards with very limited English. 

Breakfast is basic, my friend found it really salty. Good shakes as everyone has said but otherwise the food here is not great.  There are a limited number of loungers in front and they are not put out in the morning due to high tide. However, there are way too few for the number of guests so you have to get lucky or bag yours early as we found many guests just left their beach towels (jony's give you your own) on loungers then didn't use them for most of the day. 
There is a bar with a live band nearby who sang till about 1am so I had to put earphones in to sleep.
All in all,  a decent, but not spectacular hotel experience. 

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lycheewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

I stayed for 4N, 5D. Jony's was great and welcoming. Staff at the front desk would remember me by name. They were helpful with organizing our excursions.
The rooms were nice and clean. Pretty updated. The keys come on a long shell lanyard with the room number on it, so instead of carrying it around, we would always leave it at the front desk when we would hang out at the beach.
It's just a walk across the backroad, and with the helpful assistance of the security guards, we always got across the road safely.
Location is just right. It's close to the restaurants and nightlife, but far enough away from the loud music and crowds.
Breakfast was good. Shakes were yummy and came in a large tall glass.
Free wifi available, but really slow.
Good value for what it's worth. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbug1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I think this is a case of managing one's expectations before arriving. Maybe based on the glowing tripadvisor reviews, I had expected a bit too much - the tiled floors in the room, the toilet that blocked and would not flush, the tired (but clean) towels and bed-clothes, the shower fitting that flooded out of the bath tub onto the floor however carefully one placed the shower curtain - all these things came as a bit of a shock at first. Then I realised that, in reality, this is a basic resort hotel, which provides clean and reasonably comfortable rooms, just across the road from the beach. It is not a city-centre 3 or 4 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be. So, after I had settled that in my mind, I did not bother too much about the closet doors that would barely close, the ancient TV set with unreliable control, and so on.

The staff I met were definitely friendly enough and helpful. Breakfast in the open-air, but covered, eating space across the road was very basic indeed, and would not be enough to fill up anything other than a small adult. There is no buffet selection - it's basically egg, a tinned hot-dog, two slices of airy toast, and juice OR coffee! Just a snack.

The location is good if you are willing to walk for 10 to 15 minutes to get to D'Mall and the real centre of beach activities. And since most guests will be on holiday, I'm sure the walk will be a pleasure, not a burden. It was nice to be located somewhere that was quiet enough, but not cut off from resort life.

Overall, I was content with the stay, but not delighted. The free wifi everywhere was a bonus. Maybe compared with the competition, and based on value-for-money, it deserves it's top ranking on tripadvisor, but if I return to Boracay again, I think I would try one of the many other resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Right from the get go we were met with amazing service. I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to the La Perla suite upstairs which has an amazingly huge balcony that overlooks the beach. The room itself was fantastic - but what made it such an experience was the level of service that was displayed by all staff members

Breakfast is provided at the restaurant located across the street. After experiencing the same breakfast buffets provided by most other hotels, it was great to have the option of a great tasting breakfast freshly cooked every morning. Oh, and their shakes are out of this world - definitely a highlight of Station 1.

Location wise, it is located on Station 1, which is typically the quieter station of White Beach. Saying that, it is on the cusp of Station 1 and 2, which means it is close to the hustle and bustle of Station 2, whilst being far enough from it for it to seem like a bit more of a personal experience.

In terms of any negatives, the only thing I can think of is the reliability of the hot water system. It seems that you can have long hot showers one time, and then have only 2 minutes of hot water on the next shower - but really, in the grand scheme of things, it is no biggy.

Yes, there are more flashier and prettier resorts out there, but whether or not you'll be getting the same great personalised service is another. I recommend this to anyone who visits Boracay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Went to Boracy and selected Jony's resort after spending good time on the internet, I must say the choice was not bad,had a good time at their resort which is located just by the beach.
Service is very good, people are very nice!

All in all a good place to splurge in luxury!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I kinda feel bad giving Jony's only 3/5 but in all honesty, that was the experience for us as we ended up changing to a quieter area of Boracay after a couple of days.

Like many have said before, what makes this hotel special is the amazing service. The staff were extremely helpful and all smiles all the time. Also on the positive side, the hotel is very clean and the room we stayed in (super deluxe) was spacious and modern.

However, the location was not for us - it was too noisy with the street and bars right next to the hotel. And although it's not the worst area of White Beach, we felt the amount of people passing by and coming in and out of Jony's restaurant (which is right next to the sun loungers) was too much for a relaxing stay on the beach.

So all in all, a great little hotel if you want to be close to the bars and the action and don't mind a little noise.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank epic_fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I, together with my husband and 4 friends stayed at Jonys for 4 days and we were so happy we chose this resort. We felt very much taken cared of during our entire vacation. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The room did not really wow me but it is spacious and superbly clean. For the value, this is really beyond my expectation!
Will definitely be back in amazing Boracay and will make Jony's our home in Bora :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#2 of 152 in Boracay
679 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#22 of 152 in Boracay
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#11 of 152 in Boracay
839 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.2 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 152 in Boracay
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jony's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jony's Beach Resort

Address: Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £61 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jony's Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been one of the oldest and unwavering family founded establishments in Boracay Island, Jony's Beach Resort cemented its position as one of the prestigious resorts on the island since 1985. Known for it's personalized service, Jony's Beach Resort not only has convenient access to the famous powdery white sand beach and crystal blue water, but it also connects it's guest to the much sought- after bars and restaurants on the island. One just has to experience it in order to believe it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jony's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jony`s Beach Hotel Boracay
Jonys Beach Hotel
Jonys Beach Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing