We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service but location was not for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jony's Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent service but location was not for us”
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I kinda feel bad giving Jony's only 3/5 but in all honesty, that was the experience for us as we ended up changing to a quieter area of Boracay after a couple of days.

Like many have said before, what makes this hotel special is the amazing service. The staff were extremely helpful and all smiles all the time. Also on the positive side, the hotel is very clean and the room we stayed in (super deluxe) was spacious and modern.

However, the location was not for us - it was too noisy with the street and bars right next to the hotel. And although it's not the worst area of White Beach, we felt the amount of people passing by and coming in and out of Jony's restaurant (which is right next to the sun loungers) was too much for a relaxing stay on the beach.

So all in all, a great little hotel if you want to be close to the bars and the action and don't mind a little noise.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank epic_fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    170
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
110
234
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I, together with my husband and 4 friends stayed at Jonys for 4 days and we were so happy we chose this resort. We felt very much taken cared of during our entire vacation. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The room did not really wow me but it is spacious and superbly clean. For the value, this is really beyond my expectation!
Will definitely be back in amazing Boracay and will make Jony's our home in Bora :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Many of the reviews on Boracay on trip Advisor have been found to be disappointing. As reported elsewhere we have not experienced this prior to our visit to this island.

Our visit to Boracay had been planned and influenced by friends and Trip Advisor reviews. After a period of involved searches of the internet we had chosen either Jony Beach resort or Daves Straw Hat. We [I] made the wrong decision and booked at Daves Straw Hat - wrong! wrong! wrong!.

While holidaying on Boracay and after being disappointed with our pre-paid accom. we sought to inspect Jonys. We found the establishment on Station 1, the restaurant ideally situated on the beautiful white sand beach and the resort immediately to the rear.

We attended the reception and were greeted by willing staff. It was explained that we were being accommodated elsewhere. We were offered an escorted tour of the building and were shown truely deluxe rooms. The rates are reasonable [incl breakfast] and a discount is offered for 4 or more days!

The photographs on the Trip Advisor do not do this place justice. I would consider that the rating is 'understated' unlike other places on this island.

If conditions haven't changed later in the year we will seek to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

- booking was smooth, friendly, payment was trouble-free and swift.
- airport pick-up was comfortable, their agency who picked us up at the airport was organised.
- Hotel was located at Station 1, calm and classy ( i love it) however if you want noise, just walk 5 minutes to reach Station 2.
- check in with welcome drinks was great, staff were helpful.
- Hotel room is above expectation. Room was clean, no insects, bathroom was so nice, I love the black marble sink's table and the big mirror.
- everytime we cross the street to go to the restaurant or seashore, they have a stand by security guard to help hotel guest cross the street.
- Restaurant was located at the seashore, we literally stepping on the white sand white having breafast, staff are unbelievably friendly, smiling at all times and I am sure they are not doing it for work only, they let me feel like I am having meal at home served by my siblings. My Canadian husband was very happy with the customer service. They are part of the Jony's gem.
- Food was really really good and smoothie was so good as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

It's a fair trek to Boracay, even from Hong Kong, so we were grimy and tired when we arrived. At first, I wasn't blown away with the room (#203) but it grew on me - the bed was comfy, there was a balcony, and wifi worked. It was basic but all you need on an island. We stayed five nights and didn't want to leave.

The hotel is literally steps from the beach, there are reserved sunloungers for hotel guests, and there's a decent restaurant with a large menu serving Filipino, Western, and Mexican (!) food all day long - including breakfast. (And not too expensive - other places up and down the beach were more $$$.)

The staff were super-friendly and we had no problems at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coco9nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Just want to compliment the staff at Jony's for their superior customer service. Our stay in this resort is one of the best thus far from the many places we've visited and stayed at during our trip to the Philippines. The rooms are big and very clean and the location perfect for a quiet and relaxing vacation and yet only a short walk away from action. The relaxed ambiance of the resort makes you feel right at home. I hope to come back there again with the rest of my family, someday soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I can highly recommend Jonys for anyone travelling to Boracay. The staff in both the hotel and restaurant were friendly and very helpfull. The rooms were well cleaned every day. The best rooms where in the newer part of the building.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#9 of 145 in Boracay
809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 145 in Boracay
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#8 of 145 in Boracay
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 145 in Boracay
724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jony's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jony's Beach Resort

Property: Jony's Beach Resort
Address: Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jony's Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been one of the oldest and unwavering family founded establishments in Boracay Island, Jony's Beach Resort cemented its position as one of the prestigious resorts on the island since 1985. Known for it's personalized service, Jony's Beach Resort not only has convenient access to the famous powdery white sand beach and crystal blue water, but it also connects it's guest to the much sought- after bars and restaurants on the island. One just has to experience it in order to believe it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Jony's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jony`s Beach Hotel Boracay
Jonys Beach Hotel
Jonys Beach Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing