We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Isla Gecko Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Gecko Resort
Ranked #20 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

There were 13 of us who booked in this place and stayed for 4d/3n. It's just a short walk to White Beach, D'Mall, and the main road, less than 5 minutes walk on average. The staffs are really friendly and accommodating. Since this is not a beach front property, getting a good night sleep is no problem as you are some walk away from where all the party is.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeshinyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    31
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
20
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

I got this in agoda.com after seeing its 7.5 rating. I was disappointed for a number of reasons. First, I didn't like the location as it was in a back area near D'Mall. Second, the room and bathroom were smaller than thought. Third, the Wi-Fi proved problematic inside the room. Fourth, the room wasn't cleaned daily. Fifth, bed bugs were a problem and expect to get eaten alive in the lobby. Overall I felt I could've gotten better deals elsewhere and won't return here again.

The owner family is nice and all but that cannot save a pkace with issues like Isla Gecko.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo M, Owner at Isla Gecko Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
First of all, thank you for choosing Isla Gecko for your stay in Boracay. The family regrets the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. Our apology.
For one thing about your comments on bed bugs, we have hired a Pest Control and found no bed bugs in our rooms. I repeat, no bedbugs found in our rooms or in the lobby as you have said. We sure have some mosquitos in the lobby which you probably thought as bed bugs that could have been avoided by using mosquito off lotion. We have an open lobby, that is why we have some mosquitos around when it rains which is expected in a tropical country. Concerning the room not being cleaned daily, our manager upon hearing your complain about it to our Security Guard, explained to you that the room are serviced upon request due to security reasons. Our Wi-Fi has recently been upgraded.
As a Filipino-American owner, we pride ourselves to continue and give the best budget hotel can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

i've been to this paradise island for several times now, but only isla gecko made my stay really comfortable and enjoyable. location wise, it was not only very near the beach front but near the food establishments and party scene... just a few steps away... they provide for the basic amenities a big hotel chain can offer without injuring your wallet. i will definitely go back here! regards to joey (GM) and the rest of the very accommodating staffs!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank recidivist8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

went to boracay last week for work and a little pleasure on the side. on the last minute, we opted to move-out of the hotel we booked initially. on the spot, my group (around 12 pax in all) looked for a place to stay and we stumbled on isla gecko on the internet. we called the number and inquire. we had a pleasant talk with their manager (joey luna) and we were in luck as they were able to swing the room bookings to accommodate our group for the dates that we needed to stay. we dropped by the place like 20 minutes after that and simply love the place. it's homey and the staff was very helpful! to make the story short - we moved to isla gecko right then and there!

the place has around 12 rooms and each has it's own AC and even electric fan as a back-up. the hot and cold water was also working. i personally loved it that the sheets and the towels were 'pristine' white. (for me it's a sign that the place is clean and hygienic). all rooms had tv but who watches cable tv in boracay! :-) isla also offers simple breakfast and main entrees to their guests for an affordable cost. their brewed coffee was specifically good!

the management (led by owner, tito teddy macabeo, its manager, joey) and staff are very friendly, helpful and nice. they try to assists the guests in whatever way they can by giving us referrals in terms of the stuff we need to locate for work and by giving us tips where to go which is less people congested. the only downside of this place is it's location. it's a small alley that leads to the main seashore of station 2. unfortunately, the alley isn't cemented. it's rocky and parts are even muddy. the way going to isla is also dirty and dark during night. to counter the 'unsafe' feel during night time, isla has a guard on duty from 7pm to 7am.

we love the homey atmosphere and of course, the very friendly price. told the owners that we'll share their numbers with friends and family in manila. the place is worth recommending!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theroyalputri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed four nights @ Isla Gecko...Too bad that we had to catch an airplane...otherwise we would have loved to stay longer. The hotel is clean (nice warm shower!) and perfectly located (not in the center center of the crowd, but just a minute away from the beach and center). Above all, the management was so nice and helpful!

The place just suits the island: wonderful :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maaikeopreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here for about a week and so far I have very few negatives and sooo many positives. If you are worried about location, stop worrying. It is about a minute from the beach (probably less) and just a few seconds from d* mall, the large shopping area. Since it is at beach station two, it isn't too far from any of the bars along beach station two and a few minutes from one of the more popular clubs - Summer Place. The single disadvantage is being about 10 minutes from club Paraw but that is a negligible downside comparatively.
Service is also top notch with clean rooms and a very filling meal every day (even for us fatty Americans!). We also got to know the owner and his son for a while and they are great people. They also help us set up activities at good rates and there is round the clock security so no worries there. All in all, a great experience for a very cheap price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamagata, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I spent a week here with two friends over the Christmas period. We had a very enjoyable stay. The man who runs this place is very friendly and was always happy to chat. He said he has only recently taken over ownership and so I think he is in the process of making some changes, so hopefully it will further improve.

I wouldn't say this is a hotel exactly, and the name 'resort' is a bit misleading; it's more like a guesthouse or B&B. We got breakfast included, which was nice - there wasn't a huge selection but you could choose between a couple of Filipino dishes, pancakes or eggs.

The guesthouse itself is small, with rooms on two floors around a central communal area where we ate breakfast (on the ground floor). It felt very tropical as the building is open to the outside - the courtyard area has a roof but upstairs there is a balcony overlooking the little street below. It is quite quaint! And, true to its name, there are lots of geckos scurrying around.

The guesthouse is located down a narrow lane that can be reached from both the main road and White Beach. The lane is really just a dirt track with no space for cars, although the occasional tricycle did venture down. It is lined with other small hotels and guesthouses, although I would say that at night it could feel a little dodgy as there isn't much in the way of lighting, so it's best to take a torch. White Beach is less than five minutes walk down the lane, and you step out straight onto the sand. D'Mall is also very close, probably about five minutes away. So, despite the lack of a beach view, you are still in the heart of all the action.

We had a triple room, which consisted of a single bed and a double bed, meaning two of us had to share. The room itself was relatively clean although it was a bit gross under the beds ... I accept that in a place like this it's very difficult to keep out the constant flow of sand, perhaps they could implement a no shoes indoors policy like in other Asian countries. The bathroom was fairly basic but the shower was warm and it was fine for what we needed (higher quality toiletries would have been appreciated though). The walls in the room were very thin and this meant that we could hear the people next door to us quite clearly, and when people gathered in the common area the sound did travel. There was also a very bright light outside our window that stayed on most of the night, and the curtains were too thin to be of much use.

Overall, however, we enjoyed our time at Isla Gecko. It's not the most luxurious of places, in fact it is quite basic, but welcoming and unpretentious. If all you want is somewhere comfortable and safe to sleep, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Boracay Crown Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
#71 of 145 in Boracay
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tides Boracay
The Tides Boracay
#61 of 145 in Boracay
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#16 of 145 in Boracay
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
MR Holidays Hotel
MR Holidays Hotel
#86 of 145 in Boracay
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Piccolo Hotel of Boracay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Gecko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Gecko Resort

Property: Isla Gecko Resort
Address: Station 2, Balabag | Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Isla Gecko Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Isla Gecko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Gecko Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing