We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget and Decent!”
Review of Isla Gecko Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Gecko Resort
Ranked #23 of 177 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Don't expect a high class resort for the amount you're paying! But this is definitely worth they stay! Tucked in a corner just beside D-Mall, it is quiet and surprisingly clean. Not forgetting the friendly staff who never fails to greet us every morning and attend to our late night requests! Definitely value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrytjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This small budget type hotel is perfect for short stays if you are just visiting island to party or explore and is 2 mins walk fro stunning beach and d mall. Having said that however i stayed here for 8 nights and had tk request change of bedding and towels and still did not receive them thankfully had my own towels with me. Not sure i would stay here again for an extended stay again but would for maybe a weekend or 3 to 4 days.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We just spent our third visit to Boracay and again stayed at Isla Gecko. They finished their upgrade and expansion, so we stayed in one of the new rooms on the upper floors. They are even more spacious and offer slide out beds for larger families. We enjoyed the breakfast quickly prepared by the friendly staff, some of them are new additions from last year. We heartily recommend this hotel for the value you get for your money.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Zotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived in boracay got lost in looking for the hotel. No credit card terminal to process the payment. No signal for wifi in the room stayed and cant even do cancellation. Breakfast is not available until 730am. And with the construction going on the area. It is very difficult to access the beach.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Rainluvs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were looking for a place to stay in Boracay this new year 2014 (peak season). It was a good thing we found this resort and get rooms (family and deluxe) for 2 families with young kids. Location wise it's near white beach (less than 5 mins walk) and right next door to d' mall (shopping and dining haven). What made our stay complete are the friendly staffs and owners who made us feel right at home. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a convenient place on a budget. If there is one thing that I noticed is the unpaved side road going inside from the main street, but otherwise shouldn't be an issue if you have small travel bags (not luggage). Tip: you can call ahead and ask for help and they'll happily send someone to carry your bags for you. :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank mactripasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at Isla Gecko for a week around Christmas and New Years last year. The rooms were simple but comfortable for what we paid. Breakfast was good every morning, along with fresh smoothies. Most importantly, the owner (Teddy) and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I asked if they served mojitos at the bar, and when they didn't know how to make them, I told the owner the recipe and he sent someone into town to buy the ingredients for me. I got a very bad fever while there, and the owner gave me medicine and ordered me food from another restaurant. Finally, after getting some salt water in my iphone and it stopped working, he personally accompanied me to a local shop to have it repaired for a very good price.
Very good value and experience for the price we paid. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: A staff member told me they are renovating at the moment, so things could be totally different. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guerrilla56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

i was here with family for 4days, we had the family room which was small but comfy,owner is A+ but bathroom need major attention, as tiles looks pretty dirty and its very noisy when you are in the toilet because its so close to the air-con that's outside. beside that this place is ok

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chung n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Boracay Crown Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
One Crescent Place
One Crescent Place
#40 of 148 in Boracay
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
#70 of 148 in Boracay
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Piccolo Hotel of Boracay
0.5 mi away
GemTalk Suites
GemTalk Suites
#52 of 177 in Boracay
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boracay Backpackers
Boracay Backpackers
#18 of 177 in Boracay
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Gecko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Gecko Resort

Address: Station 2, Balabag | Malay, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 177 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Price Range: £23 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Isla Gecko Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Isla Gecko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Gecko Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing