We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #121 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Arwana hotel was definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Whenever I read the other recommendations it seems like we were in different hotels.
The room was very dark and at the other end of the hotel. I have never expected beach view as this was never stated anywhere but without light you could hardly see anything. Unfortunately the first thing I saw in the room where the cut finger nails from the previous guest, it think that describes the work of the housecleaning best. The rest of the room also looked as if it was never cleaned. The bed was broken, it was very smelly and the aircon was fixed with a tissue.
The bathroom was even worse. There were electronic cables hanging in the shower, so you were not able to take a shower, Most of the bathroom was rusty, even the doorknob.
When we complained they showed us the superior room (btw we booked a superior room but they gave us the standard room). Unfortunately, the superior room was as dirty and smelly as the old room was but just bigger than the last one.

We could not stay in the hotel due to the conditions. When we told the staff they informed us that we just need to contact Agoda to get our money refunded, but when Agoda contacted them they denied ever saying that.

I really cannot recommend staying at the Arwana hotel as it is really the dirtiest place I have ever seen. There are cheaper and nicer alternatives in Boracay.

Room Tip: It does not matter unfortunately. We booked superior room but they put us in the standard room anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddi3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my Boyfriend went to this hotel just recently.

We booked online and got a 20% Discount since I am a SM Advantage cardholder which they have a partnership going. it was worth what i paid.

Pros;
-beachfront
-cheapest beachfront you can get
-staff are courteous and kind (i guess most aklanons are really)
-room was big
-breakfast included on your room is actually filling
-this part of the beach is serene and not alot if people to bother you with what they sell

Cons:
-its a bit old and rooms are not well kept
-very very far from d mall and d talipapa if you are walking to get there. every night we got tired to just getting back to the hotel
-the room has little privacy on it, i can hear people from the other rooms.

overall: its really just worth what i paid with the discount and all. Im giving them 3 stars cause they have beach chairs and we love beach bumming infront of the hotel. 1 more start cause its cheap.

anyway if you are planning to go to boracay and not stay in the hotel that much. get their rooms.

and they have cheap cocktails and awesome fruit shakes.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bhie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Went to Boracay with a group of 8 adults and a toddler so we had 3 rooms.
104 was big but the bathroom was very disappointing. The shower and the toilet and the sink were squeezed into a very small bathroom area so the toilet seat was constantly getting wet from the shower. The room was also right in front of the back up generator so when there was a "brown" out, the generator was spitting out hot air and dirt into the room via the open window.
Room 204a was a bit nicer than 104. The toilet/bathroom situation was the same though. Very small and cramped.
Room 204a had a better bathroom than the other rooms. At least there was a wall separating the shower from the toilet.
For the price of arwana it is good if you are on a night and don't plan on spending alot of time in the rooms but out doing activities etc. they provide chairs on the beach and beach towels which is an upside.
The service however is lacking! The girls at the front desk are very slow. You walk up to the counter with a query. They clearly saw you walking up to them and yet they continue on their cellphones or talking with the other workers.
I also ordered mixed fruit for dessert and waited more than 20 minutes for it. Even though it was only an apple cut into 4 pieces and half a mango. I even asked twice when it was coming and there were only 2 other ppl at the restaraunt. The girls at the front desk need to learn better service manners. And work more effectively/faster.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izaiah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Pro's:
-BEACHFRONT location.
-Price is cheaper compared to other beachfront hotels in Boracay.
-Located on the quiet side of the island (Station 3) so you do not have to worry about parties that last until the morning.
-Staff is courteous and accommodating.
-Reservations people reply fast to emails.
-Room rate comes with set breakfast for two.
-Own beach chairs!
-Clean bathroom.
-The veranda has a beautiful view of the ocean.

Con's
-Once there, we got upgraded to the Superior room because of the unavailability of the room booked. The walls were thin and you could hear noises from other guests and the other room.
-Aircon was not working well. It was a bit noisy at times too.
-Clean bathroom but the plumbing could be better.
-Hot/cold shower was malfunctioning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoninaMoninaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Located in Station 3, we stayed in the superior room in this budget beach front hotel. We had breakfast and dinner included. This hotel have it´s own beach chairs and recliners and they provide beach towels. The price of the drinks is´the cheapest in the area and there is a nice german-filipino bar on the side. Will try to stay there when i go back to Boracay

Room Tip: Choose the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maradonaChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Room 301 has mildew. Next room 302-304 has no privacy. An issue especially if you need to open the windows when there is no electric power. Boracay has rotating black outs, something you should keep in mind. Bigger hotels have power 24 hours a day, this place doesn't even if they have a generator.

Washroom is dirty and tiles/grout have thick molds. Linen are worn out and the list goes on. There are better accommodations in the island for the same price. This place is not a bargain.

Room Tip: Check the rooms before paying. Some rooms have no privacy should you need to open windows when there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JTP630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed in Arwana in October for 3 nights. As we were with a big group of friends, we had a chance to check different types of rooms. Superior rooms were good - situated on a second floor, quite spations (in comparison with the Standards), nice bathroom. Standard rooms were very poor - small, wet, without the proper bathroom, on the first floor.
Location of the hotel is rather convenient - right on the White beach, on Station 3, only 10-15 minutes' walk along the beach to the center (Station 2, D-Mall).
Breakfast was included in the price of our rooms and it was delicious and substantial.
The staff was not very friendly and helpful though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vesper37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.0 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#52 of 148 in Boracay
312 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boracay Ecovillage Resort and Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#45 of 148 in Boracay
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
#69 of 148 in Boracay
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
La Carmela de Boracay
La Carmela de Boracay
#98 of 148 in Boracay
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arwana Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arwana Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Sitio Angol Station 3 Brgy, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £27 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arwana Hotel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arwana Hotel of Boracay is under new management as of March 17, 2017. We promise to bring you all of the great things you have enjoyed, plus best Boracay beach budget prices on Boracay. Arwana provides inexpensive Boracay accommodations, with absolutely no skimping on quality and cleanliness. You have the choice of three types of rooms, which may include air-conditioning, refrigerator and cable television. All rooms have hot and cold water. We price ourselves so that you will pay less and still are right on the beautifully acclaimed Boracay White Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arwana Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arwana Hotel Boracay
Boracay Arwana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing