We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's more fun in the Phillipines!”
Review of Sun Village Resort

Sun Village Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boracay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun Village Resort
Ranked #129 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“There's more fun in the Phillipines!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Don't know exactly where to start with Sun Garden Hilltop. I think i will start with the only thing good about this place: Location. The hotel in located in Boracay Station 3. As you climb the hill to the gas station there's a road at the middle of the hill to your right hand side, very easy to miss. I took as reference a "Lucky 13" sign just in front of this road. Very close to White Beach about 3 min walk and 15 min walk to Bulabog. 1 min walk to main road where you can get a trike to take you anywhere you want to go.

Now...what's wrong with this hotel...well everything from top to bottom.
1. Administrator: A guy called Glenn. He has social skills of a 5 year old. Don't trust him with anything.
2. Water: No running water. When that happens, go to the balcony, yell really hard..."Glenn, no water again!!" this will be followed by "Sorry, sir, i will fix it" and maybe in 15 min you will be lucky to have running water to take a shower.
3. Electricity. The power goes down from time to time, but don't worry they have a generator, but this doesn't really matter if all the staff is wasted at 10 pm and can't figure out how to turn it on.
4. Breakfast. You may choose between American ( 2 eggs, 3 slices of bad ham or bad bacon, 2 pcs of toast, a tbl spoon of butter, and a table spoon of jam. Orange Juice wich is worse than anything, Instant Coffe, Tea ) and Philipino (2 eggs, rice with corned beef or beef tapa or pork or fish. Orange Juice which is worse than anything, Instant Coffe, Tea ). So let's say, after a couple of days,you decided what's your favorite breakfast and from now on you'll be eating only that. Good luck because it's a 95% chance that you will be hearing "sorry sir, no available ham today" ( or bacon, or pork, or beef and so on ). Food portion and quality...low to decent, if your not picky...it's eatable.
5. Services. None :)...if you don't tell them to clean the room they won't do it themselfs. And you kinda want those allready torn and overused towles changed from time to time. So tell them to clean your room regulary.
6. Garden. All the balconys are overviewing the garden. Sounds nice...no it's not, because they've placed the dining area in this garden...so if there are a lot of party moody russians in the hotel say goodbye to your good night sleep. They stay to drink, chat and sing till morning, administration included of course.

Overall it's a almost decent place at a decent rate with a good location in Boracay. If you are looking for a dream vacation in paradise you need to look further, but if you're looking for a roof above your head and some food in the morning this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Located in a quiet area off D Talipapas, it's clean, good value for money. They have a free shuttle and breakfast included every morning.

This place is good for singles, couples and families. They also accept group travel with a maximum of 3 people in a room at a time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

There are two Sun resorts in Boracay -- the Sun Village Central Beachfront, and the Sun Villas. The first one is right smack in the middle of crazy Boracay, just where the action is. The other one is on the other side of the road, up on a hill with a great view of the beach, very private and very tranquil with its nicely landscaped garden, inviting pool, and relaxing pavilion. It's also walking distance from D'Mall but the walk back could be quite tiring since it's uphill.

Actually, our initial reservation was at Sun Villas but when we found out that it's quite some distance away from the beach, we requested a transfer to Sun Village which the very gracious staff readily took care of. Admittedly, Sun Village does not have the charm of Sun Villas but what it lacks in facilities (it's just a two story house with a couple of rooms and an eat-all-you-can Mongolian Barbeque restaurant downstairs), it made up in location and accessibility. It's practically beside D'Mall so shopping and dining are no hassle. There are also several bamboo lounge beds with attractive yellow beach umbrellas by the beach exclusive for hotel guests and where my friend and I stayed most of the time. Our room had two double-sized beds with romantic mosquito nets which i think is simply for aesthetic purposes. It has cable TV, a big bamboo cabinet, aircon, and hot and cold shower (the water won't really turn as hot as i wanted though). There are no activities in the hotel (no pool, no wifi, no spa, no game room, etc) but well, there are lots of establishments nearby offering all sorts of entertainment so it was not really a big deal for us.In short, Sun Village Central is for people who want to be just a stone's throw away from the beach and are okay with no frills accommodations.

Room Tip: there's a room fronting the beach with a nice little terrace but the noise from nearby bars coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We went here last July until the first week of August. It was a sort of emergency vacation so we weren't prepared at all. The location of the hotel is just perfect! Near to everything you would want to go to in Boracay. We were welcomed by warn smiles, a nice cold drink and a cute shell necklace.

The hotel entrace was a bit flooded that time so we have to step on some wooden blocks to reach the stairs to our room. You wouldn't notice the hotel because it has a small entrace. But beside it is a mongolian eat all you can buffet. You wouldn't miss that sign board fo sure.

The theme of the room was very Filipino. Bamboo bed, cabinets and tables for our things. It was very cozy. Perfect for honeymooners! The tv is quite small though, but I dont think youll go to Bora just to watch tv so we didnt mind it at all.

Breakfast was also good. Not that great but can do already. They have few choices so go try each per day.

Overall, our stay was great. The place was clean. They replenish the toiletries everyday. The room smells clean. Its comfortable and I would say, I wouldnt hesitate to go back again!

Room Tip: We got the room upstairs but they have a room downstairs for family who has kids and for those who a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2006


Trip was March 11, 2006

Sun Village South is located in Angol Beach which is nearest to Station 3. It's quite a distance from the more crowded areas of Boracay, which is great if you want peace and quiet.

I got a standard room which was pretty basic -- bathroom was very clean, linens were crisp, aircon was (very) cold, everything worked. No phone or mini bar, but they weren't really necessary for me on this trip. My room was cleaned regularly, towels changed, bed turned down, etc. The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

My package included breakfast which is good if you're too lazy to search for food in the morning. There's a selection to choose from -- American, Continental, Filipino. It's not fine dining, but it'll do.

If you're the type that wants to be in the middle of all the action, hop from place to place everyday, visit D'Mall, buy souvenirs, mingle with the crowds, then Sun Village South might not be for you. But for someone like me who was taking a much-needed break from work, Sun Village South was perfect because it was on a less-busy part of the island, yet not too isolated (about a 15-20 minute walk to Station 2) that I couldn't get to the restaurants and bars. It was also a cheaper alternative to staying in Station 1, which is just as quiet but a lot more expensive.

Sun Village South is perfect for those who want to go to Boracay to just kick back and chill out. You can spend hours (or in my case, the whole day) on their wooden lounges and not be bothered by large crowds passing back and forth, which happens in other parts of the island. There aren't many vendors walking around, so you're left alone most of the time. The beachfront is almost as wide and as white as that in Station 1 so there's lots of space to bake in the sun or play in the sand.

I recommend Sun Village South for Boracay "veterans" who've already explored the island in past visits. The ones who go, not to be trendy or be part of a scene, but those who simply want to get away from it all and enjoy a few days of relaxation on a beautiful white sand beach.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Kaiyana Boracay Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#43 of 145 in Boracay
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Alta Vista de Boracay
Alta Vista de Boracay
#56 of 145 in Boracay
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#8 of 145 in Boracay
295 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Bella Casa
La Bella Casa
#75 of 145 in Boracay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Sun Village Resort

Property: Sun Village Resort
Address: Ambulong, Manoc-Manoc, Aklan Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Number of rooms: 233

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing