We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable value away from the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artista Beach Villas
Ranked #57 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Reasonable value away from the crowds”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I particularly wanted an area away from the crowded areas and I have to say Diniwid where the Hotel is located in an area away from the croded areas of Boracay, just ideal. We booked late so didnt get the best rooms available - would definitely opt for room with balcony next time. Couldn't fault the staff - excellent and very welcoming, even let us keep our luggage over the departure time at no extra charge. The rooms are very small - but thats what I would expect in a boutique hotel, nice having the mini bar. As mentioned by other and it is a BIG negative in that the toiler/shower room has no door,just sectioned off by a curtain - which is fine if you know your partner very well... but for newly acquainted couples I think this could be a touch embarrassing ! On the plus side you walk out of the hotel onto the beach,water can be a bit deep for children at high tide but easy to walk a 100yds or so to the other side which is more of a gradual slope. I found the included breakfast perfectly acceptable. My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay and if its a quiet place you want after a busy day then you won't go far wrong here.

Room Tip: Room 3 with balcony overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    58
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
130
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Room: Simple, small, very clean, Tranquil ocean view. Romantic. Got a room with balcony.

Only complaints: can't take very long shower or the water will overflow (even to the room itself). No refill of bath soap, it's good we brought ours anyway. Has a mini fridge (can keep and eat leftovers from food outside). No microwave. The shower / toilet design is kinda open design so if somebody uses the toilet, you have to open the door towards the balcony to let the air sweep away any unwanted smell... it didn't bother me and my husband but it bothered us before we checked out, aware of our hotel owners and keepers :)

Service: Great! Clean towels everyday. They take the trash out everyday and make the beds too. Anytime we asked for anything, they are sure to help.
All staff are friendly.

Distance to food: a tricycle costs 50 pesos one way for 2 people (ask for regular rate so u can share with other passengers, otherwise it is 150 pesos). You could go to the D'mall for all the restaurants and some groceries.

Distance to great beach: just a short walk, best time to get in the water is from 8 am to noon. This is also the best time to get pictures so schedule swimming and picture taking on different days.

We also tried the beach just in front of the hotel itself. (it's just okay, so dont bother.. go to the nicer beach... walk!!!!!!!!!!! )

Breakfast: Just okay but with the price of the stay, the view and the service, why should i complain?? :) Plus it filled us up. I tried both continental and american breakfast. My favorite is still the american, I didnt really like the continental (i am not sure if it was uncooked oat of some sort with fruits and milk on it).
They have other stuff in their menu but you are only allowed 220pesos per person if you don't want to pay extra.
Plus they gave us free hot water (a whole pot) so we can make our own coffee (we brought our own 3 in 1 coffee since we don't like brewed coffee)

Land transfer: Great! include this in your package because it will eliminate a lot of stress going to the resort (and going back home). We thank Aleli the manager for taking care of our trip back to the Kalibo airport. It was already late when i saw that they only include caticlan-artista-caticlan for the package if you want to include transfers but she said I dont have to pay extra even if our airport is Kalibo going back. It would have been a hassle to still pay out of pocket for the van when you thought everything is already paid for right? Plus arranging everything too is a hassle, but not with them.... they arranged it too.

Beach: as i said, great beach... blue blue blue, clear water.. .... white white white soft sand especially in the morning! Just walk (u have to get pass the big paved rock with steps to get to the other side.

Swimming pool: None. (why do u need one?? )

But if you are into night life, this side of Boracay is not for you :)

Room Tip: ask for a room with ocean view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central/South America
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We recently went to Boracay for our honeymoon for 4 nights. Artista was a pleasant stay in the best area of the island for couples. Having walked the entire beach, the location was the most suitable for us as we wanted somewhere slightly more secluded whilst still being able to walk a short distance (10-15mins) to reach more populated areas.
The waters and beach were the nicest on the island and Artista provided beach sun beds for their guests, that made other hotel guests envious! Service was lovely - they picked us up from the airport and made our transfer smooth and without trouble or stress. Staff were always very friendly and smiling and more than willing to help us with our any request.
The bar / restaurant just next door was handy also and kept us "staying in" one of the nights which was a nice option to have.

The downfall, was the toilet in the room as it was right next to the honeymoon bed and had no door, just a curtain. But once you got over this, the room was just perfect for its value. The bed was also a bit average in its comfort - the typical foam mattress style that you find in South East Asia, which really offers no support at all.

Putting this aside, we had a lovely stay here and recommend it to other honeymooners or people wanting a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs overlooking the beach. Having a balcony upstairs gave us a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessShera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

After looking among the many hotels in Boracay, we finally ended up in artista. When we arrived, we were speechless with the wonderful beach of Boracay. Our room is very simple yet elegant - I am asking myself, is it worth it to stay here after many hours/days of searching for a place to stay? After spending our first night in the hotel, with the sound of the waves in our room and with the view of the big blue sky and crystal clear water from our own room, I am happy to stay here. I do not a swimming pool when our room is only a few steps away from the ocean, or a big and luxurious room when all I need is serenity and peaceful retreat from all the noisy and busy life that we have in the city. I will come back again in ARTISTA!

Room Tip: Tip: Stay here if you want a peaceful vacation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights which was a mistake. The rooms are poorly furnished, apart from the bed and the open plan shower/toilet was a nightmare because I suffered a bad bout of diarrhoea and my wife could not escape the stench except by leaving the room. We asked for an air freshened, but none was provided. The ceiling in the room was stained and the wooden flooring in the shower left much to be desired. The location was good, but certainly not as secluded as the blurb suggests. Nor is the White Beach particularly accessible, especially at night. We have always trusted trip advisor reviews and have stayed at some truly excellent hotels as a result of them, but this place was a real disappointment and left me wondering why so many people rated it so highly. Very poor value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argosea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed here for around 5 days in November 2012.
It's right on the end of the beach in a quieter area, about 20 minutes from the main strip.

The location is nice because you don't get hassled every 2 minutes by someone trying to sell you something. The beach is quiet and water is beautiful.

The service in the hotel is great. Very friendly and accommodating.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

stuffs : they are nice and a bit accommodating

location : the view and the beach is the best its a bit private. though the beach front is not being maintained compared to other hotels near by.

food and hotel : food is normal and it has no pool.

room : not enough tables/shelves to place your stuffs,no cabinet either.the rooms need some fixture mainly the bed, shower, aircon.

price : not really worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Soffia Boracay
Hotel Soffia Boracay
#46 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.0 mi away
Nami Resort
Nami Resort
#34 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
One Crescent Place
One Crescent Place
#41 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boracay Royal Park Hotel
Boracay Royal Park Hotel
#73 of 147 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spider House Resort
Spider House Resort
#45 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artista Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artista Beach Villas

Property: Artista Beach Villas
Address: Artista Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artista Beach Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach of Boracay, Artista is a family owned and operated beachfront boutique hotel with only 7 rooms and 2 studios. All rooms have sea view and are artistically designed in Mediterranean style. State of art comfort: king-size beds, ensuite bathrooms with hot water and rain showers, air-conditioning, cable TV, wireless broadband internet, minibar. Artista cafe' on the roof deck for Swiss and American Breakfast, light snacks and sunset drinks with a beautiful ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Artista Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artista Beach Villas Hotel Boracay
Artista Beach Hotel
Artista Beach Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing