We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new Gem in Boracay!”
Review of Sushi Shi-ro

Sushi Shi-ro
Ranked #85 of 307 Restaurants in Boracay
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Malay, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A new Gem in Boracay!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Every time we go and visit, we are blown away by the food, served as an Art!
The freshness and finesse of each piece of sushi, sashimi and other dish is amazing.
Chef Andy is truly is great one!
A place to indulge in, with your loved one or close friends. A different experience on the Island! Japanese food brought to another level.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    32
    11
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Interesting concept of a set sushi menu. Gorgeous presented sushi pieces, very fresh, beautifully made and tasty variety. Had some difficulty understanding the menu, and it being a set menu limits options for a vegan.

Helpful?
3 Thank liaan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
3,672 reviews
1,300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,601 helpful votes
“Korean-style Omakase”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This place is excellent value for money. 1100 PHP for Korean-style Omakase including sushi and sashimi. Reasonable prices for sake (400 PHP for a 300ml bottle). Food quality was a little mixed, with some courses excellent and international standard, others fairly average. The sushi consists of local fish only which necessarily restricts the option: I've certainly never had Parrot-fish belly sushi before, but it was actually quite decent. I'd recommend a visit to this place whilst in Boracay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrach, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent addition to Boracay ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The place is clean and seems to have good hygiene procedures. Sushi and sashimi were fresh and tasty. The set B contained also other items, that were well prepared. One let down: I usually like miso soup, but this one was lacking flavor.

Service was very good and efficient. I think they could add a bit of an entertainment factor when you are sitting at the bar. At a town like Boracay with its many tourists you should try not to be too serious...

I will come back to see if they earn my 5th star.

Helpful?
5 Thank Maksimus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I would describe this restaurant as a rose among thorns. Tucked down a local street off the main road in Boracay, Sushi Shi-Ro is a must when visiting the island.

We ordered the largest of the 3 set menus and were thoroughly impressed with fresh sashimi art prepared right before our eyes. Each was piece different and unique.

Everything we ate was delicious, the highlight being a gift of parrot fish that the owner and head sushi chef so kindly assisted in pulling the edible meat from the bones for us.

All the wait staff and assistant chefs were wonderfully kind and explained every dish that was served and how to eat it.

Thank you Sushi Shi-Ro for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Pacquaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Shi-ro also viewed

 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Sushi Shi-ro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing