We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Happy Summer Stay @ Discovery Shores Boracay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Discovery Shores Boracay
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family stayed at Discovery Shores Boracay from April 20 to 23, 2014. And all I can say is, it would be very hard to go back to Boracay and "not stay" at Discovery Shores! We experienced an awesome stay there! From the hotel amenities, to the ever friendly and attentive staff and crew of the hotel! They definitely gave us one HAPPY SUMMER! Looking forward in bringing back the whole family and experience their wonderful kind of service! To the Discovery Shores Boracay...Two thumbs up for everything!

Bernard Sison

Room Tip: All rooms we looked into are great. can't complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bernard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a six-night stay at the property and really enjoyed it. The hotel is in a great location on station 1 on the beautiful white beach. They had plenty of lounge chairs which is very nice so you do not have to worry about getting one if you decide to sleep in. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed however have very limited view of the ocean except for a few as most of them do not face directly the beach. It was a little disappointing as for that rate, I was expecting to see the ocean directly from our bed and not be facing another room which offered very little privacy. We were initially in a room close to the pool and decided to change to a room further up from the beach so that it would be more quiet. However there was a construction site right behind the hotel and they would start at 7AM in the morning. The pool does not face the beach which was a little disappointing and is a little small so we did not spend much time there. However with such a wonderful beach, who needs to spend time at the pool! I initially thought about staying at the Shangri-la but it is away from the main beach which is really the attraction in Boracay so I would definitely recommend Discovery instead. Shangri-la is definitely in a quieter area but the beach is much smaller there and the sand is not as powdery as on the main beach. I would compare Boracay to Ibiza, it is a party place so definitely not the type of destination where you feel secluded, you must be prepared for that or choose a different destination. We spent a week in El Nido before that which was a completely different experience. If you are looking to relax away from the crowd, it is definitely not the destination to pick. Snorkeling from the beach is also very limited if that is what you are looking for. In terms of the service, it was absolutely excellent, they were very attentive and catered to our every needs. The food was very good and there was a nice selection at the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisanelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a lovely time at Discovery Shores! It has an excellent right on the white beach and the service is the best we've ever experienced at a hotel! We loved the welcome basket and the small surprises we would find every day in the room! Also the beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms are spacious and it is a very clean place.

The only things that let us down was the poor healthy breakfast choices - dishes were mostly mostly fried rice, bacon, penne pasta, cereals full of sugar such as coco pops, chocos etc. A suggestion would be to add healthier choices such as muesli and yoghurt.

Also annoying was that the Internet in the rooms was poor and unreliable - constantly times out every 15 mins.

Overall though i would highly recommend Discovery Shores, especially since we also stayed at another hotel in Boracay (Argonauta) which is also highly rated, but i believe we had a much better experience at Discovery Shores.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The place, staff and service were superb! Our room was very clean and nice! Relaxed and pampered. We enjoyed the food and their butler parade! Simply heavenly! We would definitely return to Discovery Shores on our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My family of 4 (with boys ages 6 and 11) stayed at Discovery Shores from April 21-24. It's almost as if the staff can read our minds. The ability to anticipate what the guests need before they ask for it, along with a cheerful willingness to accommodate requests from guests is the benchmark of service. In both capacity, Discovery Shores was able to deliver. We couldn't thank the manager and the staff enough for the very warm welcome, and what seemed like a VIP treatment, that was extended to us. The genuine smile and greeting from each staff we met daily was constant and consistent. My 2 kids quickly developed staff favorites and didn't have any trouble asking any staff for assistance. The foot wash upon arrival was a great way to start the beginning of our first day on the beach; the free shuttle that took us around the town was always available and the wait is always short; the breakfast buffet was scrumptuous, with selections that change daily. The price per night is extremely steep -- a comparable price would be considered an "All-Inclusive" vacation by North American and Carribbean standards, but we were not disappointed. There was, however, one thing that the resort could improve on, and that is the kids' activities. Discovery Shores didn't have much in the way of entertainment for kids. We have stayed at different beach resorts around the world, and one of the things we (as parents) look forward to is adult time. It always helps to have resort-sponsored activities for children -- either 4 hours in the morning, or 4 hours in the afternoon, then a movie night (with popcorn and snacks) to cap the evening. The kids look forward to these types of activities where they are in the company of other children. Other than that, the only regret we had was not staying longer.

I would like to add that Discovery Shores have their own private lounge at Caticlan Airport, which is for exclusive use of their guests. Our return flight to Manila was delayed for an hour, but we were comfortable in their private lounge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It's a limited family vacay for me , wifey and son but it was quite an awesome 3 day respite and beach adventure for the three of us .From the pick up airconditioned boat, the van, welcome drinks, 3rd flr suite , pool front and beach view plus a welcome foot massage ( for the 3 of us ) ...it couldn't be any better treat..:-) The beach/sand is immaculate and constantly combed clean by staff..the water is warm, bluish green and perfect for relaxing dip.The resort pool is heated and perfect for night swims....the staff @ the bar area gives unlimited refreshing " pandan cold drinks " all day....resort is close to all other fun activities eg: D' Mall ( by resort van ), etc.. The morning breakfasts were good, ...but special mention for the staff..they have that smile and genuine aura to serve and make their guets feel @ home...:-)
I would recommend this resort anytime to my friends. It''s definitely worth it..:-)

Room Tip: Get the higher suites w balcony on the 3rd flr pool front w view of the ocean/beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jung B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My family and I stayed at Discovery shores during the Holy week period (a few days before the actual holidays). We were expecting crowds, but surprisingly, it was quiet, especially at Station 1 area where this hotel is located.

Pros:
1) love the location - white beach right outside
2) excellent service - always saying "happy summer" with the staff giving you the most heartwarming smile.
3) requested for an hour later checkout and they accommodated us
4) shuttle van going to d'mall and back was always fast and available
5) love the room itself. though i find they lack towel hangers/racks in the bathroom area.

Cons:
1) For some reason, our 2-br suite had some electrical problems. We had no lights for a few hours and had to ask somebody to come fix it (which was done right away), then the next day, one of the airconditioning wouldn't turn on (which was also fixed afterwards).
2) We ate at the Sands restaurant 3-4x during our stay. The food was just so-so. Excellect service as usual, but there were too many flies around the eating area. I don't know if there is anything else they can do about it, but it really troubled me. It's very hard to eat when you are constantly swatting on flies.
3) Not too much activity for kids
4) PRICE - steep price

Overall, I would still recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 151 in Boracay
726 reviews
0.8 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 151 in Boracay
758 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0.9 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#24 of 151 in Boracay
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Address: Station 1 Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#4 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £217 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Shores Boracay, a sprawling beachfront property located on the unspoilt shores of Boracay Island in the Philippines, is the first luxury resort built in this majestic region. Apart from its spacious 87 all suite guestrooms and the highly-acclaimed Terra Wellness Spa overlooking the beach, Discovery Shores' facilities include the Sands Restaurant, Indigo Restaurant, Platitos, Sandbar beach bar, Sandbox kiddie lounge, a swimming pool, recreation room, an events hall and a gym. Discovery Shores is one of five properties of The Discovery Leisure Company's portfolio of distinctive hotels and resorts, and is a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Lifestyle Collection. The resort embodies the hallmark of the Discovery brand: personalized and innovative service dispensed round-the-clock. Guests are guaranteed an unsurpassed level of quality, service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing