We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service I've ever experienced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Discovery Shores Boracay
Ranked #5 of 152 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Discovery Shores for a few nights and from the beginning, they showed us AMAZING service. From every landing dock, there was someone there to greet us and take care of us. Every staff member had a genuinely nice and friendly personality. Our room was modern, clean, and very comfortable. Every night there was always a small Filipino treat for us to try and they even included an explanation of what it was and a nice quote. It's those little details that really matter to me. :) I swear they have about 4 staff members to every guest. When we were laying out by the beach, Benji was our attendant and he really took care of us - wiping our sunglasses, folding our shirts and towels, giving us fresh towels after being in the ocean, giving us frozen cucumbers for our eyes, always making sure we had ice water, and even giving us snacks and magazines while we relaxed under the umbrella. The staff at Discovery shores is truly amazing. On our last day, the manager even notified us that our flight was cancelled so he worked with us to make sure we got on an earlier flight - he arranged a driver, a private boat, and checked us into the airport. It was incredible service. Nothing like I've ever experienced before. I highly recommend this place... you'll enjoy every minute of it!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,221 - 1,227 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2010

Discovery Shores has two things going for it on boat station 1: Great employees and a wonderful beach location!! The service is outstanding --- as it was in my June 2009 visit. The staff always wanted to help with anything.

The food was great and well prepared. My room this time was on the ground floor, but next to the storage part of the hotel for chairs and tables for special events. There were 2 events -- a business dinner and a wedding reception -- there was a little noise putting back the chairs and tables, but not for very long.

The two pools at the hotel were the right size. I used the jacuzzi in June and it was perfect. However, the jacuzzi warming unit did not work properly this time and that was a minor minus point. The pool crew said they would look into it, but it was not fixed by the time I left after 5 days.

The foot bath and drink upon check-in were perfect. Also booked a massge. It was quite good and refreshing and performed at the hotel's 2nd floor Spa.

The business center had free internet connections (2) which was convenient. The staff would van you anywhere you wanted to go and even pick you up.

Went to the D-Mall twice and ate a good meal at Lemons.

Overall, Discovery Shores is a wonderful place. No place is perfect, but the staff tries its best to please every guest. I would stay here again and probably will soon!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

The service in this hotel is just absolutely amazing. Hands down to the guest service people... you guys just amaze me!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManilaSecretTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We just returned from 5 days at Discovery Shores Resort on Boracay island in the Philippines. The hotel is located at the quieter end of White Beach but close enough that walking to "D Mall" is about 15 minutes. The sand is clean, soft and almost white.

The hotel greets you at the Kalibo airport and transports you by private taxi van to the ferry on the other side of the island. A 1 and 1/2 hours trip but interesting landscape and sights. We were again transferred to Boracay by a Discovery Shores owned smaller boat. and driven 15 minutes to the resort itself. Luggage is with you the entire time.
I have to start by giving thumbs up to Carlo, Czara, and Zak.
The room we were given was not in a location that we were happy about and they informed us that they were completely full but would try and move us. The room was lovely but located next to the childrens activity room, a staff access way was at the front door and no view- no privacy and I felt I could not have put the blinds up at any time. We told the manager that we would pay the difference for a different room. Several hour later they came to tell us that a room had opened up and that we could move. It happened to be a room that the air-condtioning had not been working but they had fixed it that afternoon. Unfortunately, after dinner and returning to our room the air was again not functioning. We informed the front desk and they again moved us even though it was to an upgraded room. Never did they charge us anything different nor did they ever seem irritated with our requests. Always a smile. So- in the first day we moved 3 times- the assistant manager Carlo and his staff were professional during the whole process.

From then on our vacation was wonderful. There are enough chaise lounges on the beach for guests or you can be by the pool. The beach staff moves umbrellas all day long to shade the guests, bring water, fruit, cucumber slices for your eyes, cold towels and ice cream during the day at no extra charges.
The breakfast buffet is fine- typical. The hotels all seem to do buffets every night. Discovery Shores' was fine- not great but not terribly expensive either. We ate in town a couple of nights too. Boracay food was fine for the price. We did not try the upscale Indigo at the hotel but the menu looked very good. Had tapas at the bar one night with drinks and they were very good and plenty.
Our room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Lots of pillows. If we lacked something housekeeping would leave it the next time in.
Only complaints about DS is that the rooms all look in to a center area. Not one looks out over the beach. The pool is pretty simple. There are a lot of stairs. If I traveled with an elderly person this would be an issue.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Very nice hotel - service was fabulous. Has a boutique-y feeling to the whole place. What sets it apart is the staff. They are all very warm and nice. They truly mean to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as you or they can make it. They were just a tad higher than the rest - and not much less than the Shangri-la. Just need to get the gym completed and they would be perfect. I would come back here anytime - convenient to "D Mall" and downtown Boracay.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank joanne112564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Sugarcuppeppercup, I think it is not fair to give such review after being given what we wanted. I was also present during the wedding in Discovery Shores and there are no better words to express what my heart feel than the two simple but important words “Thank You”. It was the best wedding I ever attended. It was truly a “fabulous wedding” with the sheer professionalism besides the personal touches of the staff who went over and beyond under the heat of the sun just to make the venue extra ordinary special. The courteousness, the hospitality, and the flexibility were just extremely commendable that we were even given discount at the end.
To the staff and manager, this letter comes to you with great appreciation for all the efforts and enthusiasm. Feel free to give my Email add to any of your clients, if they seek a reference. I would be happy to tell them that they are in good hands with your service. Thanking everyone in the meanwhile and assuring that we will go back to your resort again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UsGianUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

My family and relatives attended the wedding reception of my cousin last Saturday (Feb. 20, 2010) in this hotel. It had great decors and all...everyone was enjoying not until the head waiter said that guests exceeded by 11 guests. I overheard this and told the wedding planner and all those concerned. Everyone was surprised because not all seats were taken and the food was not even half consumed. So to resolve the issue, we did a manual headcount. We were asked to sit where we originally sat. It was so humiliating! Then the manager realized that they had a mistake. The sad part was they didn't apologize and the manager was even conceited....i saw her dancing and giggling thereafter. The party was just ruined. I swore never to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank sugarcuppeppercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#4 of 152 in Boracay
795 reviews
0.8 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 152 in Boracay
784 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0.9 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#22 of 152 in Boracay
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Address: Station 1 Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £198 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Shores Boracay, a sprawling beachfront property located on the unspoilt shores of Boracay Island in the Philippines, is the first luxury resort built in this majestic region. Apart from its spacious 87 all suite guestrooms and the highly-acclaimed Terra Wellness Spa overlooking the beach, Discovery Shores' facilities include the Sands Restaurant, Indigo Restaurant, Platitos, Sandbar beach bar, Sandbox kiddie lounge, a swimming pool, recreation room, an events hall and a gym. Discovery Shores is one of five properties of The Discovery Leisure Company's portfolio of distinctive hotels and resorts, and is a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Lifestyle Collection. The resort embodies the hallmark of the Discovery brand: personalized and innovative service dispensed round-the-clock. Guests are guaranteed an unsurpassed level of quality, service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing