We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience privacy in Boracay”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #34 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Boracay Strand is the best place to stay in Boracay if you like “quiet”, “privacy” and “relaxation”. The resort is away from the busy and loud crowd of the white beach.
Beachfront area is incredibly beautiful too.

I visited Boracay many times and this is my first time to stay in a resort away from the main beach. Choosing Strand as my accommodation gives me a different view of Boracay. Yes, there is a quiet place to stay—Boracay Strand, where you can enjoy your privacy, view and the beach.

My room is big with a relaxing and comfortable bed; I had a very good sleep. Resort has pool and whole area is well upkeep. The staffs are very friendly and give their best to be at service. I would like to commend Dhaine for an excellence service provided to us during our stay. This resort is definitely my home away from home in Boracay.
And in case I will be back in Boracay, I will choose to stay again in Strand as I found now an alternative option if I wanted to find quiet relaxation in Boracay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mylene04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

My husband and spends new years every time in Boracay for the past 4 years now. We have been staying to a one hotel to another, because we are just searching for a place where we can find a good place to sleep. Boracay has many hotels and most of them are either noisy or the bed is so unpleasant....
We did find the Strand 2 years ago, and we have fallen in love with it!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary777_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We spent 4 nights at the Strand, were very pleased. The resort itself is gorgeous, lots of big trees, flowers, sitting areas, and a huge pool. It's very peaceful and relaxing. The staff is very helpful, restaurant is very good with lots of options. They offer transportation to from the airport, beach towels. The hotel is about a 2 min walk to the best part of the beach, the staff walked us there the first time to familiarize us with the area. Can walk along the beach to nightlife at DMall in about 20min or take a cheap tricycle ride. Enjoyed our stay, hope to visit the Strand again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canadiantravelgirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We selected the Strand because it felt like our kind of place. Not the chintzy beachfront type place with raked sand but a little off (or up) the beaten track but still close enough to saunter down to the amazing beach. And you know what? It is just like that. The other reviews will paint the picture about location and amenities - which were all very good ... nice rooms, pool and staff - so, from me, I just wanted to say why we choose to move to one of those chintzy beachfront places after three nights.

We arrived mid-Dec and the place was empty. This was actually a good thing so no problem so far. We'd planned to stay for a week and then maybe have a couple of nights of chintz elsewhere for a small treat at the end of our stay. So I was a little miffed at being put in the Suite right next to reception? Erm, maybe move us a few doors down so we don't have to hear the reception people natter? I should point out here that rooms are in a row, extending away from the reception away so if possible try and go for one that isn't adjacent to the office. I can only imagine privacy gets worse with the hotel full. Also, the owners (and poss some staff?) live on site ... the other side of reception. On the good side this adds to a feeling of security. On the downside, well, just don't don't get a room too near to reception.

Other slightly annoying factors was their insistence I HAD to order breakfast the night before. We were the only two people there and I want to wait until the morning to see what I feel like!!? Also the portions were pretty poor.

Personally I think the staff we're just trying to be helpful in their own way. However in doing do they became a little annoying. Some training on how western people (who will constitute the vast majority of their guests) like to be served would go a long way. Noted: I feel like a Euro idiot here but it's true.

The location was OK but it does feel like a long way from anything. Motorbike taxis can take you the few km to D:Mall but think about walking up to the main road and catching one going past.

Taxi tip >> standard fare for local between 'Stations' (of which there are three) is 10. We'd pay 20-25 just to give a little something extra. However, if you get a bike taxi from the hotel or the taxi stand at the end of the lane near the beach you will pay 75. That may not sound a lot for westerners but (a) it adds up over the week and (b) I hate feeling ripped off.

All in all brought our stay in a more upmarket place forward for a few days because we were in Boracay and, let's face it, you're here for that something extra and direct access onto an amazing beach with hotel sunloungers with waiters bringing you a drink, great restaurant food and a stroll [rather than a bike taxi] to Station2 was well worth the extra £50 a day we paid - we went to Ambassador in Paradise by the way. Terrible name but worth a look.

Make your own mind up. It'll either be right up your street or miles from it. I still find myself sitting on the fence to be honest.

Good luck!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulyWalnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 11 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 5 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 13 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.6 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#11 of 148 in Boracay
820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.6 mi away
One Crescent Place
One Crescent Place
#40 of 148 in Boracay
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#16 of 148 in Boracay
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sur Beach Resort
Sur Beach Resort
#28 of 148 in Boracay
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Wind Boracay Island
Sea Wind Boracay Island
#32 of 148 in Boracay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: Brgy. Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £35 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of your own home at The Strand Boracay Resort with 13 well-appointed, Scandinavian-inspired suites and rooms amidst lush garden and towering mahogany trees. With a touch of genuine Filipino warmth and hospitality, this walled-paradise provides fun and relaxation at its best! Experience home at The Strand. Boracay's hidden oasis. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Boracay Hotel Boracay
The Strand Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing