We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a perfect holiday.”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #38 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here when visiting the Phillipines for a friends wedding.

When we first arrived we were shown to a room near the entrance of the resort, the room was rather basic and extremely noisey during the evening (from the security guard blasting out Mariah Carey). We asked if we could move the next morning and were moved immediately to a beautiful room nearer to the pool which was much more quiet.

The hotel is located right on white beach and was a 2 minute stroll from some fantastic restuarants and bars along the beach.

The staff were always happy to help and the resort was so quiet that for 3 days it was only us and one other couple sharing the pool! I had some beauty treatments and they were great and very cheap (the hotel bring in an extrenal therapist).

Overall this was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further back past the pool, then you are guaranteed a quiet and private room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloechar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Strand Boracay put all my worries away. It was my first time to travel to Boracay with my family with me including the kids. On most occasions, I only travel with friends and partner. However, this year's Boracay vacation was for my daughter's 8th birthday celebration. The staff have helped out a lot to make it a real success.
Hotel service in the Philippines is best known for great hospitality, service and overall pleasant experience. However, the staff in The Strand Boracay have exceeded all expectations. Our experience during our stay was rather spectacular. I could not have imagined any other hotel to have performed better. Ambiance and service both were fantastic. The suite room is spacious and perfect for family meal time, bonding, playing and kid's birthday celebrations. Staff are friendly, smiling all the time and they are just great with kids :) The surrounding area's peaceful and very calm. It's less than 5 minutes walk going to the beach which the kids enjoyed a lot.

Also, the hotel service have gladly extended help on retrieving something we left behind our hotel room. Something small but very precious to my daughter. Retrieving that little bunny plush toy is something unforgettable. It is as unforgettable as The Strand Boracay experience.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for travelling family with kids.

Room Tip: The suites are best for indoor parties and cozy celebrations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geekporcelain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is the perfect place for our family! This place is very relaxing, but a few minutes walk to all the hustle and bustle in Boracay. We just wanted a room to shower in and sleep in and we got more than what we expected. The staff treated us like family. Rooms are simple, clean, and they have fast internet. My daughter even said she will come back to this place when she grows up. Excellent service, excellent ambiance, and very clean rooms.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jacinto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights in a one bedroom suite, Room 5. The staff were wonderful and service was excellent. The room was spacious, the bed was amazingly comfortable and unlike other hotels in the Philippines the hot water system worked and the hot showers were a welcome amenity at the end of the day. The rooms were cleaned daily, as were the pools and the complimentaries ie water, coffee, creamer, sugar and shampoo/conditioner were restocked daily. No charge for extra coat hangers or beach towels which was a plus considering other hotels charge for these items. TV and WiFi were excellent, the WiFi repeater is located directly outside the room and we enjoyed fast speed whether inside the room or on the balcony. The hotel is located at the northern end of Station 1, hence no touts or crowds like Station 2. The beach is located 2-3 minutes walk down the road and the only other users of the beach are local Filipinos and the handful of other resort tennants. There are shops located very close to the hotel in either direction. Breakfast was served from the onsite restaurant and was delicious. We had room service one night and the food was excellent. To D'Mall/Station 2 is a PHP75 tricycle ride during the day and PHP100 fare after ~6PM (Simply ask the office and they will arrange, ~5 minute wait. The office also organised a tricycle for our trip to the pier and it was waiting for us at the pre-arranged time.) We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Boracay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The Strand offers a lovely holiday place for vacationing families. Service is superb. There is a good variety of food to choose from. The place is quite distant from the noise and excitement of Boracay but close enough to take a few yards walk to where the action is. I love the location, the rooms are great, the place is tidy and the friendliness of the staff is commendable. I would definitely stay in this place again on my return to Boracay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieLee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The place is a very quiet located at station 1. The customer service is awesome, and the employees are very nice. The hotel is located at end of station 1 so if your wanting to travel to station 2 you can catch a tricycle, the employees can assist you with that. I didn't find the location a problem but for some tourist it might be because they might want access to other stations quicker. The White beach is just short walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Strand is a good place to stay in Boracay if you went there to just relax and have some peace and quiet. However, if you went to Boracay looking for excitement and wanting to party, this is not the place to be. The hotel is situated on the far end of station 1, making it harder to keep going back and forth to D'mall (station 2) where most of the activity is happening. You have to keep on hailing a tricycle which costs P75. Some drivers even charge us P100-150. It can be such a nuisance especially if you can just book another hotel and be at a walking distance from all the stores, restos and bars. Added to that, the hotel is right beside a cemetery which can be really creepy when you walk at night to the main road to be able to get a tricycle. I also find it unsafe to do so since there are lots of unfriendly dogs roaming around.

When it comes to the beach, the hotel can be a 5-min walk from it as it is not by the beach itself. Problem is, that part is not really where you would want to swim as there are not many or there is no tourist going there, only just some locals roaming around making us apprehensive of just leaving our stuff by the shore. So we ended up going to station 2 everytime we want to swim. Such a hassle to keep paying the tricycle fees especially when you're on a tight budget.

With regard to the hotel's customer service and amenities, I can say that they are impeccable. The staff are really friendly, always have bright smiles and greets us often. We were even upgraded to a nice suite.

They also have a swimming pool which is really nice. We loved swimming in it even at night as the water is warm. Too bad it's only open until 10pm.

Overall, our stay there was great. If it were not for the location, it would have been perfect.




  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJoyceB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.4 mi away
Lime Hotel Boracay
Lime Hotel Boracay
#26 of 151 in Boracay
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.9 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#17 of 151 in Boracay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#11 of 151 in Boracay
836 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Boracay Summer Palace
Boracay Summer Palace
#35 of 151 in Boracay
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: Brgy. Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £41 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of your own home at The Strand Boracay Resort with 13 well-appointed, Scandinavian-inspired suites and rooms amidst lush garden and towering mahogany trees. With a touch of genuine Filipino warmth and hospitality, this walled-paradise provides fun and relaxation at its best! Experience home at The Strand. Boracay's hidden oasis. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Boracay Hotel Boracay
The Strand Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing