We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but somewhat messy”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #38 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice, but somewhat messy”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The rooms in this hotel are good and spacious. There is something that kinda looks like a kitchen, but that can only be used to e.g. boil water for coffee. The room has satellite tv and WiFi, though the latter did not work when we were there. The staff is polite and friendly. The garden was nice but kind of messy. They were renovating the area surrounding the two pools (they have a kiddie pool and a normal pool) so it was quite noisy and messy. Then again, the renovation was badly needed, because you could literally get screwed by the screws sticking out of the wooden floor boards. The resort is very near the end of the white beach, though not too close to be spoilt by the tackiness and the many, many tourists. Personally, I like Puerto Galera, Bohol, or Palawan better than Boracay. Boracay is too small for that many tourists and the prices are downright crazy (but note that we went there during Christmas). Puka beach and Bulabog beach (spell check!) are more interesting than white beach IMHO, at least when you're with a family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert-Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    66
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
80
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I did tons of research here on TA before deciding on a hotel in Boracay. By and large everybody seemed to say that every hotel was great. I suppose it depends what you are looking for. For me, The Strand was perfect, a classy oasis away from the tackiness of the strip. Personally I have a low tolerance for being hassled to buy souvenirs every 10 feet and hearing different music blasted from 5 sources at once. Then there's the din of the trikes all day long. The Strand eliminates all those hassles, yet it's just a few minutes away from the "action".

It's a lovely compound of gardens with a great, attentive staff. The rooms (total of 12 I think) are arranged in one building staggered on a slope so that each veranda is pretty private. The beach is only a 3 minute walk, D Mall only a 10 minute trike ride which is only 100 Pesos (about 2 dollars). Every time I returned there I was glad I chose it, quiet, relaxed and private.

The food is excellent and all meals including the free breakfast can be conveniently delivered to your room/veranda or you can choose to sit by the pool or outdoor dining area.The cook Sael did a fantastic job. One day I ordered a cheeseburger expecting the typical Asian version i.e. hockey puck on a stale bun and instead received one of the best burgers I've ever had. Big juicy tender beef on an excellent bun with home made pickles and great cheese. I was blown away.

Ms.Dane organized all the tour activities with really great vendors and handled all the details ensuring punctual pickups, including the airport transfers which for us was Kalibo using Southwest airport service. Everything went like clockwork.

The rooms were very clean, large and the living area was spacious with tall ceilings. Plenty of hot water and the aircon (one in each room) worked great and was very quiet. Beds were very comfortable. Like most hotels there in Boracay they have a generator for the occasional blackouts. And speaking of electricity there are plenty of outlets all over the rooms and lots of lighting options and switches in the rooms and on the veranda for all types of moods. Oh yes and ceiling fans in both the bedroom and living room.

The bathroom has a separate toilet room and a shower room with a floor to ceiling window (private) which gives the feeling of an outdoor shower. A rain type showerhead, very tall and with plenty of water pressure. the sink area is between the shower and toilet in the room. Excellent arrangement.

The pool is wonderful, using saltwater instead of chlorine. Most times we were the only guests using it. Surrounded by beautiful stonework and flowers....and quiet.

I really can't think of anything negative to say about this property. It was perfect and I hated to leave.

Finally I would like to thank everyone at the Strand and Trip Advisor for all the help in finding and choosing this great resort.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms provide the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cincytraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

If you are looking for a quiet holiday in Boracay, The Strand Boracay is good option. It does not have a beachfront which is a negative, but makes with very quiet atmosphere. It has a good pool for the kids, the beach is about 50 mts walk, through a village street. It has only about 20 odd cottages, well furnished and maintained. Basic food service, but very friendly staff. Great to laze about, read a book or relax. We were there with family (2 young kids).
Next time we might book a beach front but away from Station 1 where all the action is.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

each time we came back to the strand from the outside world of boracay, it really felt like home. :)

the place is so peaceful and cool because of the trees surrounding it. the receptionist was a joy to talk to, she let us check in early and that really meant a lot!

our room was clean and well equipped with free bottled waters, consistent hot and cold shower. although the TV was really small and outdated though about 15"? :p we enjoyed their unique pool so much especially because it was only us and it's really a relaxing treat after a hot day at the beach. i had beef tapa for breakfast and it was excellent!

the only downside to the hotel is that i wish they would provide a free shuttle service to d'mall w/ their golf buggy. im really not the kind to complain about walking long distances but the location is at the far end of station 1 and it took us 25min to walk each way to station 2.
in one day we spent 400+php on overpriced tricycles.

other than that, i can't emphasize enough that the strand has made our anniversary really memorable and happy. i will go back!

Room Tip: ask the receptionist for a romantic room! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanna u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here when visiting the Phillipines for a friends wedding.

When we first arrived we were shown to a room near the entrance of the resort, the room was rather basic and extremely noisey during the evening (from the security guard blasting out Mariah Carey). We asked if we could move the next morning and were moved immediately to a beautiful room nearer to the pool which was much more quiet.

The hotel is located right on white beach and was a 2 minute stroll from some fantastic restuarants and bars along the beach.

The staff were always happy to help and the resort was so quiet that for 3 days it was only us and one other couple sharing the pool! I had some beauty treatments and they were great and very cheap (the hotel bring in an extrenal therapist).

Overall this was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further back past the pool, then you are guaranteed a quiet and private room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloechar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Strand Boracay put all my worries away. It was my first time to travel to Boracay with my family with me including the kids. On most occasions, I only travel with friends and partner. However, this year's Boracay vacation was for my daughter's 8th birthday celebration. The staff have helped out a lot to make it a real success.
Hotel service in the Philippines is best known for great hospitality, service and overall pleasant experience. However, the staff in The Strand Boracay have exceeded all expectations. Our experience during our stay was rather spectacular. I could not have imagined any other hotel to have performed better. Ambiance and service both were fantastic. The suite room is spacious and perfect for family meal time, bonding, playing and kid's birthday celebrations. Staff are friendly, smiling all the time and they are just great with kids :) The surrounding area's peaceful and very calm. It's less than 5 minutes walk going to the beach which the kids enjoyed a lot.

Also, the hotel service have gladly extended help on retrieving something we left behind our hotel room. Something small but very precious to my daughter. Retrieving that little bunny plush toy is something unforgettable. It is as unforgettable as The Strand Boracay experience.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for travelling family with kids.

Room Tip: The suites are best for indoor parties and cozy celebrations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geekporcelain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is the perfect place for our family! This place is very relaxing, but a few minutes walk to all the hustle and bustle in Boracay. We just wanted a room to shower in and sleep in and we got more than what we expected. The staff treated us like family. Rooms are simple, clean, and they have fast internet. My daughter even said she will come back to this place when she grows up. Excellent service, excellent ambiance, and very clean rooms.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacinto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.7 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#9 of 145 in Boracay
809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.6 mi away
One Crescent Place
One Crescent Place
#41 of 145 in Boracay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tanawin Resort and Luxury Apartments
1.3 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#36 of 145 in Boracay
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Wind Boracay Island
Sea Wind Boracay Island
#32 of 145 in Boracay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Property: The Strand
Address: Brgy. Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of your own home at The Strand Boracay Resort with 13 well-appointed, Scandinavian-inspired suites and rooms amidst lush garden and towering mahogany trees. With a touch of genuine Filipino warmth and hospitality, this walled-paradise provides fun and relaxation at its best! Experience home at The Strand. Boracay's hidden oasis. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Boracay Hotel Boracay
The Strand Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing