We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway from the White Beach crowds”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #38 of 152 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Loved the quietness of The Strand (minus the cockerels all day). 2 minutes walk to the far end of White Sand beach and easy access to Diniwad beach. I loved relaxing in the suite room balcony / living room/kitchenette during the rain.

It really is a great option to stay there if you don't want to pay massively over inflated prices just off the White Sand Beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful, bringing us breakfast / dinner to our room.

The staff organized a massive bunch of flowers for my girlfriends b'day and also confirmed our activities with MyBoracayGuide people.

Only a very very very small part that could be improved and that was the temperature of the fod when delivered to the room. Apart from that, I would definitely go back to stay at the Strand.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

It's not far from the beach, only 2 minutes walk. It's serene and spacious, not only room but also the garden. Like its breakfast very much, the serving style is just like at home. Will come to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherryzuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nice Hotel but too far out of the main beach areas and bars. Nice and peacful if you want a quiet holiday but to come here you need to enjoy the areas along station 1 and 2, this hotel is a 30 minute walk from the centre but only 150 peso trike away.

Great breakfast and nice rooms but my wife didnt realise that the rooms back onto a Graveyard which has upset her

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My friends and I booked two units of one-bedroom suites for 5 nights and were very happy with how spacious the rooms were. The rooms were well-furnished and very clean. Each one-bedroom suite had a living room that has 2 day beds/sofas, and a bedroom that has a king sized bed that could probably fit 3. Location-wise, it's a stone's throw away from the beach, and about 10 to 15 minutes slow walk to D-Mall where most of the eateries and restaurants are.

Breakfast was delicious, we looked forward to our breakfast daily, with many choices of local delights to Western meals. We ordered room service dinner one night and found the food to be equally delicious. Kudos to the cooks! Overall, the staff are very friendly and very helpful, and it's further away from the bars and the crowd, so you can have an idyllic respite and just head to the beach whenever. A tuktuk ride to D-mall would cost about 75-100 pesos per ride from the resort, and it was worth it for us as we had 4 people to one tuktuk.

Power supply was unstable sometimes during the night, but the staff said that power shortages happened due to natural disasters and could not be helped. Wifi was available free of charge in our rooms as well, so that was a great plus point. Overall, a very good and pleasant stay. Having explored other seemingly more luxurious hotels along the beach front, this would be my resort of choice for an idyllic beach holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fullofcolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

The resort are clean! Staffs was friendly, very helpful. Away from the noisy area. It's the place you want to go to after a long tiring day at the beach or a had that drink at the bar. You would want to relax in the quite area. A reasonable price paid for the quality received. Excellent! Never regret staying in this hotel. Jusssttt a sligghhhttt set back, you guys should have variety of breakfast menu for vegetarian.. Maybe like cereals, potatoes salads... Spread lile peanut butter, nuttella.. But the pancake was good! Mango/banana pancake..

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuraein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Located at the northern end of Station 1, The Strand is a short tryke ride from D-Mall. Being set away from the main road means it is nice and quiet (perfect for those that don't want to party all night but actually get some sleep). There is plenty of space within the resort and it felt like returning to a peaceful oasis each day.
It is a short walk down the path to the beach. While this is not the main part of White Beach, I liked it better. There was not so many people and the swimming was better at this end of White Beach and at Diniwid Beach which is also close by. Of course, sometimes we just stayed at the resort pool. It is a lovely big salt water pool with plenty of loungers to rest on.
We stayed in a studio room and it was plenty big enough for 2. Having a fridge and a flat screen TV were very convenient. The room was air-conditioned with a split system (much quieter than the noisy wall units). Our rate included breakfast each day which was always prompt (thanks Lyn) and delicious.
I have to mention the staff. They are the most friendly (without overbearing) and nothing was too much trouble. From arranging transport, tours or just general information they were great. Being a smaller resort, I actually felt like they treated me as family or a good friend.
The hotel is really good value for money. If you want beach front at station 1 or 2, it will cost a fortune and be very noisy. While a little further from "the action" it is maximum 100 pesos for a tryke (seating 6 passengers) into the heart of station 2. The saving on the hotel and a good nights sleep is more than worth a few tryke rides.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meatybite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended!

Ideal for families with children who wish to stay away from the noisy nightlife by the beach. We recently stayed during the holy week and stayed in the two bedroom penthouse for 4 days with my 1 year old son. Room had a kitchen & spacious living room which opens into a wide balcony. Reasonably priced and value for money.

Although location is not beachfront, it is just a 2 minute walk from the tip of station 1. The staff can readily call a tricycle for 75pesos only to go to d'mall or anywhere in the island (100pesos after 6pm). The place has 24-hour security.

Room is spacious, clean & modern. Food is sumptuous with five star service! From securing the room, to arranging roundtrip transfers and to arranging our errands for my husband's surprise birthday celebration. They really went to go the extra mile. Many thanks to Dane & Hazel for ensuring our holiday was perfect to the last detail!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank meggytus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.4 mi away
Lime Hotel Boracay
Lime Hotel Boracay
#25 of 152 in Boracay
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.6 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#11 of 152 in Boracay
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#21 of 152 in Boracay
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sur Beach Resort
Sur Beach Resort
#28 of 152 in Boracay
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencia Boracay
Residencia Boracay
#55 of 152 in Boracay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: Brgy. Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £34 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of your own home at The Strand Boracay Resort with 13 well-appointed, Scandinavian-inspired suites and rooms amidst lush garden and towering mahogany trees. With a touch of genuine Filipino warmth and hospitality, this walled-paradise provides fun and relaxation at its best! Experience home at The Strand. Boracay's hidden oasis. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Boracay Hotel Boracay
The Strand Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing