We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Stay Somewhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
Ranked #19 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is ranked no more than a 3 star hotel. So dont let the photographs fool you this place would have to be at least 20 years old. We arrived i had booked 3 rooms travelling with family of 8. We were escorted to our rooms my door took about 10 pushes to open. Looked in bathroom all tiles were covered in mould around bath and shower curtain and vanity sink. Lampshade all dusty tilted to the side. Curtains hanging on the floor. Furniture all old and chipped. The 3 rooms that i had ordered were not what i was given. So i complained to the manager and explained to her that this is inhumane to let anyone stay in here and have you heard of bleach.. They than change 1 of our rooms to a ground floor pool access room which was a little better. And the next day they said they would change the other 2 rooms.
The next day come the manager change the other 2 rooms to what we were surpose to have but not really any better besides they had grouted over the mould in the bathroom the night before and the curtains were hanging straight.
There is no sun chairs to lie by the poolside in the sun but there is 2 sun chairs in the water, pool very small. Great location for the beach right in front but if you smoke you cant smoke on the beach.
Breakfast very ordinary. Restaurant very ordinary and very expensive. Heaps better value and delicious dishes out side resort.
The safes in the room are not screwed down so your valuables are not safe i could pick it up and walk out with it no problem. I also bought this to the attention of the manager she said her staff member were trust worthy and she has cameras in hall. My question is why do you have cameras in the hall if your staff members are trustworthy.
I realize now we had a pair of earrings, pearl ring and necklace and pair of ladies shoes go missing out of my room. From my sisters room jewellery and a mens shirt went missing.
We paid for 9 nights and stayed for 6 nights with no refund.
Good location but thats all.
Would never recommend this hotel to any one

Room Tip: Dont stay here unless you want your belongings taken
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natalie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

I recently travelled to Boracay again for the 3rd time and was extremely looking forward to watch the amazing bands at the mandarin play on the beach. I was appalled when I seen they had been moved to a small stage over the fish pond. I usually spend every night at don Vito watching the entertainment when I'm In Boracay however this time I had to fight to see them with the people walking along the path. The bands use to be able to interact and get more involved with the audience whilst they played on the beach and now this had been stopped. When I enquired as to why I was told guests complained of the sound. ( so you move the band closer to the rooms ) I really dont see the logic. As a business owner you would think the people paying money by eating at restaurant would be main priority instead of the passers by that just stop in front of everyone! The atmosphere had changed and a lot people would snicker as they to couldn't enjoy the performances they were there for. BAD CHOICE BORACAY MANDARIN you should get the bands back on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel_L_198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mandarin for 10 nights on our honeymoon. We booked online and had never heard of any family or friends who had travelled to Boracay, so for us this was a bit of a gamble.

The trip from Caticlan airport to the Mandarin was like a well oiled machine, everything ran extremely smoothly. However when we pulled up into empty lot of land filled with rubbish, overgrown foliage and remnants of old housing, did we start to think we had made a mistake. We had both imagined getting dropped off to a welcoming beautiful foyer, not the case.

Our room was lovely so that met expectations. We were in room 120 (if they ever put you into that room ask to be moved immediately) which was right next to reception, directly across from the pool (as are at least 10 or so other rooms, which seems like a good thing when booking but is definitely not) and is behind the music stage that plays until 12 every night. Needless to say that each night we had to put up with the same songs being played over and over again and was extremely loud, each morning we could hear everything that was going on at reception and the staff who were working around the pool or in reception.

After 4 nights of putting up with this we complained and got moved to the Juanita Suite (they gave us 50% off the price). This room was spectacular!

The staff at the Mandarin are friendly, however do not seem to be very knowledgeable about the island they are working on.

In terms of location, the Mandarin is in an amazing location. Right in the midst of all the restaurants, shops etc...

We would definitely return to Boracay but I doubt we would stay at the Mandarin unless we had the Juanita suite.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Boracay Mandarin Hotel's Penthouse Suite was spacious and luxurious, albeit a little dirty / sandy.
The bath tub's jacuzzi failed to function but the bathroom was huge with a rain shower. There was an ipod speaker machine that you could also use as a charger, and a gigantic television set direction in front of the bed so you could wake up to immediate entertainment. The veranda was minimal, with a small table and 2 chairs facing the roof of another annex that partially shielded the beach. Seating facilities didn't feel exceptionally clean, so we didn't venture onto them. Breakfast was spectacular but make sure to come early before everything is wiped out. The staff were incredibly friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LORDZORPHIAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I know I shouldn't compare. But my family were in Boracay Regency on our first night in Boracay this April, and had to move to Mandarin Boracay on our second night since the Regency was fully booked. Last year we also stayed in Boracay Regency. So the experience we had with Regency was difficult to beat given what we needed and were looking for.

If your vacation includes having an 84 year old senior and a 2 year old toddler, you want the least hassle as possible, especially physically. And the small things that Mandarin lacked Regency had. To wit:

- Mandarin had its own speed craft, which compared to other resorts, was very good. But Regency had a speedboat that cut the travel from Caticlan to Boracay in half.

- Mandarin had an sitcom shuttle that brought us to the pier from the hotel, which is better than many who did not. but Regency had shuttle at its doorstep, whereas Mandarin will require you to travel by foot for about 10 minutes to its shuttle. With a 14 kilo toddler on my arms and an elderly moving slowly through the sand, I'd want the van right where I check out.

- Mandarin's family room was good. Its advantage over the one of Regency is that the second room had a queen size compared to two single in Regency. And it was very near the pool. But the one we got in Regency was bigger, allowing more room for the stuff of our baby. And it was less than 20 steps from the beach.

- Mandarin's pool was big compared to other smaller ones that don't even have a pool of its won. But Regency's was bigger. And had two pools. Easier to entertain the small one.

- Breakfast buffet of Mandarin had a good enough spread, but the one at Regency had a wider selection, convenient for our picky eater of a son.

Service in Mandarin was impeccable. No complaints at all. And this is one huge advantage Mandarin has over Regency since it has fewer rooms and can take care of guests more promptly than Regency.

If your circumstances are not as "challenging" as ours, and you have a tighter budget by a few thousands, go for Mandarin. Besides, Mandarin, being smaller, is more intimate, without the crowd of Regency. Which is another plus for Mandarin. But if you want greater convenience at the higher cost, and bigger crowd, Regency is the way to go.

Will this be posted for Regency as well?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Having been lucky enough (or so we thought) to get a room here for Chinese New Year, it was a big letdown for us when we arrived. We had four nights here and four nights in the Shangri-la. It is fair to say that the quality between the two is absolutely huge. I will keep the review for the Shangri-la for another time as it deserves every accolade it gets.
The rooms here were nothing to rave about and with louvre doors being the only thing to separate the bathroom from the bedroom, we found this very insufficient. Cleanliness didn't seem a top priority and as our room was poolside we didn't have a balcony (obviously) but two chairs facing the pool outside our room. These were simply used by anyone who decided to sit outside our room and we would often find the ashtrays full of someone else's spent cigarettes
The reception staff were very courteous and helpful as were the staff at breakfast. Sadly, the breakfast was extremely poor. Very limited choice and the pizzas they serve we also found to be of a poor standard. Everything is processed and not very authentic in any way at all.
The location is brilliant though and is about as close to the beach as you can get and close to the many shops and bars/restaurants that Boracay has to offer.
I'm not saying it was a bad hotel, just that it wasn't for us as it is not what we are used to. If you can afford to upgrade to the Shangri-la then don't even think about it.....go! You will not be disappointed but the Mandarin is ok for people on a budget.
We went for central location for four days followed by luxury for the following four days but there are pluses to be found at this hotel. It's just that we have experienced better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raybrahms1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 days 2 night. the staffs were friendly n helpful. I just love our room. Me n hubby stayed in Grand Poolside room. It comes with honeymoon decorations. One of d best hotel that I have ever stayed, I would highly recommend this hotel to whoever wishes to stay in Station 2 Boracay. It's located right in front of d white beach, but had to walk about 15 minutes to go to D'Mall or station 1. Bad thing is that since d location of our room was nearby d pool, so it was little noisy, so if we go to bed earlier than 10pm u had to bear with d noise. Overall I would say, we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aramena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.0 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#24 of 151 in Boracay
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#5 of 151 in Boracay
756 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0.1 mi away
Henann Garden Resort
Henann Garden Resort
#13 of 151 in Boracay
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel

Address: Beach Front, Station 2, Boracay Island, Philippines, Malay, Aklan Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £89 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel is a world-renowned Triple A resort located at the beachfront of Station 2 in Boracay Island, Philippines. It has 52 rooms and suites and offers a modern Filipino design that captivates the essence of luxurious living in a tropical island setting. Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel is home to Don Vito Ristorante Italiano, an Italian restaurant which was awarded as one of the Philippines Best Restaurants in 2011 by Asia Tatler Dining. It also houses the famous Mandarin Spa, a premium fitness and wellness provider, known for its therapists' expertise in the traditional Filipino massage and foot spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Boracay
Boracay Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing