We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveller rating
348
199
68
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
199
68
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon vitoambassador suitepoolside roompremier sea viewbeach fronthilot massagethe general managerfire dancerslive bandd mallthe hotel managerhotel is locatednoisy at nightbreakfast buffetoverlooking the beachpool sidenice pool
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 666 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We expected grand things from Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel but the whole experience felt underwhelming for a 5 star hotel.
1. After seeing photos of the Mandarin Grand Suite, we booked immediately and were excited that such a nice room was "reasonably" priced for separate sitting area, outdoor lounging area and a dipping pool. Upon arrival, we were disappointed to see that photos were so different from reality and felt cheated. Yes, the suite was spacious, clean, and comfortable. AC worked really well, nothing smelled weird, and it was nice to see the ocean from the suite. However, all of the furnishings were outdated (felt a decade-old). Leather sofa felt worn (not to mention, hot temperature and leather really don't jive well). TV was small-ish. The bathroom fixtures were also outdated with a paper screen awkwardly covering the window. Lighting seems off. The outdoor lounging area was pretty much unusable in the afternoon because it was so hot (end of November). Furthermore, there were massive amounts of ants crawling around by the sliding doors. We asked the hotel to spray the lounge area. The ant population reduced but a good amount was still milling about the next day.
2. Breakfast buffet at the hotel were borderline bad. You are better off walking to the D-Mall.
3. The WORST thing about the hotel was the outdoor concerts blasting from evening to midnight. The room was not sound-proof and it seemed as though the speakers were right outside our room, especially by the front end of our bed. Song selections ranged from old Korean songs to Guns n’ Roses. I had hard time sleeping listening to glorified karaoke style tunes and will forever hate Culture Club’s Karma Chameleon for the rest of my life.
4. If you want a relaxing vacation, don’t stay here or in District 2. It’s busy and crowded. Every time we stepped outside, we were harassed by vendors selling the same exact things/services. However, this is the fault of the general tourism environment in Boracay. Not the fault of the hotel.
Good points of the hotel: 1. Good/friendly service; 2. Walking distance to D Mall; 3. Small convenience store right next door for water; 4. Comfortable bed/bedding; 5. Clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank tifw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is the first time my family and I went to Boracay and our trip went on smoothly without any worries. Travelonline's assistance in booking my vacation (airline, land/sea transfers and hotel) with my family was excellent. The accommodations and services of the Boracay Mandarin is first class to say the least and we will definitely go there again when we visit Boracay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Charlton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have been going to Boracay Mandarin for 3 years now. The room and bathroom is spacious and clean. Hotel staff is very accommodating and will ensure that they will attend to your needs right away. After a whole day of enjoying the beach, the pool is perfect for cooling down. We love that the location is in the heart of Boracay. Its just few steps away from the beach and d'mall. The food served at Don Vitto is also great. They have varieties of food served in the morning and at night you can enjoy a beachfront dinner while a live band serenades you. This hotel will be perfect as your "home" away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AceyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Expected more from this hotel and was a bit let down. The location is excellent for all amenities. Breakfast is is average and also the Italian restaurant. The pool is small and doesn't get much sun by way of the hotel is designed. The room was to a decent size but had an ant infestation.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl-c63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is one of the smaller ones on Boracay, yet the rooms are of a good size and offers the guest all the right equipment and features. l stayed in the pool access room which is really not a pool access room but a room located next to pool. To clarify a pool access room normally has a self-contained balcony only you can sit at and you can access via your door. At this hotel you had to sit at chairs at the front of your room and these were often occupied by other guests who moved search time l came out to sit..

Be cafreful if you want a gym. this hotel has none even though it advertises one via Agoda. l found one only two minutes away, of course an an extra price, so no big deal, except one does pay of expectation.

The hotel has an in house restaurant Don Vito which l have written a review. The inclusive breakfast is very good. For dinner you can often sit at tables on the beach and the view is fantastic and every night a live band plays, who are in the main very good.

The pool is small but theres not a lots of people and hey one of the best beaches in the world is 15 yards away.

My only suggestions are that if you don't like sand don't go here and if you book in low season as the weather is still good, the beach beautiful but there's a lot less people, which trust me is a good thing.

Finally, the staff here are extremely good, bright and helpful. Overall l can recommend this hotel as a good place to stay in Station 2.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room are better as the have private balacony.If you want to see the real Boracay, go on day trips, boats air any if you want and have a local who is english speaking kind and helpful, the contact a fellow named Zandro Aquino +63 905 2250 546 or on +63 920 859 125. I used Zandro and was really glad l did, he is one top bloke
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews