We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private, quiet and relaxing, but a bit old and dilapidated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alice in Wonderland Beach Resort
Ranked #85 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Alice has three hotels/branches in Boracay. This review is only for the one branch we stayed at, called Alice in Wonderland. It is located in station 2, and is a 10 minute walk to the beach. Although it is far from the beach, it is a very quiet place where you can actually relax.

Wonderland is a garden resort. Its rooms are scattered around the garden. Each room is very spacious. Each one has a veranda, with a hammock. Inside the room, amenities are basic but at least there was a fridge. Wifi is slow. Bed and sheets very basic. Towels thin and a bit old.

Wonderland is an old hotel, possibly built in the 80s or 90s, so its spacious deluxe rooms actually look and feel old. The room itself, the bathroom and furniture are dilapidated. The swimming pool looks clean but feels oily when you take a dip. (By the way, out of thier 3 hotel branches, only Wonderland has a pool.)

My biggest concern was security. There is no security guard at the gate entrance to the garden resort, and the door to each room is made of plastic. One can very easily break into any room. The only lock is the door knob's.

If you are willing to shell out a few more bucks, Alice's other (newer and more modern looking) branches may appeal to you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul Bray O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at the Resort area, stand-alone cabin, twin bed

Positives:
1) dirt cheap, only P1,100 (pesos) for the cabin (June is near off-peak). Note: internet prices are higher. If you have time, walk-in and check out the rooms/areas first.
2) fairly quiet and secure, spacious lawn/garden all around
3) just a few minutes walk to the markets, shops and eateries
4) hot shower worked beautifully!

Negatives:
1) many of the staff are UNfriendly, UNhelpful, UNsmiling and 100% rude. we only found one 'communicative' person but could be happier. Staff are very much in need of basic customer service training.
2) basic amenities and not maintained well (ants all over beds and floor, saggy beds, holes on the walls, noisy aircondition, can't lock windows, no chairs, small tv, small bar fridge, poor lighting, no cooking nor tea/coffee facility)
3) location is not near the beach so don't expect beach views nor sound of the waves (their Hotel wing can offer views but at a cost, it is noisier as it is near bars and tourist traffic)
4) the main road and alley way leading to the Resort get very floody/wet during heavy rains
5) locals and transport operators seem to know where it is so it is easy to find.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OzFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here for a week mid-June and being low season paid just under php 1700 p/n for 3 of us, which was a very good price for what we got. Based in Station 2, less than 5 minute walk to the actual beach, we found being away from the busy pace and noise of the beach front made for a much more relaxing stay. The cottages are nicely situated around the garden and (very nice) pool, with hammocks on the veranda. Rooms were big enough to comfortably have a double and single bed plus 3 adults. There was a 'please clean room' sign which we used every other day, receiving clean towels etc and a nicely cleaned room. Air-con, tv, mini-fridge all worked well. The only downfall of the room is the bathroom, everything worked fine it was just shabby and in desperate need of a revamp!!! The staff were helpful and friendly enough and although it was good having a pool bar for drinks the food was somewhat limited, serving all day breakfasts and a few sandwiches (non of which were particularly nice). This actually didn't matter once we had discovered Gusto y Gustos 2 mins away towards the beach. Very good deli, with a delicious selection of breads, sandwiches, toasties etc. Yum!

Overall i would highly recommend Alice In Wonderland as decent budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKandTheSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My wife and I went to Boracay on June 30 to July 2, 2012 to look for a place to stay in December because we will return with our son who will be almost two years old by that time. We had no bookings because we intended to scout the place for a good hotel or resort on a good location which is kid friendly.

We stayed in this hotel by chance because the one where we intended to stay was fully booked and the staff there accompanied us to Alice in wonderland hotel. Thereafter they said that they also have a resort with lower rates so we also checked it out, but we opted to stay at the hotel because it was in front of a police station and it feels much safer there. They showed us the room and I was impressed with the cleanliness of the place so I immediately booked two nights and they immediately demanded for full payment. That was my mistake I should have only booked one night to try it out first. Well, it was a lesson learned the hard way. Both the beach resort and the hotel are not located on the beach front. Their resort is about 5 mins away from the beach and the hotel is around 3 minutes away from the beach.

The resort has a swimming pool and several villas like small houses although the rooms in the hotel are much better compared to the ones in the resort. The resort and the hotel are located on different locations and are not adjoining one another. The guests in the hotel can use the swimming pool at the resort but we did not bother because it's quite a hassle to walk to and from their resort and hotel.

The service however is not that good, no one even bothered to offer any assistance to carry our luggage to think that you need to climb the stairs before you can reach the room. The rooms in the hotel are quite OK and they do have all the basic amenities, a crt tv, a split type air-conditioning unit, a bath tub with hot and cold shower, and a refrigerator and a fairly decent bed. They don't provide shampoo, toothpaste and toothbrush but they do provide a small piece of soap, bath towels and tissue rolls. I don't know if they have toothpaste, shampoo and toothbrush because I did not bother to ask for them because I don't want to have an argument with their incompetent staff. The beds don't have a duvet cover when I tried to ask for one they gave me a thin blanket instead. That's perhaps the kind of service you get for the price you pay them.

Although they say "Alice in wonderland hotel" I would say that it is just a basic room and nothing more, nothing less. Don't expect anything other than a basic room. The only good thing about this place is that it's clean and secure. Secure not because of the hotel security but because it is located right in front of the police station.

This place can be a very good place to stay and it has a very high potential if only the staff will be properly trained to be more accommodating and helpful. The hotel does not have a sufficient number of staff to attend to the needs of the guests. In the entire duration of our stay we only saw a lady from the front desk, a man at the door and a cleaning lady although they are replaced by other persons at night. Technically only three or four persons man the hotel at a given time of day or night at least that's what I saw.

If you're looking for a clean place to stay then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: If you are a walk in guest ask them to show you the room first and if possible try to book one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AttorneyVex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed for one night with my son at this place during peak season. Rate for a room with 2 double beds is Php 2,000. This place is located in station 2 and it is close to souvenir shops and restaurants, though it is not beachfront, you just have to walk 8 mins and you are on the beach. When entering the gate, you will see the big garden with the rooms around it and the pool at the center. The garden is well maintained and clean. The room is simple, nothing fancy, 2 double beds, a crt tv with cable, a mini ref, and a closet.. And it is spacious! The aircon unit was cool enough. The place is relaxing and quiet, unlike other resorts where you can actually hear other guests. They also have a small restaurant near the pool that unfortunately i was not able to try. So far i liked the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

To save any confusion, this review is for the “Alice Boracay Hotel Resort” on the left from the seafront. NOT Alice in Wonderland with the pool.
Compared to some of the other budget places in Boracay this place is definitely OK. The rooms are small, but have most requirements. The rooms are clean and modern enough with a slightly Japanese feel to them reflecting the management. The place also seems extremely secure which is good as there are no safety boxes in the rooms. The rooms have a door key rather than a card system, but it is a good lock. You’ll have no problems with rowdy guests.
Nothing though is ever quite right with any place in the Philippines. Ridiculously, when you remove the key from its slide, all power is switched off including the fridge and sockets. This is just silly and annoying. Also the shower hose is far too short and it suitable only for your average person. Six foot westerners would have to bend down to have their hair washed. As is usual with Japanese run places, they seem to like their baths, so you have to stand in the bath to take a shower and as the hose is short that is a real problem. The TV is an old fashioned CRT screen, but of a style which is modern to some I have seen in hotels here. Despite, or perhaps because of, there being an in house internet shop, the internet connection is very unreliable and mostly isn’t there. The front office tries to blame the island’s connection, but other connections I have had work well. I suspect the hotel itself cannot handle the traffic. Also, annoyingly, they don’t accept payment by credit card.
The reception staff seemed very decent people, but they need to smile more and be a bit more welcoming to guests. The place has a rather sterile atmosphere. The omnipresent “observe silence” signs do little to help, although they do tend to have the desired direct result. If you want more atmosphere than a clean room and reception area can give you, then this place is not for you. To call it a “resort” is misleading. There seems to be confusion with this place and the Alice in Wonderland resort up the road. This is called “Alice Boracay Hotel Resort”. The only connection I can see is ownership.
That all said, I have looked at rooms in the 2,500 category (high season price) and the Alice has to be good value compared. Some of the rooms offered are quite scandalous in price for what is offered. One place at 3,000 peso a night had no running hot water and many places smell of damp. Boracay is the most expensive destination in the Philippines and at peak season the demand/supply equation creates some silly prices. Despite the faults which would not take a lot to remedy, this place is clean, secure and quiet. Of course no sea views at this price, but the location is just a stone’s throw to the beach and across the road from an excellent Spanish restaurant.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ianthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Just returned from a excellent trip to Boracay,lovely island great white beach and will return soon.After staying one night in a more expensive poor hotel we decided to look for somewhere else to stay and came across this hotel just a few minutes along the fabulous beach.This is the new part of the hotel on the beach ,set further away is the older section of bungalows around a pool we didn't visit there so can't review that part of the hotel.On arrival found the reception welcoming, staff very friendly and the owners two lovely dogs entertaining.Our room even though not huge was spotless with a great bath and shower,comfortable bed and a small balcony really just for drying clothes.Bottom line if you are looking for a budget hotel that is modern clean and safe I can highly recommend Alice in Wonderland.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tingtongstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#42 of 151 in Boracay
150 reviews
0 mi away
La Carmela de Boracay
La Carmela de Boracay
#106 of 151 in Boracay
1,251 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boracay Ecovillage Resort and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MR Holidays Hotel
MR Holidays Hotel
#86 of 151 in Boracay
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaiyana Boracay Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#36 of 151 in Boracay
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice in Wonderland Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice in Wonderland Beach Resort

Address: Manggayad, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £23 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice in Wonderland Boracay Beach Resort is located in Manoc2 between station 2 & 3 it is 3 minutes walk from the beach. 2 duplex standard twin room cottages and 8 duplex twin room cottages all fully air-condition with hot & cold shower. We have a pea shape 4 to 7 feet deep swimming pool with pool bar that serves tropical fresh fruit drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alice In Wonderland Beach Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing