We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Isla Bonita Resort
Ranked #80 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spacious and close to the beach”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated at Station 3 right along White Beach, perfect for water activities but also for swimming and restaurants. It's a bit of a walk to get to Stations 1 or 2 (and d*mall) but not too far and the walk is a nice one along the beach.
The staff were friendly and attended to anything that was needed. Complimentary WiFi is provided but wasn't really available in the rooms, just at and around reception. The balcony had a line for drying clothes/bathers which worked well as it stayed pretty warm out there.
Breakfast was good: a variety ranging from eggs to pasta to spring rolls and fruit, along with coffee or juice.
The room, a deluxe air-con room, was very spacious, though the bed wasn't very comfortable. The pillows especially were lumpy any very uncomfortable, though there were also cushions which could be used with/instead of the pillows and they were okay. The air-con worked well. Hot water and water pressure were inconsistent but if you waited a bit they tended to become okay.
The room was cleaned daily, and the towels replaced also. They don't provide beach towels but do have bamboo-type mats available for the beach.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiquita_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    61
    40
    23
    13
See reviews for
21
67
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbelltown, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Booked two room for our family so they gave us upstairs & downstairs. Our room had an extra double bed but I couldn't get more than the one bed for the rest of the family. Not complaining about that as we booked quite close to Christmas.
The 'deluxe' rooms we hired were spacious with seperate onsuites and balcony's. The bathrooms had hot showers but no bath. Air conditioning was through a small wall unit but it was sufficient.
Most importantly the beds were comfortable. A small old style TV had plenty of pay TV channels. Breakfast was limited to fresh fruit, some toast with a slice of ham & eggs to your preference. Not a lot of choice but the staff were certainly friendly.
Wifi was meant to be available in the rooms but in fact was only working near the reception area & in the restaurant. Typhoon Hainan which had struck the island onnly weeks before had damaged some infrastructure on the island & internet reception was the main problem still yet to be resolved. Occasionally there were brownouts but they never lasted long & that's pretty typical across the Philippines anyway.
Situated on Boracay's famout White Beach at the southern end of the island near station 3 the hotel is close to shops & the beach.
Take plenty of cash as hardly anyone accepts credit cards, the nearby ATM hardly ever works & the nearest ones are at Stations 2 & 1 that are a bit of a walk up the beach path. Often they were empt also. Best to go ATM hunting early in the morning & if you find one that works withdraw as much as you can to save on frequent trips back to the ATM. Don't forget that overseas cards will incur extra fees at the ATM as well as your bank hitting you also.
Beach was great for us and the kids & plenty of places to chose for dinner on or near the beach. Unfortunately New Years Eve belted down with rain at the stroke of midnight however it didn't deter the locals with their fireworks displays that Boracay is famous for. Good place for a family holiday but more expensive than most other parts of the Philippines.
I suggest spendinf a little more trying to fly into nearby Caticlan to then catch the ferry to Boracay. Kalibo is cheaper but is a two hour coach ride away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWPacificWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

If your travelling on a budget this is it... Located on station 3, near the sea activities, scuba dive, helmet dive, banana boat ride etc, then this is the place... If your into quiet side of the beach just relaxing under the sun, then choose a much high end hotel... As the beach front is full of boats from morning till afternoon not a good place to swim, you'll have to go further down to station 2 or 1 to get a good swim...
The breakfast is not what it says, there is nothing continental about it, a few cereals, bread, a choice of ham and egg and thats it... The management should look into this, but nevertheless you get what you paid for...
I will rate them as follows:
Staff 5/5 very friendly
Room 3/5 can improved more
Cleanliness 2/5 ( i had to ask the second day to please have our room cleaned)
Breakfast 1/5 we didnt take our breakfast the next day, just decided to eat somewhere else
Location 3/5 as we opted for a quiet day at the beach
Value for money 4/5 you get what you pay for...




Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank YourfoodCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The wifi doesn't reach the room. I haven't been to the other resorts but there are roaches and other bad insects in the bathroom.. The room we got didn't look as comfortable as the photos. And the AC isn't cool enough.. But I guess, that's why the price is cheap. Thank god it's beach front and near activities. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Choi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boracay hotels

Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

i really don't do much international travel so i really learned my lesson with this hotel. without hurricane Yolanda, this hotel would have received a higher rating but that didn't happen. what did happen was the hotel lost primary power and had to use its own generator and to save money they were very judicious with its use. talk about suffering........

So here's the low-down...................

PROS : great selection of cable channels, right on the beach

CONS : weak shower water pressure, table but no chair, no hooks or chest of drawers to put
away or hang our clothes, small 10"tv, hard pillows, no bed sheets on arrival, breakfast
did not match picture; it consisted daily of two pieces of toast, a slice of ham, and two
thumbnail size pieces of jam and butter respectively.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Really, there is nothing to be enthusiastic about La Isla Bonita. The place has a run-down appearance, and I simply did not feel comfortable. The paper-thin bed sheet over a plastic-covered matress, the lack of pillow sases, the shower which needed repair, the weak AC, the dampness - staying here was not really pleasant. While the staff at the reception was friendly, they were not vrey customer service oriented. I cannot understand why they did not even sell water there if there was none in the rooms. Also, they could have checked for me if the ferries they told me about were actually scheduled for my day of departure (I took their word for it, was at the Caticlan pier at 8:45 for the 10:00 ferry only to find out that both the 10:00 and 12:00 ferries had been cancelled). It's a bit sad that staff did not even make the effort of one quick call to check. I am fully aware that on an island as overpriced as Boracay you cannot expect much from accommodation that is half-way moderately priced. Still it would feel wrong to give more than 2  stars and I will not consider coming again. By the way, I cannot help but notice that 7 of the 12 "excellent" reviews were written by Tripadvisor members who have written just one single review ever - makes you wonder how many of those are not just fabricated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobertLockwoodJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel located in Station 3 of Boracay is really a good choice.
Reasons why I give perfect rating:
1. Beach Front in a quite location for a good night sleep
2. Walking Distance to Station 2 for party people
3. Just a few steps to 'D Mall in Boracay where you can shop around
4. Behind the hotel, few steps are the small shops in Talipapa - affordable price
5. Very affordable room rates for a Family Room - USD30/night only *wink* (non peak)
6. Staffs are very professional, accommodating, service oriented, smiling.
7. Spacious Rooms with Private Balcony where you may hang your cloth to dry
8. There is kitchen if you want to cook for additional fees
9. Plus the Genuine service I experience from them. They send by courier my personal belongings which I left in my room during check out. I just call them and we communicated by sms for the details and when they said, they're gonna send the next day, it happened and received the item on time. It's their action that really counts. This experience really give me a good impression for this hotel.

Thanks for the job well done to all staff and management for this hotel.

Keep up the good work.

Will definitely comeback here if I will visit again Boracay next time and would recommend this place for anyone who want a beachfront rooms but not expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travel_World_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.3 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#53 of 145 in Boracay
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boracay Travelodge Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
#118 of 145 in Boracay
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#43 of 145 in Boracay
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
#71 of 145 in Boracay
139 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boracay Ecovillage Resort and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Isla Bonita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Isla Bonita Resort

Property: La Isla Bonita Resort
Address: White Beach Front, Boat Station 3 Mangayad, Aklan Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#26 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Isla Bonita Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at White Beach Front, near Boat Station 3 & 2, Boracay 30 rooms deluxe air conditioned, Cable TV, Refrigerator, Minibar, Hot & cold shower, Grill and Sizzling Restaurant, Pasta & Pizza Special, Spa & Massage, Foreign Exchange, Safety Deposit, Free WI-FI internet, Night Security, Airline Ticket service, Dive arrangement, Laundry service, Sunset cruise, Siling boat arrangement, Island Hoping Trips, Motorbikes rentals, babysitter, friendly Staffs, Budget Price resort located with Beach view. Long stay discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Cancelon so you can book your La Isla Bonita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Isla Bonita Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing