We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Xi Mountain Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Xi Mountain Retreat
Ranked #151 of 213 Hotels in Cebu Island
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great trip...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Nigel was a pleasure to work with, and his staff is exceptional. The room was very nice. Overall, it was exactly what I'd hoped for. I very much enjoyed my four week stay. Looking forward to going back... Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmitango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

The first time I travelled to Cebu with friends....the excitement to see this place urged us to overcome the so tiring 3-hour ride towards the South. The breathtaking zigzag road gave it more an intriguing foresight of what's instore along the way going up as you spot a lighted area at the topmost part of the mountain ranges. A few minutes more as we parked down the grounds, we set our feet to grasp the only way up......more than 100 steps! Smiles went painted on our faces as we saw the bamboo gate with the sign Sun Xi Resort....and when it opened....walking a few more steps....we were greeted by a cool, awesome,tranquil abode with the stars almost at our reach. It was an unforgettable golden day for me since then....and had to go back second and third time around, August of this year, bringing other friends to experience the magic of this cozy resort for themselves. Surprisingly, each year has its own new eye-popping added features....and this year....a welcoming villa where 6 casitas await guests to slumber and have some peaceful stay away from the fast pacing world in the cities in a warm ambience and services given by trained staffs. So, what are you waiting for? It's your chance of a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria Estela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

got taken to the mountain resort by a friend of mine and who is also a friend of the owners. went there had drinks in the bar and checked out the rooms, beautiful views and nice courtyards, clean rooms

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiechris90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Arrived at Sun Xi after a hectic week in Australia....in need of some relaxation, we could not have asked for a better place to come. Access is via a climb of 100 odd steps, but oh so worth it. The place is strikingly beautiful, and the views breathtaking,the atmosphere is very relaxed making this is the ideal place to unwind and chill out.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms very comfortable. It was a pleasure to wake every morning to another day in Paradise, my only regret is that we were not able to stay longer. I certainly plan a return visit and would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

Recently I traveled to the island of Cebu, Philippines.

Cebu with the Philippines is one of the upcoming tourist destinations in Asia. I assume as this is, in comparison to Thailand or Malaysia, pretty untapped.

Being in Asia, the island has a number of beach holidaying destinations. On this occasion I visited a place that sang a different tune. A mountain resort. Usually you hear about mountain resorts in the snowy mountains of Europe so I was intrigued to find out what it was all about.

Sun Xi Resort, a very new establishment, claim to be at 2,200 ft above sea level.

They are situated in the quiet “Barangay” (village) Lepanto, which is part of the municipal Alegria.

Upon arriving at Cebu, Mactan airport. I was met by the Sun Xi Resort driver, who took my bags and put them in the back of their pickup truck, and I got in the cabin with the driver. I must say , this was not your standard shuttle bus to a hotel one maybe used too. Still to me, it added to the general character of Sun Xi.

The drive took about 3 hours and even though it was dark, It was interesting to see us getting more and more rural, till eventually we kicked in the four wheel drive, and started ascending the mountain.

When finally there, I had to climb up a tiring 128 stairs where the resort was finally waiting.

The entrance is a little left to be desired, but once inside the gates, the landscaping and view was truly quite breath taking.

I met with the young manager Tim, whose father is the main investor/
owner of the property. He explained to me the concept was a getaway for the white collar expats living in Asia to escape to for the weekend or longer.

The general atmosphere of the place is very casual. You feel like you are more staying as a guest of a house, as opposed to the usual, room service, front of house, restaurant etc. That being said, there is still housekeeping, a bar and dining area where simple foods were cooked, which all gets charged to the account.

It was a bit weird to get used to the fact that I couldn't readily use my mobile phone whenever I wanted. I was informed that there are only certain spots around the estate which have signal. I questioned as to whether that affects business or not. However, Sun Xi's marketing, is all about, total recluse, the “throw away your phones, burn the laptops” culture, and I see how it works for them.

A good place to come for honeymoons/romantic get aways. Catching up on a lot of reading/ self time. Stargazing (beautiful) hiking on natural paths. Generally to get back to basics.

A must visit, if you really do want to get out of the cities but still feel at home.

Still very new, so a few hiccups, but will be interesting to see how they develop.

  • Liked — All the Dogs! The mood, The staff
  • Disliked — 128 stairs!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clintoneoconey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunxi, General Manager at Sun Xi Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear clintoneoconey, just wanted to say a big thank-you for your support of Sun Xi Resort and for the pioneering visit and stay you and your friends made back in April 2008. Wow, almost 5 years ago. It would be great if you can make a trip next April as we have a few developments which we will be officially launching and would like to share with you. Quite a lot has changed over the past 4 years, but also a lot is still the same - as it has been for the last 400 years, or more even. The scenery, atmosphere and magic will hopefully never change. Thanks again for your visit and the review. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
9.0 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#1 of 1 in Alcoy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
15.5 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sun Xi Beach Club
Sun Xi Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Alegria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
D Alegre Traveller's Inn
11.5 mi away
Badian Island Resort and Spa
Badian Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 2 in Badian Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
18.7 mi away
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
#4 of 28 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Xi Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Xi Mountain Retreat

Property: Sun Xi Mountain Retreat
Address: Lepanto | Alegria, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The scent of an untainted breeze dancing, a serene chorus of rustling trees nursing landscapes waiting to be gazed upon. Feel nature's ambiance. Taste her elegance. Welcome.....to Sun Xi Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sun Xi Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Xi Mountain Retreat Philippines/Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing