We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low price - low quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Richmond Plaza Hotel
Ranked #184 of 213 Hotels in Cebu Island
Esbjerg, Danmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“low price - low quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel offers cheap accommodation. It also means that do not expect high quality.

In general, the staff was friendly and accommodating. This both reception, room service, restaurant, security guards etc.
Particularly should be mentioned a young female receptionist who often had the afternoon and evening shift. She was very proactive and accommodating to requests and follow-up. For example. after ordered room service we were given feedback about the expected delivery time, if there was a delay in delivery. We saw her as a great asset to the hotel.

On arrival we chose a superior room. But after a chat with other hotel guests, we changed to a standard room. Simply because standard room was larger and better equipped than the Superior room. Superior room was newly renovated and equipped with a flat screen. Our assessment was that the difference was not large enough to pay extra for a superior room. Unfortunately, we then had a room with a rather noisy aircon system.

Breakfast was included but of poor quality and size. It consisted of a cup of coffee, a glass of juice, one egg and three toast. It is surprising to me that it should be so bad and uninspiring instead of making a breakfast buffet with a greater variety - which will give happy customers who get a good start to their day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JensBDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    17
    11
    12
See reviews for
4
15
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Really is a hit or miss, depending on what kind of room you get. My suggestion is to ask for a renovated room upon check in. Staffs here are usually accomodating and friendly and will bend over backwards to accomodate your needs. Albeit its one of the older hotels in cebu, they are in the process of renovating all rooms as well as the restaurant. Cheap rates and accomodating staffs. Will stay here again due to friendly and personal service.

5-10 minute walk to ayala mall.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms upon check in. Truly night and day compared to their old rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supatight080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Rooms from the 10th floor have a great view, quiet lobby and on a sidestreet. Stayed one night, came back a month later and staff remembered me and gave a free room upgrade. Some rooms at the richmond are condos with full time tenants so the hotel tends to be extra quiet.

Sheets and mattress and towels were all clean, flat screen tv with cable, quiet aircon. Room service was ok, but i only ate there once because ayala is just across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerJoe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Newly renovated rooms, clean mattress, clean comfort rooms hot and cold shower, brandnew 32 inches lcd cable tv, friendly staff and security, 8 mins walk from ayala mall, near hiways so you can easily get a cab. Overall, im satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amphilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Rooms are clean, beds are very old and hard, staff are not helpfull, the area is like a slum and stinks bad, i came back to the hotel late a number of time to find the security guard asleep, gun in hand, the girls i was with had told be some bad stories about this palce

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJB408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu Island hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed here for a month and only remained due to the location being convenient for my needs. Most of the staff are quite nice but the management seem terrible - very focused on just making money and inflexible on many things such as asking for a late checkout. Renovations going on in the room next door meant there were a lot of fumes and dust in the hallway. Noisy AC made it hard to sleep at times. Also a leaking tap in the bathroom was never fixed, the reception staff said the management were just going to fix it when they renovate the room. Also the cafe/restaurant is pretty limited and quite expensive.

In summary, a nice looking place with nice staff, but the management are so awful that I left as soon as I could.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Yes the beds may be pushed together but the sheets are clean and there is a new 42 inch TV and cable box.
The CR (bathroom) was roomy and the overhead shower had hot water.
The AC was not that noisy.
Price for the room wasn't that bad, better than others. If you want to pay 3 to 4 times the price then spend your money.
They offer car service to and from the airport at a very good price, and the cars were clean as well as the drivers. Just make sure when you land you look for the person outside with your name.
You can walk to the mall in about 10 - 15 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Dragon Home Inn
#140 of 213 in Cebu Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Peak Hotel & Suites Cebu
0.2 mi away
West Gorordo Hotel Cebu
West Gorordo Hotel Cebu
#31 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#19 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Maxwell Hotel
The Maxwell Hotel
#37 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#68 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Plaza Hotel

Property: Richmond Plaza Hotel
Address: F. Sotto Drive | Gorordo Avenue, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 213 Hotels in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Richmond Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Plaza Hotel Philippines/Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing