We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alegre Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Cebu(Cebu City)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$314
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
116
70
24
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
70
24
8
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

As the title suggests, we had a great time enjoying exclusivity in this hotel, they have around 7 hectares of land and only house 100 guests at a time so it's really very private and intimate.
The beach is nice as well although a bit rocky. There's some hermit crabs at the other end of the beach which are very entertaining for those kids and young at heart.

You have the option of dining by the beach (barbeque style) or by their modern dining area just a floor up from the beach.

Rooms were very Filipino and big as well. Think of it as a typical hotel room sans the edgy design. Welcome drinks were served as soon as guests were at the lobby. Every employee in the resort are happy and polite greeting each guests that pass them by.

It takes 2 hours to get here from Cebu City but the experience is worth the while so be sure to stay for at least 2 nights to fully enjoy the resort!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank optiminfinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Me, my parents with my siblings and nephews visited this place last May 2013 and stayed for 2 nights and 3 days.. it was great experience for relaxing and gateway experience for us esp. if you come from a busy city. The place is nice, the view is perfect, nice scenery and quiet which is one thing that we like. Food wise, its ok.. price are quite expensive but in a way expecting it since the hotel is remotely and is located away from the city or main town. The pool is ok and clean as well the swimming gears like snorkling and kayak are perfect for an activity. The gym is small and rusty and is located in the same game room where videoke and billiards are. The staff are friendly, nice and professional and attentive. Total experience for us was enjoyable and relaxing which we needed that moment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I am VERY TORN about what rating to give Alegre, please read below and I think it will become clear why.

This resort is beautiful, well managed, one of their best attributes is their staff -- they are friendly, knowledgeable and go the extra mile for their guests. For example, they only have one restaurant and unless they have a BBQ, they have a limited menu. We found that if you ask, the Chef will always try to accommodate special lunch/dinner requests. The wait staff really tried to please everyone -- for example if you say you like certain tables, they will reserve them for you without you even asking.

Our room was spacious, it is a bit dated though. There were tons of spider's and their webs in the bathroom -- so kind of gross!

The beach is beautiful, snorkeling was great they have a fairly good stock of snorkeling and diving gear. Only one jet ski though.

When you leave the Cebu airport and pass over the bridge, you will have to travel on about a 90 minutes to 2 hours of a nail-biting journey to and from the resort. There are cars, bikes, motorcycles, buses, pedestrians and dogs all over the road. Sadly, when we got into the van to leave Alegre, I asked the driver to please be careful and drive slowly as we had plenty of time to get to the airport and please watch out for the dogs. Not 10 minutes into our drive, he hit and ran over a beautiful healthy dog -- we heard the screams of the poor creature and those on the road, it was traumatic for all and it ruined what should have been a wonderful vacation. The only real blame I can assign to the driver is that he never even thought about slowing down.

My suggestion to the resort is to use a boat to bring guests to and from the resort, this will avoid what can only be described as an unpleasant journey through a very impoverished area.

Room Tip: If you go with friends, you might want to try for connecting rooms. Our room was a beach front, at the very end of the resort -- so no one was walking past our room. This resort has a LOT of stairs, and they are steep, so if you have any trouble walking you should work with the resort on your room location being close to the pool/beach/restaurant.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Exactly what we were looking for. Quiet and very scenic location. Even though they were fully booked we felt as if we were almost the only ones there. Upon arrival we were met with a cold wet cloth to cool off with and a cold drink. We received a free upgrade to an ocean view room. The room was spacious with good air conditioning and very hot water.
The staff was very professional and very attentive to our needs. The staff at the restaurant, especially Serlyn, John & Christine, were very professional and made us feel as though they were our personal staff.
The grounds were very clean and beautifully manicured. Highly recommend the snorkeling and dinner on the beach. A little pricey perhaps, but a good deal for USA standards.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fatherowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Major changes have occurred this resort recently, all the Bar, dining area and some other building, have been destroyed then rebuilt in a new fashion style, less Native and less local....more like in any luxury Hotel in Cebu, which I find a pitty. Before it was going back in time, and entering a "colonial" resort....I loved it.
The resort is 2 hours drive North of Cebu city, by private car ($60), and applies the same rates and prices for food as 5 stars luxury Hotel in the center of town, like Radisson, Marriott and Marco Polo, which is unfair in my opinion.
For breakfast, Radisson and Marco Polo have a 100m exquisite perfect long buffet, dozens of cooks working on it, and it's worth Php 800/pp. Here ar Alegre, it's a small boring and disappointing breakfast buffet, charged the same price. 1 cook and few waiters.
Dinner and Lunch are a bit better. The pool is great, as long as the beach and watersports. But don't expect affordable stuff, except great discount for Room rates in July.
2 nights would be too short of a stay, 10 too long. 5 days to a week seems the correct timeframe to enjoy this remote expensive place.

Room Tip: take the rooms close to the beach or the restaurant. We are at the very far end, and it an issue, especially with kids.....
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnjoyPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews