We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great despite the distance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alegre Beach Resort
Ranked #81 of 222 Hotels in Cebu Island
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It's a great alternative to the Mactan resorts if you're up for a 3-hour drive North of Cebu. Rooms are excellent and while getting to the reception area will have expectations lowered, the room layout will wow. Beach front, overlooking view, appealing design and great service are the top items appreciated here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Ryan816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

I will just summarise pros and cons:
Pros:
-spectacular nature/sea views
-fantastic views on the sea and beach from restaurant
-beautiful surroundings
-nice garden
-very quiet
- attentive staff
Cons:
-far from Cebu city and difficult transportation
-very expensive hotel taxi
-rooms need refurbish including bathroom, furniture, appliances, shower, etc.
-noisy air-cons
-ants in rooms
-very limited selection of food and no other dining options around the resort

Room Tip: Make sure you don't come here on solo. Better have own transportation. a good place for couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The Good:
- secluded area, great beach and pool, warm and friendly service, not too crowded a resort
- huge room and bathroom, generous balcony
- free sunset boat ride with complimentary food and beverage

The Bad:
- Poor maintenance of rooms. Airconditioner in our room conked out twice. Repair guys stayed in our room 2 hours to fix it the second time. Rooms could really use a good facelift and renovation.
- Food could be better. Considering the out of the way location, chances are you'll be eating in all the time. Prices are 5star but quality of food just ordinary
- Given it's outdoorsy setup all sorts of creatures and crawlers find their way into the balcony and room.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoove11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a quiet, romantic and comfy getaway from it all. From the time you arrived from the long trip cuz we took a detour and drove ourselves...we were given a welcome drink. And shown our room cottage. Well...it's quite a bit of a walk on rough ground as it is part of the charm of the walkway. But if you're an elderly guest on a wheelchair...I dunno you'll probably have a bumpy ride all d way to your cottage. So you have to be MOBILE.

The cottage itself has all the amenities telephone, fridge, jacuzzi, shower, walk in closets. Except the tea & coffee making facilities were sparse not as expected of a resort this class. Wifi is excellent. But it was a quiet weekend. No traffic. Few guests. And one last thing the linen had a smell, of body odor.....very faintly..I detected it as I covered up with the sheets. Seldom come across that smell...

We availed of their massage which is par excellence. It was a quiet nice ritual for a couple. They were good. Just make sure TO TELL D MASSEUSE how much pressure to apply DECREASE OR INCREASE. Don't be Shy. Or you'll be sorry later.

Food on the menu is limited and at hotel prices or a lil bit less. Portions are generous enough. Salad choices were limited maybe because of the remoteness & quiet season. The breakfast in the morning is generous and offers more choices. Well just continental and Filipino breakfast plenty of fruit and cereal.

I couldn't go to the beach as I had skin irritations from the Sun exposure. What a waste!


Overall the trip was a success.

The bath salts was a welcome thoughtful gesture for use of the jacuzzi. Thanks.

Room Tip: Cottages advertised as private garden, aren't exactly private as it's shared with the next c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkwink_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Best place to relax and enjoy the beach. Not crowded like most resorts and the view is spectacular. We stayed at Cabana #10 and the sunrise view at the balcony is great. Excellent and friendly staff. Well maintained facilities. It has a more natural and traditional beauty. Food is excellent but it does take a lot of time to prepare and brought to your table. At least you know it's fresh. I will definitely visit again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I am a bit torn about what to write about this Hotel.

The service is very good or one of the best we have ever experienced. Everyone is polite and we felt very welcome and safe.

We love the look of the new restaurant and the view. But 20 songs on repeat for two weeks is a headache!
The pool needs some updating. It could be an oasis but it is not inviting to swim or soak in. The beach is nice and there is lots of fish to snorkel along with. The service is also perfect and everyone around is polite.

We were not a fan of the restaurant food. We are used to travel the whole world and the restaurant does not ad up with the feel of the resort. And it was the food that ruined the rest of the vacation. One of us got serious food poisoned after eating from the restaurant and was hospitalized the morning after in Cebu. We ended up staying in Cebu for a few days to recover and the led to that we had to cancel our stay in Dubai for the rest of the vacation.

At our big surprise the resort charged for the food provided during the stay, even tough someone got seriously ill because of the food. We have never heard of this before.

Hospital was expensive and we lost the rest of the vacation because of dirty food the hotel provided. A termination of the whole restaurant bill is the least we expect from a resort we have stayed at and spent our money at for two weeks.

If the hotel showed some remorse about the fact that they food poisoned someone the rating would ended up somewhere higher. They provided nurse and smiles. But that did not save our vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank VikingsEnjoyingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I chose this resort after reading many of the reviews on trip advisor. There was one which wasn't so good but there always is! Anyway, it seemed to tick all the boxes and so we booked. We weren't disappointed and will definitely recommend it to friends (though, only good ones!) and will come back soon. The driver was there to collect us from the airport and the van was very clean. The journey time was about 1 n half hours, no hassle. We were greeted warmly and the check in was smooth. We loved the cabana straight away. Nice large veranda looking out to sea-we paid a bit extra for a sea view which was worth it. The room had a large bathroom n a fantastic shower. The aircon was great too as were the comfy beds, thick matresses n quality pillows. The service throughout our stay made us feel like we were the only people staying here...Serlyn, July, Daisy were all so friendly and efficient-thank you! The new restaurant sits high above the sea with terrific views at breakfast time...sometimes it was difficult to leave! Te resort seemed quiet, some days there were only 2 or 3 others on the beach. Sadly we are leaving tomorrow but we will be back soon. One suggestion to management would be to expand the menu for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Room 8 was lovely. Ocean view and a short walk to the beach. The more expensive rooms have a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwyndaviesmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
32.1 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 92 in Cebu City
1,354 reviews
5.4 mi away
Las Flores
Las Flores
#54 of 222 in Cebu Island
97 reviews
33.3 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Remigio
58 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hagnaya Beach Resort and Restaurant
34.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#8 of 43 in Mactan Island
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegre Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegre Beach Resort

Address: Calomboyan | PO Box 1094, 6007, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cebu Island
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cebu Island
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range: £131 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alegre Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alegre Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegre Beach Hotel Cebu
Alegre Beach Cebu
Alegre Beach Resort Philippines/Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing