We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Wellcome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellcome Hotel
Ranked #65 of 213 Hotels in Cebu Island
U.S.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I would recommend Wellcome Hotel since it is only 6 months old and comes with a free breakfast. The only downside is that if you bring a wifi netbook or wifi tablet there is no wifi in the room but you do have wifi access in the lobby. If you bring a laptop the front desk will let you use the cable for lan access. Don't walk down the road that leads to the 7-11 next to Tune Hotel at night since there are quite a few billyboys,(trasvestites), that hang around that road as soon as the sun goes down. A short taxi ride to the entertainment area on Mango Ave.

Room Tip: The best things about Wellcome Hotel is the free breakfast buffet and friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cblt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    91
    49
    7
    5
See reviews for
69
60
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Wonderful hotel just 10 mins walk away from Ayala Terraces Cebu.
Room prices were affordable and staff were really courteous, friendly and helpful.
Need a cab? No worries, staff will assist to book a taxi for you at the time of your choice.
They have excellent service!
Breakfast was just nice, served with tea or coffee.

The best part was we celebrated my sister's birthday here and when we planned a surprise party for her, Wellcome Hotel made the experience a very memorable one. They agreed to make all the arrangements including decorations and purchasing my sister's favorite cake prior to our arrival. Everything was coordinated through e-mail without hassle. When we arrived everything was set and our sister was very delighted.

Thank you Wellcome Hotel! I will definitely stay here again when I return to Cebu!

This hotel feels like a home away from home!

Room Tip: Any room will do but those on the 3rd level are closest to the pool and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellcomestaff, Public Relations Manager at Wellcome Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Maam/ Sir. We were so glad to hear those positive comments from you. Your comments not only invigorate us, but also pushes us to serve you better, next time around. We really make it a point to try each day to go the extra mile to serve our customers. We are not like the giant hotels around us, but as far and as much as we can, we "find ways".

For the internet, we really optimize what we can extend to our guest without asking any additional fee for it but the property is entirely dependent on the infrastructure that's available to us from the providers. We are still hoping they can improve their infrastructure in the near future, as they require a certain volume of sure customers before they lay additional cables - an investment assurance. But it is still a wonder, though, because according to several guests, one best-selling OTA recommended the hotel to them as the hotel with the "best free internet connection" in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I was staying in this hotel for one night recently and overall were happy for my stay.
It's a little on the side street but during day time 5 minutes walk from Ayala Mall, but during night time I wouldn't walk as the shortcut will go through small road which looks pretty dark. Better to take a taxi which will only cost like 60PHP.

They accommodated my request for booking although I didn't pay anything at all in advance and check-in was still pretty easy and fast.

I had two beds in a room which was a little small, but otherwise as the hotel is new, it was cozy and the balcony (although not a special view) was a great add-on. I noticed that the rooms are not very well soundproofed and you can here noise from other rooms and from the hallway. Water pressure in the shower was a little low but hot water was enough.

During my time there was no taxis stationed at the hotel which you would normally expect, but the guard was very helpful on looking for on and the main street is about 100m away were taxis are passing by all the time so getting a ride shouldn't be a problem.

I have no idea about WiFi as nothing was informed upon check-in and I was using my cellphone connection for some emailing only and it worked fast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Our group decided to try out the Resto at the mezzanine of this newly-opened hotel. Food was on the spicy side but delicious and well-presented. I had the popular beef stew and the serving was big enough for me to share with hubby who opted for lasagna. The owner came to meet us and toured us around the hotel for a look-see. The rooms are very well-furnished and well-thought of in design. The 2 elevators are located in the opposite ends of the building to avoid over-crowding. The swimming pool is small but has a sunbathing area in the upper level overlooking the pool. The beauty and hair salon of Franck Provost will open soon in the ground floor across the petite lobby. Parking for about 8 cars is provided in the basement to augment the limited parking in front of the entrance. For spa lovers, there is a spa right next to the hotel. Room rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cebuana51347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

You will get the best of what you paid for. Great location - can get a cab so easy. walking distance to major establishments and Ayala Center is just stone throws away. Very friendly staff - they treat you with warmth and hospitality. Like you are a member of their family. From frontdesk, to housekeeping, to F&B and to security. Best value for money and bfast is very good. Their ngohiong is a must-try. Very clean hotel. Big rooms and comfy bed and pillows. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: if you want easy access to the pool, choose 3rd flr rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank momclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellcomestaff, Front Office Manager at Wellcome Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hope you can visit us again, sometime soon, Maam. Regards from the staff and all of us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
0.1 mi away
MJ Hotel and Suites
MJ Hotel and Suites
#27 of 87 in Cebu City
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#29 of 87 in Cebu City
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Prince Hotel & Suites
Golden Prince Hotel & Suites
#26 of 87 in Cebu City
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
#17 of 87 in Cebu City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellcome Hotel

Property: Wellcome Hotel
Address: 18 Molave St. | Escario-Kamputhaw, 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 213 Hotels in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellcome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in the heart of Cebu City's Central Business District, WellCome Hotel is the ideal vantage point for one's excursions around Cebu or the region. The hotel is located just a few meters from Cebu's Ayala Mall and the nearby public transport station that provides access to most of Cebu's important points of interest and attractions. This modern hotel is in the area of the circle of hotels - where tourists and visitors to the city primarily seek accommodation. The hotel is also near Cebu's I.T. Park, convention centers, Mango Avenue and all the favorite hang-outs for locals and tourists seeking fun and exhilaration.WellCome Hotel is committed to ensuring that one's stay is as comfortable as possible, offering hotel guests with superior services and a broad range of amenities. Guests of the hotel can actually avail of on-site options, such transfers to the airport and seaport, tours, a restaurant, Wi-Fi in public areas, concierge, coffee shop, and massage. The hotel's outdoor pool is a favorite spot to unwind and a way to enjoy one's stay in the country's Queen City of the south.Step into any of the property's 68 inviting guest rooms and escape from the day's stress with a wide range of amenities, ranging from kitchens in choice rooms, balcony/terrace at the lower floors, refrigerator-mini bar, interconnecting rooms in certain room pairs, and internet access for free wherever available. Whatever is the purpose of one's visit and with unmatched value for the money, WellCome Hotel will always be an excellent choice for one's stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotelopia, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wellcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellcome Hotel Philippines/Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing