We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, friendly atmosphere”
Review of Kiwilodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kiwilodge Hotel
Ranked #45 of 221 Hotels in Cebu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

stayed here in july 2013 in a standard room in the old wing, and will stay again in november 2013 in the new wing. i enjoyed the kiwi, and the breakfast (although the brewed coffee, though good, was a little pricy), and the restaurant area. this place is completely functional, the price is right for the location in cebu city, and the staff was terrific. this is neither a fancy hotel nor a budget inn. it is a midrange hotel, plain and simple. you will not be disappointed if this is what you think you are booking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xrcjdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed twice at the Kiwilodge Hotel on route to and from Siargao! The rooms and building are simple Asian style hotel, (basic yet functional) my rooms had good air conditioners and fans! The first room had a slightly more basic bathroom but the second one was perfect.
I left my big bag in storage whilst I went island hopping for free! Food is good at the bar/restaurant and the staff friendly. Nothing is a problem for the reception staff, taxis on command, even an eight hour laundry service!!!
There is a new 7/11, pharmacy, coffee shop and ATM all in the same complex less than two minutes walk away.
I feel it is also closer to the airport than other Cebu city accommodations. It's also walking distance to SM mall maybe 10 to 15. mins max on foot! Taxi to the Ayalla Mall and Mango hotspots, but all under 100 Peso's. Overall this place is a winner!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a pleasure when you have very helpful staff that are really concerned about one's wellbeing. They would not allow us to walk to the shops but escorted us there and back. The food is really great home cooked grub and the fish and chips are to die for. The price is right and we stayed only one night but well worth it

Room Tip: Ask the staff to turn on the AC when you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have stayed at Kiwi 6 times in last 5 years.I will be going back this year as well.The beds have a real mattress,not just a pad.The food is very good ,I especially liked fish & chips.The service is allways fast & friendly.I have read that they don't like Americans,I think that it is more there way of being direct rather than hostility..
The only complaint I have is the AC in the new rooms is too small for the room. My last visit I booked the super deluxe room,it did not feel cool.I changed to an older room,with a much better coolong system.
Sorry to hear Dick is selling the place.It won't be the same without him

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of June, the staff are helpful, the rooms are all New or refurbished, the location is central to SM & Ayala Malls. The Fish & Chips are the best in the
Philippines and the restaurant menu has many good selection options.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andi6944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I'm an ex-pat permanently living in Dumaguete, and Kiwi is usually my choice for where to stay when I'm in Cebu. I regularly take the family to Cebu, and we generally stay at Kiwi - it feels familiar to me, and the staff is quite good taking care of people.
I like it because it literally is a few minutes to SM (little longer to Ayala for some reason - traffic?), and the value is good.
I especially like how the boys out front ensure you get a cab, and I feel like they are observant that we won't be "taken for a ride". Thats important to me when travelling with the family.
Food is quite good, western style, with very generous portions. The meat pies are outstanding.

Room for improvement:
- Ok, probably nit-picking & not everyone's gonna care, but I'm a tea drinker at breakfast - the mugs seem awfully small. Would be nice to have a bigger mug - doesn't cost the restaurant much (extra hot water) and still can use 1 tea bag.
- Checking out sometimes seems to take a long time even if they aren't that busy. Really wish it could be streamlined somehow.
- Some of the aircons are aging at this point, could use a bit of an upgrade in some rooms.
- Also, sorry, but have to disagree about the taxis "knowing where the hotel is". My experience is many have no idea where the hotel is - although the airport taxis seem to know. Strongly recommend you take a business card from out front when you check in that has a map to hotel on the back. Picture's worth a thousand words :-) Probably not a lot mgmt can do about this...

Will I stay here again? Absolutely. Although I have a few suggestions for improvement, you will have a hard time improving on the value at Kiwi.

Room Tip: Get one of the newer rooms - you'll pay a little more I think, but the older rooms are getting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Terrible food! Breakfast with endless coffee taste more water than coffee. Food generally is to fatty and with no taste!
Noisy outside of the rooms! Night time as well in the morning!
Been at this hotel about 60 times but now I never go back there again!
Services is getting more worse for every year!
Not worth the price for the rooms!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Very sorry to hear your concerns. Especially from someone who has stayed with us many times.
Firstly the noise, unfortunately May is Fiesta time and yes I agree with you it gets very noisy but unfortunately not a lot we can do about this.
Coffee, The instant coffee comes in packs as you know maybe they have reduced the amount, just ask for two sachets. If it is our brewed coffee, the only thing I can suggest there is that the machine has been reset somehow and I am finding out about this now.
Fatty breakfasts, Kitchen has been told about this in the past and my apologies to you I have addressed this issue.
Bland food is a mystery and I invite you to email me direct at dick.dunlop@gmail.com with the dishes you had a problem with.
Lastly our problem with service, again I would love you to email me with any further details you may have so I can deal with this issue.
Many thanks for taking the time to place this review, at the moment I am in NZ getting medical treatment and would appreciate an email direct to me so I can get these issues really taken care of.
Kind regards
Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
1.6 mi away
Main Hotel and Suites
Main Hotel and Suites
#27 of 221 in Cebu Island
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#5 of 91 in Cebu City
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#20 of 91 in Cebu City
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 91 in Cebu City
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Citi Park Hotel
Citi Park Hotel
#17 of 91 in Cebu City
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#9 of 91 in Cebu City
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwilodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwilodge Hotel

Address: 1060 G. Tudtud Street | Mabolo, 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range: £19 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwilodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very central location in Cebu City, rooms have air con, ceiling fan, fridge, en-suite bathroom with hot and cold shower, cardio fitness center, business center, skydeck, open to below garden, HD Cable TV, flat screen LED tv and full 24 hr security with plenty of parking, very close to the two main malls SM city Cebu and Ayala center cebu and the harbor.. Bar-Restaurant opens at 7am with free wifi and serves great free breakfast along with many European Favourites like Fish and Chips, Beef Stews, Roast Dinners, etc. Always cold beer on hand. All the taxi drivers know us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Kiwilodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Hotel Cebu City
Kiwilodge Hotel Philippines/Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing