We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captivating Sentosa and Kids friendly!”
Review of Capella Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capella Singapore
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Dear All

Capella Sentosa is fantastic. Its our first trip and we stayed in the one bedroom villa with seaview for six nights. We travelled as a family with my wife, my son who is 3 years old and a 6 month old baby.
The Colonial facade of the main buidling was beautiful, reminiscent of the by-gone era of English Colonial rule and exclusiveness. What impresses me the most was how thoroughly modern was the interior of the building and not to mention the exquisite decor. The furnishing was uncluttered and ambiance was devine. Behind the colonial facade was a modern building housing accomodation rooms, auriga spa, Knolls restaurant, Casia Chinese restaurant and the fantastic open space bar known as the Rob's bar.
Breakfast at Knoll's was just brilliant with a wide selection of Asian and Western choices. The staff was friendly, efficient and can't seem to do enough for you. We had lunch and Dinner at Cassia. Cassia serves modern Cantonese style cuisine. Food was top notch but had prices to match, which I was happy to pay. If you charge high prices, you have to make sure you deliver in all aspects and Cassia delivered in spades.
The Rob's bar offers a perfect open lounge bar with pool beds for you to put your feet up and enjoy a nice cool refreshing alcoholic drink with friends. A couple of my old school mates teamed up with me for a nice night cap one night.
The resort has a three tier pool, two for lazying around in with friends or family and another 25 m lap pool.The Villa was a good size and the plunge pool was great allowing us to use it when our baby was asleep. The villas are situated North side of the resort and nestled in beautiful lush tropical surroundings. Wonderful!
The resort is very private and we hardly run into other guests which was what we had hoped for. It is located in Sentosa Island which had undergone a tremendous transformation over the last few years. Plenty to do with the kids now. Songs of the Sea was a fanstastic performance. Buy tickets early. Capella helped us out with the acquisition. Palawan beach was 10 minutes walk down from Capella. Very accessible.
We will definitely return and in fact, my wife and I were planning our next trip back whilst on the flight back to Australia.

Room Tip: Go for the Villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

We are all very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Capella, and even more ecstatic to hear that you are already planning a return trip. It may be interesting to note that the British colonial buildings you mentioned in your letter were built by the British military two years after Fort Siloso in 1880, and were beautifully restored after more than 130 years. The fusion of architecture from the past and present along with a rain forest, and the closeness of the South China Sea makes Capella a very unique and gratifying experience. It is an oasis designed to pamper and de-stress even the most weary traveler, so don't wait too long in Australia before returning for another treatment. We will be waiting especially for you and your family, and promise to make memories you will forever savour.

Warm Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Lovely couples vacation spot. We stayed in a one bedroom villa with a plunge pool. Chaise lounge for two in the living room, iPod dock and great sound throughout the villa, bedside controls for all the lights and blinds, spacious bathroom with outdoor jetted tub. It was a perfect get away from the hustle of Singapore - absolutely quiet, no traffic noise. The staff was unobtrusive but yet always there when you needed something. 2 Cons (very small): all beverages are way overpriced, even for Singapore (think $20USD for a bottle of Pellegrino) and if you leave any food out anywhere in your villa ants will quickly appear (like anywhere in the tropics).

Room Tip: No noise in the one bedroom villas and the plunge pools are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivingInNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

UNBELIEVABLE !!

Arriving 29. of January at Singapore Airport at 17:00 pm: Henry, the Hotel-Driver is still waiting for us and helping in different handlings like money exchange etc.

17:30 pm reaching the Hotel, Patrick, a hotel manager already waiting, introducing the hotel-facilities, room etc. and handles the check in: fast and competent.

18:00 pm: already at Palawan Beach, swimming in the South China Sea.

19:00 pm : The german cook Philipp fulfils any desire ( for instance preparing austrian escalope for 7 years aged Sven, difficult to get in Singapore). Every day he comes to our table, discussing our wishes. (and we have a lot: thank you Philipp).

21:00 pm : proceeding to the Bar: lying in a double bed similarly chair/bed, enjoing some drinks...

Writing on in this way untill today, we`ll get a little book. so later more.

Because Ben from Bali is still waiting for serving our breakfast and Sven pushes forward for feeding the peacocks their breakfast.

I muchly enjoy the sensitive and sophisticated service of the several balinese employees.

Until next time (some more unbelievable things)

Erich & Sven

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our family spent a weekend in this resort, it was the best option amongst all the hotels around for a quiet and peaceful retreat.
Our 8 years old found other children in the resort and spent most time in the pool, yet parents like us could still chill with a book without the rowdy crowds you find in other hotels.
We were walked to the nearby beach with a pathway access from the resort. After a session of sand play, we walked back to the resort's poolside for some snacks and beverages.
Poolside service was impressive. We especially loved the breakfast spread. The presentation was beautiful and we all found many comfort items to fill our cravings.

We strolled around the resort and by noon were greeted by a resident peacock. It was afraid of people and we were able to capture close pictures of it. Unfortunately, we were patient enough to wait for it to show case it's colorful tail!

Would definitely return for another chill short retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your short retreat with us, and would plan another visit. Many guests have also commented on the absolute serenity of our location because it is such a transition from the noisy traffic and overwhelming crowds of the city that the lack of noise is almost breathtaking. Our three pools are unlike any others in Singapore, and because they are layered and spread over a wide area, it reduces noise, and allows parents to quietly read their favorite book while enjoying a cold beverage from our extensive drink menu. The beach is also a very nice distraction because it is only a short walk, and it gives one the feeling of a remote island retreat. It also stokes the appetite, so the poolside snacks and beverages are even more of a treat after the return trip. I'm glad you had a chance to see one of many resident peacocks because when they decide it is time to impress the guests, it is quite a beautiful display of colors. So, don't wait too long before you decide it is time to chill again because you deserve it, and we are anxiously waiting to make your next visit an even more memorable experience.

Kind Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

If you are looking for seclusion and relaxation in Singapore - this is the place to be.

We stayed in a room facing the forest and the harbor. The room was spacious and very high-tech. The decoration was simple and very tasteful. The bathroom with the open shower and dark stone floor gave the room a spa-like feel to it. The amenities included anything you could think of and of high quality. We even received baby toiletries for our baby. The huge window and little balcony added to the spaciousness of the room.

The service was great - it seemed like they were always a step ahead of us.

The pool area is perfect for relaxation. There are three infinity-style pools facing the trees. It feels very secluded and calm, which is quite rare in Singapore. And anything you need (from sunscreen to newspapers) you can get there by the pool. The beds are big and very comfortable - they feel like real beds.

The breakfast was very good: a lot of choice of the best cheeses, pastries, sausages and so on.

In short, this is an excellent hotel for relaxation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotatoHead5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at a Pool viila, the pool and garden are too small, Serivce is good, though some staffs don't speak good english. A very nice quiet hotel, but should stay in a suite of the main building instead of the villa

Room Tip: take a suite in the main building rather than a pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mightie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is an long overdue review. I stayed in Capella Sentosa in 2010 and it was such a great experience that I need to share with others.
Old classic outlook but with modern amenities eg fully electronical-controlled curtains (with remote control), large screen flat LCD Tv, auto coffee maker with generous coffee tablets and of course all other basic amenities like toiletries.
My room was facing the garden across the lagoon.
I also love the complimentary tea break where they served nice cakes, pastries and fruits at the tea room.
I definitely would like to come back again ....waiting for good promotion :)
One setback though, very far if want to go to the casino and there was no free shuttle service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LikeToTravel3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#3 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Singapore

Address: 1 The Knolls, Sentosa Island 098297, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range: £333 - £805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ultra-luxury resort situated on Sentosa Island, Capella Singapore transports guests into a setting of ultimate peace and tranquility. Guests can enjoy its onsite, award-winning Auriga spa, three restaurants, as well as the beautiful landscape overlooking the South China Sea. Nearby facilities include a golf course, family and kids-friendly attractions. The hotel is also 10-15 minutes drive away from Singapore's bustling business and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capella Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Singapore Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing