We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Villa, Food, and Surroundings - Excellent!!!”
Review of Capella Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capella Singapore
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Had an incredible start to our honeymoon staying in a pool villa at Capella.

The services was excellent at all times from the moment of check in - personal secretary service excellent to help booking dinners and events.

Locaiton not too much of an issue as Taxis are cheap enought to get around Singapore quickly.

One of the best spa's I have been to.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words that you have taken time to share. We are glad that you enjoyed the tranquility and seclusion that our standalone villas offer. Blessed with 30-acres of lush rainforest, we are able to offer guests the luxury of space with large over-sized accommodation on our extensive grounds and gardens. Capella Singapore truly is the perfect resort escape. It is indeed a pleasure to be able to hear the chirping of the birds or the occasional rustling of the trees in the cooling breeze from the South China Sea, while maintaining proximity to the major shopping districts and city centre. As rightly noted by you, getting around in Singapore does not prove to be a challenge.

I am glad that you were able to experience some of the wonderful services that we have to offer. We do our best to offer the most luxurious services and experiences for all our guests and we will continue to try and exceed your expectations. Thank you again for choosing to spend your honeymoon here at Capella Singapore. I hope to welcome you and your spouse back again soon.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
There are newer reviews for Capella Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

If you are looking for a romantic getaway then look no further than Capella Singapore. It is by far the most scenic, service orientated hotel currently, with the exception for perhaps W Hotel, which just opened recently. However, the atmosphere and rustic surroundings is simply magical.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benamarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed with our 18 month old kid for 4 nights. I was impressed at the outset and high expectations given that the Capella called me a week before to check whether we needed anything specific in order to make arrangements in advance. I asked for a high chair and the usual baby/kid amenities (spare nappies, bath gel, etc). They said they had already made reservations for us at a few restaurants too. Wonderful start and certainly good if not a little slow service. When we checked in we were greeted by our personal assistant who showed us around but we couldn't understand a word of what she was saying. She was unable to understand us too so some of our questions went unanswered.

We stayed in a premier garden view deluxe room (I can't help wonder if that's why we had patchy service). Not big and not very well thought out. There is about 4 feet distance between the foot of the bed and the lounge chair and a massive coffee table in between, which means there is virtually no space to walk to the bathroom. All the furniture in the room is heavy so it's not easy to just move them around. The toilet has a separate door which is not only heavy and huge but difficult to maneouvre when you are in there with a toddler.

Despite calling us in advance (and I called the night before to reconfirm what we would need for our kid so we didn't need to bring them with us), we found none of what I had requested in the room (high chair, baby cot and toilet seat - which we got after 3 requests). No mention of the supposed restaurant resevations made for us either. The following day, I had to wait 20 mins for a drinking straw for our kid (no one seemed to understand what I was asking for), and despite asking twice, and being told it was "on the way" we didn't receive a covered bin (for nappies) or baby wipes (they ran out) when the housekeeping rep arrived at our door. I was amazed that they had no covered bins, given it's a basic hygiene requirement. The personal assistant either failed to understand my request each time i asked for something, or there seemed to be a "miscommunication" every day. Apart from a kids food menu, there is nothing that is kid friendly about the hotel. It's a bit misleading given how the website offers a family package stay. Maybe the best service is reserved for those in villas and manors.

Because of its beautiful scenic setting, it's a popular wedding venue. Best to check in advance if there will be an outdoor wedding party/reception as the music can get pretty loud and there were even fireworks at 9.30pm which disturbed my kid's sleep!

We still enjoyed our stay overall but having stayed at the Mandarin Oriental (a business hotel in the city centre), we found it was more kid friendly (and spacious!) than the Capella. Capella's probably suited to couples only looking for a relaxing vacation.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank ChanaBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is valuable, please rest assure that we are seriously looking into the service lapses that you have mentioned in detail.

The initiative behind the pre-arrival call from our Personal Assistants is to find out if there is anything they can do to help make your stay with us more enjoyable. I am glad our staff was friendly and professional during your stay with us.

The repeated miscommunication you experienced with all the staff that you have been in contact with is rather surprising, and regrettable. We have been taking active measures towards continually enhancing Capella Singapore’s services and have recently added more staff to reduce the wait time for guest requests. We are working on ensuring that even more measures will be taken to ensure the smoothest and most efficient service delivery for all our guests.

Capella Singapore is designed by award-winning master architect Lord Norman Foster, co-founder of the famed architecture firm Foster + Partners with contemporary interiors carefully curated by world-renowned interior designer Jaya Ibrahim, the guest rooms were design with opulence in mind. Standing at 77 sqm in size, our Premier Rooms are the largest lead-in category rooms in the country. Perhaps the next time you stay, you could choose to stay in one of our One Bedroom Garden Villa which are 133 sqm in size and feature a plunge pool and outdoor area.

We definitely welcome families and children and our Personal Assistants would be more than happy to recommend and make arrangements for the numerous children activities that are available around the vicinity of the hotel. The hotel’s beach access point is a short walk to Palawan Beach which includes various tourist attractions suited to children including The Port of Lost Wonder and Skyline Luge Sentosa.

Rest assured that the Capella experience, or standard of service delivery is not determined by the guest’s room category. Our Management and staff aspire to deliver top-notch service to all our guests. Service is a very large part of the Capella experience, and our staff work very hard to maintain the distinguished reputation that only comes with dedication and hard work. But, it is not just a job. Only candidates with a passion for service are especially selected to join the team. It is a very unique quality that makes them a very valuable asset to the hotel. Many guests have written just to express their gratitude to our staff for making their holiday a very personal experience.

For your kind reference, the fireworks that go off at 9:30pm are set off by Universal Studios Singapore. For safety regulations, the hotel is not licensed to use fireworks at all. Guests renting function spaces at Capella Singapore sign a contract which stipulates the strict regulation of sound volumes and timings. The management actively monitors the sound levels from the function spaces, so as to not disturb the other hotel guests in their rooms.
I am glad that despite the issues faced, you were able to enjoy your stay at Capella Singapore. I do hope you will be returning again soon and have more time to explore and enjoy all the wonderful services we have to offer.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed over in Aug 2012 as my birthday celebration. We book the villa and the outdoor plunge pool was lovely to just laze around and munch on chips to relax the afternoon away. Service was top notch and we enjoyed the stay tremendously. Lunch at Cassia was just as impressive, in particular the service of the staffs who was genuinely interested in serving every customer's needs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkyPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Firstly, a very happy belated birthday to you, thank you for choosing to spend this special occasion with us at Capella Singapore. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in the villa and that all our service professionals were perfect hosts to you and your partner. I hope you had a wonderful birthday celebration and that you will return to Capella Singapore again soon!

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed 10 days in Capella, extended my stay for 3 times since my finacee fell in love capella.
Genuine 6 Star service, Ultra attentive in details ( Yes even the slippers size matters to them)

Bob's Bar...Fabulous world class Cocktails (try order Bellini and Lady marniar adn you will know what i am talking about.) Please please ensure the Bar supervisor Shabon is making your cocktails, he is simply genius....

Triny, our personal assistant has predicted our every move and gave us more than we needed.

Room service is Yummy...(hope i didn't break the spagetti bolognese ordering record lol)

The Knolls...please go for the Land and Sea macaroni, it's a must try!!! You might be fighting with the peacocks for food as they are just too delicious that peacocks joined in the fight.

Auriga Spa is a must try...(one of the best spa rated by Forbes) they are truely attentive, it's not just a relaxing experience, it's a mind and body rejuvenating journey you are taking with the spa therapists ( go for the Thai massage, you will have your bones and muscles all re-aligned in the way it should have been)

P.S. For those who complain this place is too quiet...you simply haven't reached the point to appreciate such exclusiveness and tranquility....Top earners around the world paid a huge cost just to keep it that way for privacy, and Capella nailed it.

All in all, joyful, exceptional, and luxurious.
It's not simply a nice hotel...it's a home you wish you stayed for ever.

Will be back in December !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave this glowing testimonial of your experience with us here on Tripadvisor. I am truly very thrilled to know of how thoroughly you and your partner enjoy your stays with us. The details are important to us and creating that unique and worry free experience for all our guests is definitely a priority for us. As for Auriga spa, as Singapore’s first Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Spa, I agree that it is a definite “must try”. I am looking forward to welcoming you and your partner back in December.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This excellent hotel is very suitable for a quiet stay on Sentosa island only 10 minutes from the city of Singapore.
The hotel is situated in a beautifull surroundings with wild peacocks, squirrels, birds and lizzards.
The rooms are very large, well equipped and have a nice view over the garden and/or sea
All the staff is very friendly, helpfull and cooperative.
Service from check-in and check-out expires very professional.
Extended breakfast, lunch and diner in the Knolls are exclusive, specially prepared by spanish chef Cristia.
No complaints, probably the best hotel in Singapore.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeidenRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed for a week in July 2012! Lovely staff, very friendly! Lovely spacious clean apartments. Loved the breakfast buffet in the mornings. The swimming pools were amazing so relaxing! Highly reccommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starkandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#3 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,065 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 316 in Singapore
22,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Singapore

Address: 1 The Knolls, Sentosa Island 098297, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range: £309 - £1,456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ultra-luxury resort situated on Sentosa Island, Capella Singapore transports guests into a setting of ultimate peace and tranquility. Guests can enjoy its onsite, award-winning Auriga spa, three restaurants, as well as the beautiful landscape overlooking the South China Sea. Nearby facilities include a golf course, family and kids-friendly attractions. The hotel is also 10-15 minutes drive away from Singapore's bustling business and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Capella Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Singapore Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing