We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in a tranquil setting on Sentosa Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Capella Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capella Singapore
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Brighton
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Luxury in a tranquil setting on Sentosa Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

​Have just returned from a stay at this hotel, and I can highly recommend this. It is on Sentosa Island, which is Singapore's playground, with different amusements for all ages, including zip wires, wave machines, where you can learn to surf, the cable car, Universal Studio as well as other attractions suitable for all ages.

The Capella is an oasis of calm, and as soon as you enter you are transported into a calm and peaceful space. The hotel is colonial style to look at, however behind the colonial facade, are very modern and spacious rooms, all with views over the gardens, the bay or the pools. There are 3 interlinked pools, so even when the hotel is full, you are never surrounded by lots of people. The spa is also excellent, with a large variety of treatments to chose from. There is a wide option of dining choices, from traditional Singapore cuisine to fine dining European, and the breakfast buffet caters for all tastes.

The Capella hotels all have a private area purely for hotel guests, called the Library, where you can get soft drinks and teas and coffees plus refreshments, anytime of the day, and is a great place to unwind. Your room is peaceful and relaxing, and very well appointed with lots of space to relax and unwind, with a complimentary mini-bar of soft drinks and coffee and tea in your room, you can sit either on your balcony or in your room, through the large picture window, at the South China Seas.

It is hard to realise, when lounging around the pool, or having a relaxing drink in one of the bars, that you are just 5 minutes from lively Sentosa, or 10 minutes in a car from the many delights that Singapore have to offer

Room Tip: A high floor gives you a view over the South China Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDTRAVELBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
It was an absolute delight reading your kind review of Capella Singapore. I am very pleased to know of how much you enjoyed your stay with us, from the luxurious and spacious rooms, to the award-winning Auriga spa, as well as The Library.

With 30 acres of tropical landscape, Capella Singapore is indeed blessed with the luxury of space which allows all our guests the opportunity to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing retreat from the bustling city which is only minutes away.

I am truly happy that you had a wonderful time with us and I hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    202
    72
    34
    19
See reviews for
406
488
43
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

yep, one of the best! located not too far (i.e., taxi ride) from the city center, a great hotel, amazing rooms, delicious breakfast, brilliant staff, exceptionally clean, lovely pools......... I didn't pay for it but i suspect it was very expensive!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank early30_irish_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
I am delighted to know that you consider Capella Singapore as one of the best experiences. Indeed, as you have mentioned, we are a tranquil oasis just minutes away from the vibrant Singapore city.

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed the luxurious rooms, the breakfast spread at The Knolls, and especially the service from our staff.

I hope that you will be back to stay with us at Capella Singapore again soon.

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hotel staff will greet and personally bring you to the room and show you all facilities in the room. I was amazed when step into my room, it's very big suite with sea view. The bed is big enough to sleep in three persons and it's very clean.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better view you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for leaving us this review on Tripadvisor. I am extremely happy to know of how much you liked the room and all its facilities, and especially the view. Located on Sentosa Island, we are very fortunate to be surrounded by 30 acres of lush natural greenery with beautiful views of the South China Sea.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Picked the one bedroom pool villa to celebrate my partner's birthday after a horrific hotel experience in downtown Singapore. I have to say, Capella Singapore has definitely raised the bar for the hotel industry. It is by far, the best stay i've ever had in Asia and Europe. Prior to arrival, the Personal Assistant called to confirm my early arrival request although i was not on a Singapore number. Not only the hotel staff, the staff in the restaurants were equally friendly, extremely helpful and patient. The hotel also arranged a nice little birthday cake for us to be served at dinner. The villa is beautifully designed, technology in the villa is impressive. The bed linen and plunge pool is hard to beat too. The Library is wonderful and we really enjoyed our afternoon tea with the variety of book and magazines available. Food is great in both The Knolls and Cassia. We had guests visiting us and the hotel staff was really nice to take them on the buggy to the carpark to collect the car. I will definitely come back again and spread the good words around. Please keep up with the great work!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spotuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to read about the wonderful experience you had with us at Capella Singapore. We are very honoured to know that you consider us as one of the best experiences in Singapore.

At Capella Singapore, we make it our business to ensure that each of our guests have a very unique and memorable experience with us, whether they are celebrating a special occasion or just here to unwind and relax.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your whole stay with us, from the finishings in the room, to the services offered. Thank you so much for your support and recommending us to your friends. We will certainly do our best to maintain our service standards and experiences.

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I love this hotel as you get the best service in the world.
You have your personal butler and the room is fantastic. High tech rooms with plenty of drinks and also snacks you need.
I love the Library they have. the infinity pool is just great.
Your personal butler will even show you around Capella with their small golf cart and show you different kinds of Villas. It was a nice experience.

When our friend visited they really brought them where we are and that time we were at the gym.
Spa is great. Although this place is a little expensive but you get the best anyway.

Breakfast bufffet is also a little pricey but it was good too.
Plue they have a free shuttle going to vivo city so its very convenient.

I will definitely come back to this hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frauessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for leaving us this lovely review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us, from the facilities in the rooms to the service offered by our staff.

It is great that you were able to try out the award-winning Auriga spa and that you enjoyed the breakfast spread at The Knolls. Indeed Capella Singapore is located very conveniently just minutes away from city.

Thank you for recommending Capella Singapore and I look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

On our way to Bali, we chose to spend a week in Singapore. Prepared in advance with planned the trip all planned, we visited the two hotels . The first one was Capella hotel, where we spent four days, and having read all sorts of tourist reviews, booked two nights at the Marina bay hotel. At the end, visited a third hotel Four seasons, as will attempt to write about in order . As for the Capella hotel, we can confidently say that it is the best in Singapore and one of Asia's best hotels. It is located on the island of Sendosa and resembles not a city hotel , and the hotel is next to the Resort interesting animations for children and the attraction , within 15 minutes from the city center and 10 minutes by foot from the park 'Universal', with free scheduled shuttle that you can as well use. Gorgeous large rooms , impeccable service . Two restaurants, one Italian and second - Chinese, which is considered to be one of the best in Singapore. During these four days, my children, my wife and I got a lot of unforgettable experiences for both the island and the hotel. Although officially the hotel is considered as 5 star hotel, you can argue that it can be safely evaluated by six. The only thing that might be a bit upsetting is the price . The room in the Capella is twice more expensive than in four seasons. But at the same time , with all the good stuff, Capella is really worth the money and even exceeds its price. Since we do not often have a family vacation in Asia , we decided to read a lot of advertising and spend 2 days in the marina bay sands hotel. In order to truly understand the feeling of the hotel, you have to look at the railway station , such as Paddington. Huge hotel with a disgusting service. Lobby as a football field with a crowd of people. We waited for 40 minutes in the cue just to register ! At the end, we found that our rooms are not ready and we have to return in half an hour . Children were hungry, and it seemed reasonable to take them to lunch. Huge buffet which really reminded me of the army camp. A lot of people and the food is not tasty ! I can not rate the service because it was not when we are tired of looking for a manager who would have placed us at the table, we just occupied the first table we considered decent. And we clearly understand that the problem of our food is only our problem, we took plates, filled them with products, which they call food , found a table on where we found drinks and all that. It would not be true to say that the food was unhealthy, it just does not suit the five stars , it's like a huge fast food competing with Burger King at the supermarket and some kids like it, but the bill for the food you get is like in a chic restaurant ! ! After lunch, made ​​another attempt to get our rooms. It cost us another 30 minutes in line. As for the rooms , they are not bad. Not 5 stars , no worse and no better than fs (not possible to compare with Capella, different weight category ) . During the day, we visited the top floor , looked at the pool. Yeah, nice, but not wow . A lot of people , ugly service and so on. We were seven people: my wife and I, 4 kids from 5 to 20 years old and baby sitter for the youngest son . He's a hyperactive and he always enjoys huge crowds , parties , fast food outlets and all that. The opinion of others is from nothing good to disgusting ! It so happened that Singapore was a transit town to Bali. And on the way back home we had booked Marina bay hotel. We canceled the reservation and tried to move into Capella. Unfortunately Capella was fully booked, and so we settled in the Four seasons hotel. I can say nothing about the hotel of that name . It is expected to fs: nice rooms , service , food , location, . Everything is fine , everything is good . Summarizing if the hotel Capella estimate of 20 points , the four seasons I would have given 17 points, and the Marina bay -8.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ivan793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much spending the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to know that we, at Capella Singapore, were able to provide you and your family the best experience during your stay in Singapore.

It is great that you were able to enjoy the luxurious accommodation as well as the Mediterranean restaurant, The Knolls as well as fine dining Chinese restaurant Cassia.

At Capella Singapore we aim to create and proved the memorable experiences for all our guests and it is always a pleasure to read about wonderful experiences such as yours. I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Capella is one the finest places to stay in Singapore, even if you have to travel to the city for shopping or going around - it just takes 15-20 mins to the mall, by taxi.

It was brilliant & luxurious stay, quite calm and surrounded with natural beauty all over. The view of the bay from the room was marvellous - as soon as we entered the room, both of us just said "WOW !!"

The large panoramic windows in the room, with full-length sofa, and the small balcony with a day-bed, and views also from the bathroom make it so much beautiful. Brilliant TV, music system, and other equipment in the room. Service and food were also to match - brilliant. Such a huge range of Gluten-free food was av'ble for b'fast, it was surprising.

Art pieces in and around the hotel are great.

Because of lesser time on hand, we couldn't take massages at the spa, which we really wanted. Next time.

Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Bay-view rooms / suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicCarp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave us this review on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to read about enjoyable time you had during your stay with us, from the luxurious rooms to the great views. It is a pity that you were not able to try the award-winning Auriga spa and all its facilities. I hope that you will get an opportunity to experience it on your next visit!

Thank you for your recommendation, I look forward to welcoming you back to Capella Singapore!

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#9 of 13 in Sentosa Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Singapore

Property: Capella Singapore
Address: 1 The Knolls, Sentosa Island 098297, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ultra-luxury resort situated on Sentosa Island, Capella Singapore transports guests into a setting of ultimate peace and tranquility. Guests can enjoy its onsite, award-winning Auriga spa, three restaurants, as well as the beautiful landscape overlooking the South China Sea. Nearby facilities include a golf course, family and kids-friendly attractions. The hotel is also 10-15 minutes drive away from Singapore's bustling business and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capella Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Singapore Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing