We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose your villa carefully”
Review of Capella Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capella Singapore
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Decided to take the weekend off given our busy work schedules and booked a villa for one night given that it sounded interesting. We drove in at night after work and given the poor lighting, narrowly missed the divider at the sharp bend into the entrance of the hotel. Think would help to improve the lighting at the security booth at the entrance.

Reception was warm, and the villa was great. The room was clean and spacious and we were eager to try out the plunge pool. Everything was up to expectations until we opened to balcony door to the plunge pool and were met with club music blasting from the manor opposite which we think was one of the rooms of the hotel. This was accompanied by the loud revving of sports cars driving to and from the manor. Our sole night of tranquility was ruined by a clubbing party held there and there was no privacy at all. Quite a disappointment and we gave up the evening dip and went indoors to escape the noise.

Advice - check to make sure your villa isn't facing a rowdy party before staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chilledtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,290 - 1,296 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2010

We visited the hotel for brunch on a lazy Sunday. The food was absolutely superb with an ample selection of delicious choices from starters, to seafood, to healthy grilled food and sumptious desserts.
My friends also went to buy some cigars and we had time to enjoy the stunning views on the terraces. We have spend a lazy afternoon for almost 4 - 5 hours! The time flew by and we had an excellent time.
What a great hotel! We will certainly come back and hope to stay next time!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamessz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Amazing resort but the service was disappointing. Room service was depressing. Asking for a HOT bowl of congee seemed a bit too difficult for them - it's just about getting things right the first time. We stayed at a beautiful villa - hygiene and maintanence weren't that great. We slept in stained sheets one night - i'm surprised they even reused them! Our minibar was broken down for two days and was not reported by housekeeping staff. Sometimes, we come home and find certain things not being replenished (water, cream, towels). They tried to make it up to us (they sent us wine, champagne and cheese - but im 7 months pregnant - bless them for trying) but the damage was already done. We asked about the whereabouts of the business center and we had to ask 3 of the staff in the hotel! I found that extremely appalling! The spa is also overrated..it's ok but not outstanding.

As i said, the place is absolutely gorgeous, close to the city but the staff needs to pay more attention to detail when it comes to customer service. You would expect more from Capella.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monijason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We recently spent a week at the Capella Resort and found it perfect. It has beautiful views, is close to the beach and shopping. The resort is across the street from Universal Studios Amusement park and also near a casino. They have a free shuttle to VivoCity which has shopping and provides access to the monorail. They provided us with complimentary 3 day passes to the monorail.
The resort has 2 pools plus a lap pool. The beach is reached by walking past the lap pool and down some stairs. Once on the beach there is a free tram that takes you to Palawan, Tandong and one other beach(I forget the name.)
Each room is equipped with ipod charger and interface with the Bose surround sound system and DVD/CD player. Flat screen TV and choice of room mood lighting. Beds were large and comfortable. Resort has library with books and dvds to borrow. You can sit in the library and enjoy complimentary tea and snacks. They serve port and sherry after 6:30pm.
They have an award winning spa and excellent cuisine although we did not try the Chinese restaurant. In short it was a perfect holiday for all and I can't imagine WHERE the people who gave bad reviews stayed. In certainly wasn't at Capella.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maozhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Capella this week to celebrate a wedding anniversary. The Capella created the Best Hotel Stay in my life. We currently live in Singapore and was amazed how they created this tranquil place within this City/State/Country.

The magical thing about the Capella is their overall service and quality. It is expensive but we got a package that was, comparatively, a great deal ($S649++). Earlier in the week we stayed at the Hilton Orchard (S$400++) which is also a great hotel. However, the Capella hotel was nicer and the package included massages for both of us ($300 value), full breakfast (S$80 value), high-tea with snacks/sandwiches (S$40 value), DVD movies, free refreshments in the room and free wi-fi. The massage facility was blissful and one of the best massages in my lifetime.

The Capella service is exceptional. They contact you before the stay and ask "what can we do to make your stay special?" They booked restaurant reservations, had a bottle of wine in the room for our anniversary celebration, will put special drinks in your room fridge, supply a movie to watch and even change the color of robe. The hotel team knows you by name and takes the time to converse with you whenever possible. It was like hanging out with friends.

I can't say enough nice things about the Capella. I travel extensively and stay in many hotels around the world. My wife had to almost demand that we stay at the Capella, while I thought the price was excessive. Now I am raving about the place to all my friends and already trying to find an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikekSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Stayed at Capella for a conference and must say this time I even find it worth it - the first time for me - to write a short review to really compliment the Hotel. As seasoned traveler I do indeed know what 5-star stands for but Capella has set a new bench mark here in the region and will now become my favorite hotel. The negative reviews made are not doing this amzing city hideway justice and must have been written for some silly reason. Capella really lives up to the expectation for anyone who values luxusry by all means. Having only attended a conference I will soon be back with my family to spend more time....Great!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Stayed at Capella for a couple of days to attend a meeting which i usually traveling all over the world. I must say this time it was different and worth even starting to write a review which I usually never do. Capella deserves a special mentioning and credit for what it is and what they are....the team is great, service is as expected (amazing) and teh property is something to consider to even bring your family along even if you are on business. So all in all a place where I will return too for sure. AMAZING!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Businesstraveler025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,067 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Singapore

Address: 1 The Knolls, Sentosa Island 098297, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range: £325 - £886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ultra-luxury resort situated on Sentosa Island, Capella Singapore transports guests into a setting of ultimate peace and tranquility. Guests can enjoy its onsite, award-winning Auriga spa, three restaurants, as well as the beautiful landscape overlooking the South China Sea. Nearby facilities include a golf course, family and kids-friendly attractions. The hotel is also 10-15 minutes drive away from Singapore's bustling business and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Capella Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Singapore Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing