We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My first impression of the hotel was great. It was very modern and the room is quite large. The bed was comfortable although the pillows could have been better. Not sure if you are able to swap them out for other ones as I did not try but a lot of these hotels will let you.

Unfortunately the air-conditioning unit is quite loud. Not so loud that it wakes you up, but it takes a while to get used to when you're trying to get to sleep.

Make sure that you push the door closed. If you just let it go, it will not shut properly. We slept with the door open one night as we did not realize this!

The only really bad thing about the hotel is that we came home one night and there was a disgusting smell coming from the bathroom. We have no idea what it was but it smelled like a sewer and there were flies flying around in there as well. Really strange. The smell disappeared after the air conditioning had been on for about 10-15 minutes.

Service was good, although a bit slow.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrystalDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

Hotel Michael is well located with easy accessibility to the Festive Walk, Sentosa Express Waterfront Station (light rail system), Universal Studio and of course, the casino.

As its name implies, the hotel is supposed to be accentuated with Michael Graves' signature designs, which to some, the colour scheme and design of the room interiors might seem rather dated.

Pool is too small to our liking and we took the kids along the shopping strip connecting Hotel Michael with Hard Rock Hotel to use the pool there instead. While inconvenient, the pool at Hard Rock Hotel was worth the walk to and fro.

We chanced upon a last minute hotel deal and booked a room at a very good rate. For the price we paid, we found the hotel acceptable and value for money. Anything more, we would rather pay for other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CD_Tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed in Hotel Michael from Sunday, 3rd June to Tuesday, 5th June. Stay was marred by refurbishment works which started on Monday from 10.00 am to 7.00 pm. Stayed in Room 0633. The noise was concentrated around that area. Would advise anyone who is going to stay at the hotel to avoid Rooms 620 /720/820 onwards.
Question is why the hotel did not warn guests beforehand or at least close these rooms until the refurbishment works are completed.
The rooms with odd numbers face the Crockfords Tower, Lake of Dreams, The Forum and the Bull Ring areas.
Rooms with even numbers face the Sentosa Express track.
Realised that there is not much to do around other than going to the casino, which I don't. Food prices are expensive and most dining areas close by about 11.00 pm except for one or two dining areas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edcin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Nice room, comfortable bed but not 5 stars standard yet. Swimming pool is small, luckily we are allow to use the pool in hard rock hotel. Room service not efficient, and lobby too small.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed here twice on 2011 on a business trip. The check in process was really inefficient, takes like 1 hour until i get a card key to my room.. very small reception area with only a few chairs around, while there are crowd of tour group there at the same time. really turns me off at the first impression.
The room was quite big with bright colors and cartooned design, give a modern sleek ambiance.. Also has a small balcony with thick dust on its floor and hand railings, facing a monorail, a bathroom with no bath tub. and i was shocked that after 10 or 11 PM they don't provide a room service.. Whatt??? frankly it was my first experience at a 5 star hotel that doesn't serve in room dining after 10 PM. So i have to go outside around 12 am looking for something to eat. luckily theres a 7 eleven convenient store that have warm meals which open 24 hours nearby.

The swimming pool is too small for hotel with that size, no one seems to be interested to swim at the pool. Hard rock hotel pool next door was much better than this

The breakfast is so so.. once again not as extensive and tasty as other 5 star hotels in town

All in all, it was a big disappointment for me, and there are couple 5 star accommodation nearby which i'm sure much better than this

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVDRamschie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed there recently in May 2012, but was a bad experience not staying this hotel again. Booked 2 rooms arrived bit early for check-in at about 12.30pm, approach the counter find there is 3 counter 2 at the side & 1 main at centre. but there is no sign reception only stated cashier & concierge. Check with the staff at the lobby "where is the check in counter, the lady directed me to the side counter on right. No greeting, no smile from the staff looks bit cool to me. during the check in the staff mention that the room is not ready & the room is ready only at 3pm. well understand the policy, requested to have abit early as we travel with family n young child taking 2 rooms if posible they able to get ready 1 room for us first but keep say no room and they try to get the room by 2.30pm. Fine then me & my family when for our lunch first. back to counter at 2.30pm to get our room. we expected at least 1 rooms should be ready for us, but the lady staff mention both room are not ready reason given you ask for a connection room. so checked what time the room should be ready again mention after 3pm subject to the availablility... (what is the difference between 2.30pm to 3pm) Again i spoken to the staff, i have registed at 12.30pm after 2 hours not even 1 room is ready for my family??? i asked what shell i do wait and any place to occupied the kids. the answer given no have to waitttt...... So what type of services is this, that the paying guest have to wait for the room thats no ready... not even border if the travel with young kid that running, crying at lobby.. they not even provide drinks for guest who wait in lobby... after request to see the manager, then only the staff said there is room at level 8 connection room but there is renovation going on??? asking whether we willing to stay.. i asked can we check in first if let say is noise then we will deside later on room changing. the reply was we are running high once stay no chainging??? SO DO I HAVE A CHOICE??? checked in to level 8, floor abit noise as renovation on going ok we accepted due to no other rooms. when in the room but find the room was not proper clean still got things left behind from previous guest. Services is Suck/ no services at all. Compared to our previous stayed at sentosa we still prefer to stayat Hard Rock Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cjoelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I reserved 2 non-smoking rooms with double bed via a travel agent and hoped for a enjoyable stay with my friends (two couples together) in Sentosa/Singapore for 5 days in May 2012. We arrived in late afternoon and was told that only rooms with twin bed were available.

We were disappointed but the staff of the front desk promised to find the rooms for us on the next day. When we waited for half an hour at the front desk because a tour guide helped a dozen of their clients to check-in. We witnessed that the staff went to meet her supervisor when the guide requested 2 rooms with double bed when the same situation happened.

However, the guide got the rooms with this special arrangement and we were told that all the rooms with double bed would not be available for the rest of our stay. How come the hotel has such a lousy arrangement?

They should not accept our reservation and money when they cannot gaurantee our booking and should not deceive us again. All of us would not choose any hotel in the resort world again because of their poor management.

Room Tip: Don't book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveler7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
0.3 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#3 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael

Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway Resorts World Sentosa, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Price Range: £90 - £956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious treat for art lovers, Hotel Michael is designed by one of America's greatest contemporary architects - Michael Graves. This boutique hotel bears the designer's elegant and distinctive touches, from lamps and crockery to furnishings and the decor. You will also enjoy a myriad of conveniences, and a short walk to the various attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing