We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 5* and a throwback to the 90ies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Reviewed 22 May 2013

As a last minute gift from a friend, we decided to go on a staycation at the Hotel Michael. The package included tickets to Universal Studios, S.E.A and Adventure Cove. Breakfast was also included for the two night stay. We arrived late and check-in was very straightforward. However there was only a smoking room left which was a bad start. We requested to change for the second night and they arranged that the next day very efficiently and gave us a bigger room on the 8th floor. In general the staff was good and helpful. The rooms are new, tidy and clean but the design and colours they chose gives the hotel a very 90ies feel to it. Wifi is not complimentary which in this day and age is not acceptable. The room did not really give a 5* feeling of luxury and lacked some amenities of a 5* hotel such as no conditioner or body lotion and no bathtub as others have mentioned. Also the quality of the towels was not consistent. The first night they were quite thin and threadbare but the second night they were obviously new and were what one would expect of a 5* establishment. The pullout table was a bit flimsy but the bed on the other hand was very comfortable and was the only highlight of the room. Breakfast also left a lot to be desired and the buffet was not of very high quality. Also the staff was slow in bringing new plates etc. The pool does look small as mentioned by other reviewers but the gym looked nice and was quite large for a hotel.
Locationwise the hotel is very good for all the attractions and is also just next to the Monorail station which links the island to Vivocity.
Depending on your expectations and price you paid you may think it is a good hotel. It definitely is a good location to explore Sentosa but the reason I give it only 3 out of 5 stars is purely because they are branding this hotel as a 5* hotel but it is just an average new 4* hotel. In a few years the rooms will definitely look even more dated if they are not maintained properly. It is definitely not worth the listed price of 400 SGD a night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetlife888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Arrived around 12:30pm, my husband was served by a China origin staff! But, unable to check-in , cos official check-in time was 3pm. So, the staff gave us a chk-in slip for an express chk-in. Around 2++ , we tried to chk-in earlier thus trying our luck , tks to the friendly and helpful staff , a non-smoking room was available. And we decided to take the room, as mentioned by the staff , our room was with nice view ! Merlion right in front us.

Room - ok , bed too soft !
Toilet - nice , with Michael Graves art decor ! Provide basic toiletries
Swimming pool - too small , compared with Hard Rock Hotel. Next morning , at the pool side there are 2 uncles sleeping there ! My concerned is - where is the security issue ! Not a hotel guest , but is sleeping there ? Look to me both are the casino guests , but do not wish to go home therefore wanna catch some rest before going to Cairo again !

Nothing much to complain.

Next trip will not considered this hotel !

Room Tip: Request a corner room , you may catch a gd view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WennKoh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Sentosa is a hoot. Built for the young at heart.affordable,clean and so much to do.i wish i was 20. Staff all great with very lttle problems with english. There is ahuge flow of gamblers through all hotels on the island but are easy to avoid.beachside of the island is wonderful as are all theme parks. My favorite was the transformer ride. Be aware. There are weight and height restrictions on most fast rides. Safety is a premium. Hotel michael. Breakfast ok with all normal choices. Dinner was in the same venue and amazed us with its quality and unique features. Jar set tirumisu???? Bloody beautiful!.

Room Tip: Queensize beds are poor but bathrooms are great. Non smoking floors are best,ie, 10 th
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yantina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Arrived on 5 May 2013, few minutes smooth check in , staff service is nice .they arrange a non smoking floor on ten floor and have a great merlion view and quite room at the end of floor. The room is clean and i love the comfort bed so much.
Hotel is between Sentosa Express Imbiah and Waterfront Station , Universial Studios just five minutes by walk. Clean gym room and swimming pool on 3rd floor with towel provide, the bad thing is there is a smoking floor.
Breakfast just average, but for this price , what can you expect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enochhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

For the value we had, it's good! We got an overnight stay with 2 adult pass to adventure cove and 2 buffet breakfast. We checked in early at 12nn and we were given a room immeidately. However the hiccup is that the room's Aircon is faulty. It's quite warm. It took 2 phone calls within a span of 4 hours before they allowed us to change to another room. Luckily it's an adjacent one. S we easily packed up and transferred our stuff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragdoll711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The room was OK. Not many TV channels - most channels catered to a certain tourist group.

I asked for 2 extra pillows for my back cos the mattress was a bit too soft for me at the front desk. But they never came. So I called housekeeping. But the bizarre answer I got was that each room is only entitled to one pillow. A hotel that is short on pillows? Go figure.

The gym and pool were on the third floor which was a smoking floor. In order to get there, you had to either endure the smoke all the way or stop breathing for 20 seconds whilst walking very quickly.

While there was a "no-smoking" sign at the pool, non-locals continued to puff away. Worse, a little girl openly peed next to the pool.

The good thing about the place was that it is near the attractions - USS and the aquarium. Also, when we gave feedback to the manager regarding the pee, he immediately sent a staff to clean it up. We misplaced our brolly and the staff kept it for us, promptly returning it upon our enquiry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rikoyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stay at Hotel Michael for a night and the experience is only average. Beds are comfortable, aircon is very strong and room is pretty soundproof. However, the design of the bathroom is really bad. They only have a standing shower and every time after showering, the whole bathroom got flooded. Their check-in time is at 3pm but their concierge is so slow that I have to wait for 15 mins despite I am first in the queue. The housekeeping also took a long time to deliver the toiletries I had requested. I stay at Festive hotel last year & Festive is definitely much better than Hotel Michael!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valtripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
0.3 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#3 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael

Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Price Range: £117 - £1,052 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious treat for art lovers, Hotel Michael is designed by one of America's greatest contemporary architects - Michael Graves. This boutique hotel bears the designer's elegant and distinctive touches, from lamps and crockery to furnishings and the decor. You will also enjoy a myriad of conveniences, and a short walk to the various attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing