We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Warrandyte, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were looking for a good place to unwind on the way home after a European winter road trip, but this was not the place. We have stayed at other Hard Rock Hotels that have been great, but we fount this place too "try hard". The room was nice enough, though I had hurt my foot and was walking with an obvious pronounced limp. They put us in the room that was at the farthest end of the longest corridor. A good 2 - 3 min walk from the lift for me at the time... they said they were fully booked and could not change our room. ALSO they were doing some sort of renovations and the noise (during the day) in our room was ridiculous. It was like someone was jack-hammering NEXT DOOR!!!

The worst part of the story (for me) is the swimming pool. We were looking to relax by the pool for a couple of days, but the atmosphere was dreadful. They were playing REALLY bad music (Asian Glam Rock) all day long REALLY loud, and through a terrible sound system. No wonder the pool area was deserted.

The food for me was also very poor. The breakfast buffet was just "wrong" and the poolside service and food very average. We went out twice for dinner in the complex outside the hotel, and were also disappointed.

Nothing would bring us back to either this hotel, or the complex on Sentosa.

Room Tip: Corridors are very long. Ask for a room near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Director of Rooms at Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Jim K,

Thank you for taking time to provide a review on your recent stay.
We sincerely apologize that we did not provide the accommodations nor comfort level that met your expectations.

We will share your feedback with the F&B team, and look foward to improve.

We have sent you a private message and would like to obtain more details about your stay, and confirm that you stayed in February. During this time the property was undergoing some enhancement works, but those works have since been completed, and our future guests should not expect any such disturbances.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to be given another chance to welcome you back to Hard Rock Hotel Singapore at Resorts World Sentosa.

- Love All Serve All –
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    729
    496
    190
    166
See reviews for
1,048
376
42
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel Sentosa for a night back in August. The hotel is very well designed with the obvious rock and roll imagery evident throughout the hotel. We were given a large suite upon check-in which was a very spacious and luxurious room with a living room attached. The main attraction was the swimming pool area with good music and a nice poolside bar. There is even a fake beach! Food and service were of a very high standard and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Sentosa.

Room Tip: Ask for the large suite when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STripF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Director of Rooms at Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Stephen F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your passionate review on your recent stay with Hard Rock Hotel at Resorts World Sentosa.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the accommodations, our incredible pool, and what we like to call the "Hard Rock Vibe".

We have shared your kind comments with our staff and all of us look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hard Rock Hotel Singapore for an authentic experience that Rocks!

Love All – Serve All
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel was quite a distance from the airport 30ish minutes and maybe $30-40SGD for a taxi. If you are going with a family Sentosa Island is perfect but as a couple quite isolated.
The eaters are close yet expensive, free transport around the island once on, Universal Studios walking distance.
Bed was large and comfortable, TV difficult to navigate, room to dark, bathroom to dark also, no balcony just a large window. Pool was large but over crowed with people, no guards seen.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Director of Rooms at Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Kim K,

Thank you for taking time to provide a review on your recent stay.

We appreciate any and all feedback. We are a bit away from the city, but it also gives our guests a chance to experience a more serene, and tranquil environment that is unique to Sentosa Island. We have many day activities to offer and for those wanting nightlife, we are a short cab ride away to the city.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to be given another chance to welcome you back so we can try and "Rock Your Stay."

- All is One –
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in interconnecting rooms (2 adults and 3 kids under 8). The hotel is in the best location for families on Sentosa. It was clean and spacious and the breakfast is fantastic - our kids loved it. We did not eat other meals in the hotel as it was very expensive. We only used the kids' club once during our 6 day stay but it seemed great and the kids asked to go back! (Sign up for a hotel membership when you drop the kids off for a cheaper rate). The pool is brilliant for all ages. The hotel itself is very close to Universal Studios and everything else Sentosa has to offer. Staff are pleasant enough but not overly helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvncf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Director of Rooms at Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear tvncf,

Thank you for your positive feedback about your recent stay at the Hard Rock Hotel Singapore!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the accommodations, and attractions here! We like to consider ourselves a go-to destination for the whole family with plenty to offer both children and adults. It is great to hear you made time to visit our very popular outlet Starz. We will pass our compliments to the chef!

Everyone is a rock star here!! Come see us again soon! Rock On!!

- Love All Serve All –
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

First impression from the name of the Hotel turned misleading. It turned out be quite nice and warm place. The view was outstanding, facing the greens of the island. It is the closest hotel to Universal Studios, just 5 minutes walk. and 7 min walk to Aquaria.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the green parts of island recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukhmishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Director of Rooms at Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear sukhmishra,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your rave review on your recent stay with Hard Rock Hotel at Resorts World Sentosa.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the accommodations, and the great views of the island greenery. We are in the middle of all of the action, and we have views of the pool, Marine Life Park and even the Cable Cars!

All of us at Hard Rock look forward to welcoming you back soon! Rock On!

Love All – Serve All
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel was ok but not as good as I expected for the price, the rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. No doors to the bathroom area is inconvenient if your not a couple but otherwise nice and clean. Meals were quite expensive with breakfast starting at about $22 pp and the dinner buffet $75. Staff were very helpful but not very well informed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenfo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Director of Rooms at Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear jenfo77,

Thank you for taking time to provide a review on your recent stay.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks also for your feedback on the breakfast, we appreciate the opportunity to improve.

All of us look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hard Rock Hotel Singapore.

- All is One –
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Ok....the good news...Sentosa is a great place to stay .....lots to do, see & eat.

The Hard Rock Hotel was a complete letdown. Poorly lit when you walk in, hard to see things clearly when you've come in from the brightness of outside.

Check in staff are all very nice but.....so slow.

Rooms...decent size but lack amenities, no bath tub even though a better design would allow for one, not even a door onto the bathroom and then....a see through toilet door (the glass is smoked but it doesn't hide much). The shower was DANGEROUSLY HOT - You can spend hours adjusting the water but you can either have a cold shower or a burning hot shower - nothing in between. NOT ACCEPTABLE HARD ROCK.

There is a distinct lack of pillows on the bed, the TV controller was useless, there are very few English Channels available, they do have movie rentals at $20.00 SGP - movies are 6 months old, even though they say NEW Releases...what a joke. Radio did not work or tune into a radio station at all.

Staff...near to useless. The actual Hard Rock Cafe is located in the Forum Area about 5 mins walk away from the HR Hotel. The bar staff couldn't even tell us where the Cafe was...we had to hunt down the Concierge for this bit of info. How bad is that??

Breakfast was........blooming awful.....a tasteless study of blandness for the Westerner - rubber eggs (poor quality for sure as yolks were yellow not orange). The bacon was supposed to be crispy but was chewy and tasteless. The beans were also tasteless - cheap generic brand for sure. The pancakes were doughy and a great many people left them on the plate. They serve runny jam in a big bowl but have a knife to try and serve it with instead of a spoon, it takes time & energy to try his!! Tea & Coffee was self service (that's ok) but is put into huge canteen sized urns and the coffee was like battery acid and the tea was so stewed it was as bad as those who
microwave tea!! DREADFUL .

Milk is already on the table in a tiny jug.....and has obviously sat out for hours as it was warm by 8.00am.

Tip - Get a glass of cold milk near the cereals to use if you dare try the coffee/tea. Or go to Starbucks in the Forum Shopping Area for a decent cuppa.

The pool area is ok....very limited access, the towel staff are a joke, so grumpy & rude. The swim up bar is also a joke. Only about 8 bar stools, badly trained staff who couldn't/wouldn't understand what a shandy was. The coke/lemonade/tonic is left sitting out in hot sun and the idiot bar tender kept smacking the cans and making them open with an "explosive" type noise. This is ok a few times but if you spend any length of time at the pool....it can get on your nerves. GOOD LUCK FINDING A DECK CHAIR TO SIT ON. The pool area is largish but they offer very few chairs indeed. ANOTHER POOR EFFORT by Resort World Sentosa. The pool is also shared by a number of other hotels.....hence the Spanish Inquistion when one requires a pool towel.

We will not return to the Hard Rock or recommend it to anyone we actually like!!

Thank goodness for the great shops at The Forum & Universal Studios.

Room Tip: Tip....go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicar43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Director of Rooms at Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Vicar43,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review on your recent stay with Hard Rock Hotel Singapore at Resorts World Sentosa.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have sent you a private message to find out more about your reservation and stay as we would like to investigate further.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to be given another chance to welcome you back to Hard Rock Hotel Singapore at Resorts World Sentosa.

- All is One –
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sentosa Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#5 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Singapore

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway | Resorts World Sentosa, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore offers uniquely designed accommodations with orchestrated service that delivers authentic experiences. Enjoy fashionable dining and entertainment options that combines both five-star service with a rock and roll edge only Hard Rock Hotel Singapore can offer. What’s more, being in a centralised location in the resort means you are minutes away from some of the region’s top attractions, such as Universal Studios Singapore® and S.E.A. Aquarium™, as well as Asia's flagship of the world-renowned ESPA. For those who need to host special events, take your pick from some of the best meeting and conference facilities, as well as an indoor exhibition space, including 30 function rooms and Asia's largest column-free ballroom that seats up to 6,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel, Singapore Hotel Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing