We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I was really very disappointed with our four night stay at this hotel. Our room was comfortable and the new décor is pleasant however we found the service to be at best, inconsistent. For example, after an unfortunate dining experience in Barnacles the restaurant staff made best efforts to make amends, which was greatly appreciated, however this was followed up by a challenge from management, who seemed determined to prove that the fault had not been with the hotel but with the customer. It was neither subtle nor appropriate. Overall, this hotel just failed to impress.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dante0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,012
    1,090
    350
    136
    77
See reviews for
2,170
711
73
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

From the moment we first arrived and were greeted by the staff we knew that we had made the right choice. This place is amazing and set in a beautiful location right on the beach. I do not even know where to begin as everything about this hotel is positive. The rooms are spotless and well equipped, the breakfast is to die for as well as the buffet dinner at the Silvershell. The staff (chef Sam & others) do the rounds to ensure that you are happy with the selection of the food and they even spend heaps of time chatting to you about SIngapore and anything else that you wish to know. Whilst you may feel that Sentosa is far there is an excellent bus system both local and the hotel which takes you into Harbourfront every day and it only takes a few minutes. Upon arriving at Harbourfront you are then greeted by Vivo City which is a HUGE shopping centre with loads of stores to choose from. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and if you love being greeted by monkeys hanging off your balcony and peacocks around the restaurant then this is it. The pool areas are fabulous and there is so much to do on Sentosa it is a great place to stay whilst in Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazytraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

What can I say met my parents at this hotel, I travelled from Oz and them from London and I hope this says it all, we have booked to stay again in December 2011. Sivash one of the managers could not have been more helpful, including a courtesy call after our visit. Amazing views over the South China Sea, wonderful rooms, massive deluxe beds, crispy white sheets, feathered duvets and pillows, lovely fluffy towels, brilliant room service, clean rooms, great food, massive tv, loads of room, restaurant was wonderful, breakfast was buffet with so much choice, hotel pool area lovely and clean, service was outstanding. I would absolutely stay here again, free bus to mainland from outside hotel, great base to explore sentosa island itself, one downside WE DID NOT STAY LONG ENOUGH and our break was over far too quickly. Contact hotel direct to book and do not use late deals as they will beat any deal direct you find on the net, they will meet you at airport and they cannot do enough to make sure you have an amazing break. Great for family, solo, business, couples etc and the rooms were quiet. Can't wait till December to go back.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view and pay a little more the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duck-Feet-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Nice and relaxing atmosphere but beach was dirty. We assumed due to shell refinery fire in the previous week. Very nice staff being very helpful and understanding with the many kids messing around. Our two kids enjoyed the kids' club and made many friends. The garden looks nice but the view is romantic due to many ships and refinery.
It is a good place start some day activities and be close to town for some great Hanan chicken rice.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor are great and convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aumbricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa is at level with it's brand and the chain's hotels on other locations.

Location
The location is fantastic on Sentosa Island, with a great strip of beach and access to a vast number of activities on the Sentosa beach. If you are up for a jungle trekking, also this is only 2 min. away from the resort.
The resort itself, and its pools, restaurants, bars and green areas are great.

Booking and check
Check in went smooth and with the same level of service and information as is usual for these hotels. Being recieved with a smile is always great.

Room
Room size is slightly smaller than what I have experienced on other Shangri-La hotels. We managed to stay 2 adults and 3 kids in a family room, but it is not really suitable for more than 2 adults and 2 kids.

Restaurant
We had the best food on our 2 month trip in asia at this resort, and I am sure I gained at least 5 pounds during our 3 nights stay. Even the buffet, only consists of the best-of-the best, and with great variety from day to day.

Kids-club
The resort has a kids club. They run a daily program with the kids, with lotsa different activities from building sand sculptures, drawing, playing in the pool etc. Our kids loved it.

Check out
We were invoiced for two dinners, which were already included in our package deal. When pointing out the mistake, the receptionist politely apologised and corrected the error. Other than that, we experienced absolutely no flaws.

Room Tip: Ground floor, garden-view (pool side) is better than sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tharcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Well what can I say. I could not find one fault with this hotel - and I looked. The room was beautiful, exceptionally clean, plenty of storage, free wi-fi. Huge bed with feather mattress liner, feather pillows, feather duvet with white cotton sheets and covers. The room was well equipped huge tv, fluffy towels and all the amenities you expect and more. The staff were extremely hospitable and friendly - nothing was too much for them. The views were fabulous especially in the evening. Food was fabulous especially breakfast - I have never seen such a selection before. Although we did not travel with children the facilities were great for children and I would not hesitate in returning with mine. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone with or without children. To see housekeeping staff washing emergency exit doors at 9pm at night provides great peace of mind!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Great place to relax by the pool, and the beach at the end of the pool - perfect place to sit back and enjoy the calmness of the ocean on a hot day !

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,867 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 312 in Singapore
21,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing