We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-La”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Shangri-La”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa resort is a great place to stay if you are going on holiday in Singapore, and want to relax from the everyday stresses of life.

As soon as I had entered the hotel, I was brought up to my room for an in-room check-in. Immediately, I stepped out onto the balcony to see the astonishing views of the South China Sea. If you get yourself a proper Terrace Room, you will have a second balcony, in addition to the standard one. I would definitely recommend making the upgrade to a Terrace Room. You will also be given a complimentary fruit basket which consists of some of the most exotic fruits on the planet.

The hotel itself has various dining options. I have tried out most of the different ones, and the best one by far, in my opinion, is the Silver Shell Café. At this restaurant, you can enjoy an unlimited buffet, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can have a go at the exotic, local foods, if you wish, or just go with your typical omelette-pancake breakfast.

So far, this may sound like your typical Carribean getaway resort, where you will get a room with a balcony and be fed rather well. However, the Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa Resort has something that most Carribean hotels don't have. It has an excellent staff, which provides sincere, generous, and non-robotic service, at all times. You can come up to any of the employees with one of the most absurd requests, at any time, and instead of giving you the rather typical, "No, I'm sorry, our policy doesn't allow us to do that...", they will actually try to help you. I have been to many five-plus star hotels in my life, and never have I seen staff that is so eager to help. I just dont get why ordinary hotels can't train their staff to be actual humans. I honestly believe that the hotel's management really has a proper way of training its staff. In fact, during my visit, I met with the hotel's general manager, to discuss the outstanding service that his staff offers.

The hotel has an outstanding outdoor pool, which can be excellent fun for you, and perhaps your kids as well.

If you don't need to be in the city centre of Singapore a minute after you wake up, I would recommend this hotel to you. It does take around 20 minutes to get to the city centre by taxicab, but on some days, that won't be necessary because the hotel has such a wide variety of amenities to offer.

Honestly, if you ask me, I think you should make the upgrade to a better room, because it will considerably change your holiday.
It may cost you around 530 Sinapore Dollars a night, but trust me; those will be the best $530 you would have ever spent.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitzanm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,018
    1,094
    352
    136
    78
See reviews for
2,181
711
73
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Just spent 9 nights at Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa. Our last stay there was two years ago before their complete renovation. The $80M revamp has made a huge difference. We stayed in a family garden room again that opens onto the pool area. The rooms are now just like new with really nice bathrooms. After reading other reviews prior to our trip I thought breakfast could have been tricky, however we were seated imediately every morning no matter what time of the morning and our stay was during a fully booked long weekend and several floors of the hotel occupied by pro golfers for Barklays Open.
This resort style hotel is probably the very best place to stay in Singapore for a family holiday with kids. Free shuttle bus to Vivo City every 20 minutes. Taxis cost around $8 - $11 to city centre.

Room Tip: If you are going to spend a lot of time lounging by the pool consider a family garden room that open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunlounger_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a wonderful resort, totally recommended. We couldn't fault it in any way.

The rooms were incredible, all with a balcony overlooking to pool and the ocean. The rooms were well appointed with all the usuals, and were well looked after.

Good quality toiletries, and complimentary bottled water.

The rooms were well serviced, and there was a turn down service in the evening.

The pool is lovely, and has a great bar beside it and access to the beach.

The breakfast w incredible, best I've ever seen in a hotel. They had freshly cooked eggs and omelettes with 3 egg chefs! There was a great election of fruits, yoghurts, breads, preserves, waffles, pancakes, and all the usual breakfast cereals. There were plenty of Asian options too.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had one issue where our air-conditioning broke, and maintenance were there within 5 minutes to fix it.

We totally recommend this as a great resort.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end have bouble sized balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence_and_Trudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamnagar, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Nice hotel with a view of South China Sea. Very big and nice rooms with good balcony. If you are in a group you can request for Indian food as they have Indian chef. Lovely swimming pool. Many must see places are just outside the hotel. Underwater world is just outside the hotel compound.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrenikdodhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here at the end of October for 4 nights due to the reviews that this hotel was child friendly. We organized airport transfers and stayed in an Ocean View room. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast buffet had a very good selection. The hotel provided us with a baby bed and a stroller per our request and we also utilized their baby sitting services twice.

The room was nice and it had a small balcony but our bathroom didn't have a bathtub, just a shower.

The resort was clean and the staff were always open to help. If you stay in a room with a balcony, be aware of the monkeys!

The only small issue we had was for our departure, for our airport transfer, even though I sent them our flight itinerary, I didn't reconfirm and no car was ready but they did call a Mercedes taxi to take us to the airport which was just as fine.

All in all, we were very happy with our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABCPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We normally stay in the City but this trip as we were disembarking the wonderful Silver shadow we decided to stay at The shangri La Rasa for a change. What a change! Checking in was a delight and we were given a lovely executive room on the top floor. A glitch with the power was immediately rectified - full marks to the maintenance team. Our room was spotless and the views to die for out over the harbour.
Service was excellent throughout the hotel and the pool area was beautifully cared for and the staff exemplary. Children had plenty of places to play and swim so were not a nuisance as we had feared they may be - quite the opposite.
The twice daily visit from the monkeys added a new dimension to our stay and we thoroughly enjoyed carefully ineracting with them - did they love our fruit bowl!
All in all, a delightful place for a stay for both adults and children.

Room Tip: The executive rooms were in a child free area and high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professional2ourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights on a return from Bali and loved it. The rooms are not huge but space is a premium over there and it had everything we wanted and needed. The view out over the bay was fantastic and the Singapore Slings at the pool bar were perfect.

The haouse keeping staff were great as were the front of house. The restaurant was beautifully presented as well as the food being of a high standard.

We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeckyl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,872 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#36 of 312 in Singapore
21,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing