We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great family room”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

I have read some of the reviews on here and frankly I am surprised at some of the descriptions of the accommodation and family room. We have a 10 and 8 year old and the room was spacious and comfortable. I always wonder why people get so obsessed with hotel rooms on family holidays, given that the objective surely is to spend the minimum amount of time in it! Hotel good location and perfect for a couple of nights stay. I am not sure, at least for us, that we would want to spend more than a couple of nights in Singapore.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,960
    1,069
    345
    133
    77
See reviews for
2,114
693
72
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Room: The Family Pool View room was not cheap at $400+ per night on Agoda but there was enough room for me and my three kids. The room had a king (California king?) bed plus a futon that converted into a comfortable queen bed. There was enough room leftover for a baby cot (i.e. playpen), which was supplied by the hotel. The room seemed newly renovated and was clean with "hardwood" floors instead of grungy carpet. It had a balcony so the room had access to fresh air. The bathroom was nice and had both a tub and a shower.

Hotel: The hotel is quite large and seemed fairly full, but we never felt lost in the shuffle. The staff was very attentive. It seems perfectly suited to kids ages 5 to 12. My oldest child is 14 and was too old for the kids club and too tall for the water slides (there's a 1.2 m height limit). My youngest child is 1 and was too little for both of the above, although he could enjoy the little kids' playroom with parent supervision. Kids of all ages can enjoy the arcade (pay per play) and ping-pong tables. The pool has a separate (and partially shaded) kids area with three small water slides and a water play area. The main pool has a large shallow area that is also ideal for young children. Note that all the pool chairs were occupied by 10 AM every day. There is a trapeze and climbing wall a short walk down the beach but extra charges apply. It's true that the hotel is beachfront, but Siloso beach is a public beach, though it wasn't crowded during our weekday stay. We appreciated that the room included free WiFi (a rarity in Singapore) and breakfast. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have ever experienced--very extensive and the food tasted as good as it looked.

Sentosa: The hotel is at the end of the beach tram line and on the free Sentosa bus line, making it easy to get around Sentosa. It's also less than a mile walk to the Beach monorail stop that takes guests off the island to the Harbourfront/Vivo City malls, where one can catch the Singapore MRT (subway). I believe the hotel runs a free shuttle bus to Harbourfront, too. There's plenty to do in this section of Sentosa--Fort Siloso, Underwater World, trapeze, luge, Wave House ("surfing"), Songs of the Sea show, Megazip line, etc. It is possible to walk to restaurants outside the hotel. We changed hotels after two nights and stayed in Resort World for easier access to Universal Studios. I wouldn't do that again. It's not hard to get from the Shangi-La to Resort World on the monorail and Universal Studios doesn't even open until 10 AM.

I initially thought the hotel was overpriced but Singapore is an expensive city and after seeing what my money bought me at the Hard Rock Hotel in Resort World, the Shangri-La ended up seeming like a decent value. We'd go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

Husbands requirements; quiet with a beatiful view of the ocean. After much research the Shang on Sentosa had the best rating..Loving the Shang in KL, I was so excited to stay. Excitement ended upon arrival. 1st of all no valet, really $500+ a night no valet really? 2nd, Panoramic View is completely lost in translation. Oh yes there is a view of the ocean and if you squint from you bathtub which is supposed to have a view, I guess you could see the ocean, 3rd not quiet...lots and lots of kids which is wonderful to note if you are looking for place for the kids (however there are so many other places to stay on Sentosa where the kids would have a blast). 4th service leaves so much to be desired..again I am spoiled by the Shang in KL but this is a real disappointment. The bartenders were unfriendly and clearly overwhelmed, the Front Desk (Hotel Management Team - upon arrival this is the first time your customer sees you! You need to get this right!!) is really busy busy, not too interested in answering questions. 5th hotel was just re opened in 2010? In two years it has taken a beating. Shabby carpets, mold in the shower, etc...6th..room cost, upon check in signed standard check-in paperwork which includes the cost of the room per night. When checking out this morning the cost of the room was $10 more a night(not that big of a deal but total bill for two days was outrageous). I questioned the bill and was told that the cost of the room was additional $10 per the confirmation email. What I signed a contract for a different cost of the room??? Seriously if the intention of the hotel is to charge additional $10 for weekend nights, then there should be two room rates listed on the checkin paperwork. Regardless after much discussion the $10 was removed. Thankfully..

**There is on notable exception the awful experience***. The Barnacle Restaurant was amazing!! The service was fantastic and the Lobster was the very best that I have ever had...Hint Shangri La Sentosa get your restaurant manager to come run your front desk!!

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Rodfamadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The staff is perfect and one of the best.

The main problem was during booking direct with the resort we made months ago we were advised to take a family room for our two boys and baby. This room was so small you could not stretch your arms. Too small for $469 per night plus taxes per night.

The lovely staff move us to another room at an additional cost of $120 per night then to another location in two nights time for another $100 per night.

I highly DO NOT recommend a family room as now it will cost me $840 additional money that was not budgeted for, thanks to the advice of the hotel booking staff.

Not happy.

Geoff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gchjlfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

we arrived after along flight from New Zealand on our way home to England we had three nights we found everything was lovely we had sea view.The staff were polite,breakfast was ample, pool was lovely and very welcome with the heat. We would differently stay there again.

Room Tip: have a sea view best on ten or eleventh floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel had it all, we shared a room with our 2 girls, ages 3 and 7. The pool, slides and facilities were all fantastic. No need to leave Sentosa island it has it all for the kids. The hotel was a good location, off to the side of the island so it was quieter and walkable if needed. It attractions or right near the bus stop. Buffet breakfast and dinners were amazing. Negatives- too expensive just to have an acloholic drink by the pool!! Kids are free in the kids club but you have to do what the club is doing for activities or you have to pay, so if your child doesn't want to do the trapeze which is the activity for the afternoon then you have to pay for them to do something else. Rooms were a good size and the staff friendly and helpful. We did have to wait for 2 day before we could get a stroller from the hotel as they were all booked. The moneys are annoying, mostly coming out at dusk and dawn, the come to the balcony's to see if the doors have been left open or unlocked. Hard to just sit out on the balcony and relax with a drink and nibbles, although the kids found it great. Just have to be vigilent with locking your balcony door, adds to the atmosphere I guess.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the pool or ocean view are all good. The closer your room is to the Lobby the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My family and I recently experienced a short stay

I just want to say to anyone who is considering this hotel - please think about what you deem important in your stay and make your decision accordingly

The rooms are atrocious and the staff including the management do not really care for individual customer complaints so if you find yourself in a filthy dirty room, they pretty much will make you feel like you are complaining about nothing even though you have spent hundreds at their establishment

So here it is - the family pool view room:
-Scum and mould in bathroom, especially near toilet
-dust and dirt absolutely every floor surface, please just take a look behind curtains and move sofa or chairs a little and you will be disgusted

Staying in a FAMILY room where there are going to be children you would expect that paying hundreds of dollars means you get at least a 3 star standard of cleanliness - not the case at all. It was so bad that my 4 year old daughter refused to eat her ordered room service food because 'it is too dusty here' and believe me it was - my teeth were in grimace mode.

When we complained the duty manager and cleaning supervisor arrived and moved us to an identical dirty room, we didn't bother following up as we were there for one night and we have 2 young children who needed to sleep

We did complain on our return however and were given a nominal 'courtesy rate' for next time, but guess what? The general manager - Ben Boussina I believe - just emailed to say they are too busy to receive us back on our chosen weekend. Oh dear. The lack of hospitality, the uncleanliness and the sheer audacity of it all makes this not even the 4 star hotel it is but a mere 3 stars

Majorly disappointed, trust me you are better off spending a little more at Capella or a little less at the sentosa resort and spa and getting true hospitality

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honestadvisor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#9 of 13 in Sentosa Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing