We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable family hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfortable family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at Rasa Sentosa during March/April 2012 . It was our 3rd time to Singapore and we were so glad to have chosen this hotel. We usually stay in Orchard street, but found it just too busy and wanted to relax & unwind while still enjoying the "buzz" in Singapore. Rasa Sentosa was the perfect choice since the lovely pool area and garden provides a relaxing atmosphere and gave the kids a chance to play and relax in between the shopping & sightseeing. The hotel provides a shuttle service to Vivo/Harbourfront Mall every 20 min that we used daily. Although the Hotel is further from town it is still pretty easy to get around from here with the Sentosa bus service or taxi( a round trip to Orchard Str cost us about SD22).
The rooms are comfortable enough, maybe a little small, but then again most Singapore hotel rooms are. The breakfast was good with a selection of pastries(these were just average), curries( really nice veg dhal with parata ),chinese food, lovely omelet stations & fresh fruits with swiss yoghurt . The only problem I had was when an extra breakfast area was created on level 5 to accommodate guests( the hotel was at full capacity during this time). The service here was terrible. The table cloths were messy and there wasn't cutlery on the table- we asked a waitress for teaspoons and she told me I was supposed to take it from the coffee station-there wasn't any there either so I had to stir my tea with the back of a knife. Empty platters were not refilled timeously and the whole experience there was just awful. I realise that it must be hard to accomodate so many guests, but surely a 5* hotel should be prepared for this & I hope they remedy this in future. We only ate there once though & refused to go back there the following days .
The best service I've ever experienced in all my years of travelling though was from the manager Ghynly Magsingit. We arrived at the hotel at 23:30 and all interleading rooms were taken-this meant 3 of my kids had to sleep in a completely seperate room. We were very dissapointed as we especially stressed during our booking that we needed interleading rooms but it could unfortunately not be pre-booked. Ghynly went out of his way to accommodate us into another room and even assisted the room service with the roll away beds and preparing the room for us. He was actually out of breath running around to make us comfortable. He really made our stay at this Hotel memorable with his friendly smile and his excellent service throughout our stay.
This is a lovely family hotel with a nice kids club and beautiful garden. You must stay for longer to be able to use the facilities because there is so much to do in Singapore that it is easy to just end up sleeping and eating at the hotel and be out the whole day.

Room Tip: The view from the higher rooms is lovely & less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KwazuluNatalSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,899
    1,042
    337
    128
    74
See reviews for
2,029
681
71
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
queenstown NZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

this place is just awesome. set up great for a family, i have 2 kids 2 years old and 5 years old. upon check in as soon as we walked in my bags were taken out the taxi, the kids were taken off by some guys making ballons for them and the mrs was taken to the bar with the GM for a cocktail! what more could you ask for, whilst i got all the information etc..

the staff here are just awesome and attend to everything that you need, they are geniune, friendly and just awesome. the resort is great, close to everything on sentose, its just a short shuttle to anything. next time im back this way im defentely staying here.

really the staff just took care of every need and make life with 2 young kids so easy..the pool was awesome and the kids slides etc..food and restaurants were great.

i cant wait to go back. thanks guys.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwiththemrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Simply a great hotel that manages the balance of catering to children and their parents. The breakfast (included) is outstanding...really outstanding....The rooms are 'adequate' taking price into consideration. Their are no screens on the doors, which due to the monkeys mean they have to be closed which n turn means that the air has to be on all night...a pity it would be nice to be able to leave the door open.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel on the advice of our travel agent. It is at a good location on the western end of Sentosa - about 15 minutes' walk along the beach from Beach Station. The hotel provides a free minibus shuttle to Harbourfront MRT station every 20 minutes till late at night which was very convenient.

We had an ocean view room which had 2 very comfortable single beds. Cable TV options were limited but we fell in love with the local radio station!

As others have said, this is very much a family-oriented hotel, with about half the pool space allocated to small children.

The down sides? Service could be a bit spotty, especially at the Bubble Bar. It could take a while to take your order and to get it delivered. And don't try and order drinks 'off menu' because that tended to confuse them. On the other hand, the reception staff were excellent.

We also had 2 days where the hotel was overrun with a huge Korean tour group. I guess the hotel coped as well as it could, but it was definitely crazy!

Would I stay again? Maybe. I guess for me personally, for the price I would prefer somewhere more 'boutique' and fewer young children. But that is just me.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Electricwireless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is such a wonderful place to stay in Singapore. Our family of five (in two interconnecting rooms) stayed for three nights en route from Europe to Australia.
The Rasa Sentosa has magnificent staff. Attentive, problem-solving, cheerful and engaged. Considering the scale of this enormous property, the staff incredibly make you feel like a valued house guest. For example, we arrived at 7am from the airport. We were offered use of the showers and the pool until a room could be made ready. Reception phoned me at 10am to say one room was ready (no early check-in charge). It was a life saver.
Another example: Next day I stumbled jet-lagged into the restaurant 20 minutes after breakfast service had finished (10.50am). I explained that my slumbering kids could be woken and would appreciate anything that could still be salvaged from the buffet. When we got back 15 minutes later a table had been set for five, with a modest spread of cereal, fresh fruit, muffins and fruit juice. All with a minimum of fuss.
Our rooms were sea-facing on level 9 with a cracking view of the South China Sea. Dozens of ships and ferries stretched across the water. Monkeys and peacocks perched on the balconies (make sure to keep balcony doors shut). With a sandals and shorts atmosphere, the amenity of the rooms is spot on: quite basic, but functional and well maintained. Everything worked.
We only dined at one restaurant: Sea Shells cafe (same place as the buffet breakfast). Really delicious southeast Asian food (and, I am told, excellent cheese burgers). There are lots of alternative food outlets at shopping centres across the causeway in mainland Singapore: Harbour Front and VivoCity. A free shuttle from the Rasa Sentosa operates every 20 minutes. Fantastic general shopping at these centres too. The better local bargains are in Harbour Front - which is also on a metro/subway line.
The area around Rasa Sentosa has been sculpted to make it feel like a faraway, sandy, palm-fringed, tropical island. So the huge pool (with some little water slides nearby for kids up to about 11 years old) is a very relaxing space. Again, the staff really add to the experience. They run the pool area very efficiently and carefully. Just a few steps away from the pool area is a long sandy beach. Nice for a walk, but best to keep swimming activities to the pool.
All up, this property suits if you're wanting to get away from it all just 20 minutes from Singapore. Sure, you have to suspend belief - and embrace the manicured wildness of Sentosa. But we relished staying at the Rasa Sentosa because it was cheery, welcoming and extremely relaxing.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms, above level 7 have great views. Just don't let the monkeys in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TranquilSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Context

We are a professional couple travelling with a toddler. We generally stay in branded hotels as we like and expect (as a result of the brand) certain standards. In particular I have always wanted to stay in a Shangri-La especially after a very enjoyable stay in the Traders hotel in KL (same group as Shangri-La hotels but a less good brand).

Summary of experiences

We were very disappointed with our experiences at the hotel and even discussed these experiences with management who agreed that they were acceptable. Our conclusion of the resort was that it could be fantastic but was currently being very badly managed - specific examples are given below. The result is a very mediocre or down market experience more typical of a holiday inn or 2 to 3 star hotel.

Booking/ reservation

We upgraded our room in advance of our arrival and this was confirmed by email, though it had taken several chasers to achieve this. On arrival they knew nothing of the upgrade and we had to go through the process again. Additionally, our key cards were wrongly programmed to expire one day into a four day stay. Also we had asked for and confirmed the use of a cot but they sent someone to install a sofa bed. Not the end of the world but another sign of bad communication/ general disorganisation.

Room

We stayed in a garden room (38 sq metres) to provide some toddling space for our little one. The room decor was fine, fairly neutral and modern. Some noise from the beachfront bar was audible from our room at night.

The cleanliness of the room was very bad though - used slippers had been left under the sofa, there were hairs on the floor and the floor was generally filthy (your socks became a lovely grey colour after walking on it) the sink and shower had mould in them, the shower cubicle door opened in such a way as to leak over the floor, the shower head over the bath leaked onto the floor after use. We asked for the room to re-cleaned twice but it was not done.

The corridors were also generally dirty and it appears to be generally acceptable that people leave used crockery and glasses on the floor outside their rooms and that the cleaning staff leave it there for days! I am not exaggerating! After about 6 times of walking past two particular lots of crockery I went up to reception and requested that they have it removed! This is the type of service I would expect from a bad motel not a Shangri-La.

Child friendliness/ Pool area

The hotel is definitely aimed at being child friendly and has an extensive indoor children’s play area and a designated toddlers’ play room. Although the area for older children is supervised by hotel staff, the toddlers’ room is not and is also clearly not inspected. As a result my daughter almost hit her head on the wall when she climbed up the stairs to a small slide and the steps fell backwards as they had been left unattached to the slide itself (luckily another parent was able to catch her)! We reported this immediately and the slide was taken out of use, but this clearly isn’t acceptable and could have had serious consequences.

The swimming pools are also aimed at being child friendly. There are slides, various shallow areas and an area with small animal related fountains which is toddler paradise!

The pool area generally is spacious and relaxing…most of the time. If you don’t want to be deafened by literally hundreds of Koreans, I would suggest checking whether they have any large conventions going on when you are thinking of visiting. Bizarrely the hotel seems to think it is acceptable to allow some of its guests to overrun the facilities. Each morning they would take to the pool in their tens for some kind of organised water polo-esque game with hundreds of spectators beating drums, dancing etc….the noise was a feature not only around the pool but also at breakfast where is could be heard very clearly. It added a package tour type feeling to otherwise pleasant surroundings.

Beach

Having a beach was one of the selling points for us when we chose to stay at the hotel. In reality however, the beach is right on one of the world’s major shipping lanes so you wouldn’t want to go in the water there. The sight of such a busy shipping lane is actually kind of impressive in some ways though!

Food

Breakfast was excellent. A wide range of food and the Indian food was particularly tasty. The only disappointing element was the lack of freshly squeezed juices. I was offered an a la carte orange juice for SGD 9.50!!!!

We had a very upsetting incident at the pool bar where we ordered a smoked salmon and cream cheese baguette for the bargain price of SGD 20 for lunch. When the baguette arrived, it contained almost no cream cheese and a very mediocre portion of smoked salmon. We asked for some more cream cheese and the waiter brought out an additional small amount out separately. On his way to our table he sneezed directly over the cream cheese! My husband picked him up on this and he lied (even though we had seen him!) about it. After some delay his boss offered to exchange the meal, but it was a very unpleasant experience. In an establishment like this I would expect the training of serving staff to be such that the waiter replace the cream cheese before he brought it to the table, not to serve it to us and lie about it!

The dinner buffet was impressive.

Service

As mentioned in part above, some of the service was truly lacking within the resort. That said, when some of our complaints were eventually escalated, the duty manager did make some effort to assist. However, even he admitted that he was not in a position to alleviate the problems in full (in particular the issue of room cleanliness) and he understood that the result of this was a level of accommodation that one would not expect of a Shangri-La hotel. I also think he was scared into action by the photos of the room we showed him and the threat of posting them online!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank wanderlust79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April '12. Checked into a family room with 2 kids aged 5 & 10 yrs old. There was a minor confusion with the reservations which the front desk staff helped to resolve right away and get us checked in. The room was really good with king bed and a sofa bed enough to accommodate all four of us. The rooms were clean and top class. The service was top class. The breakfast in the mornings was excellent. The cleaning staff went above and beyond to keep the place neat and tidy. The kids had a great time in the water play area. The hotel is close to the free shuttle red and blue line at Siloso point. It costs about 40 SGD from the airport to get here.

Room Tip: Get the breakfast buffet package, it is excellent. Take kids to the water play area with slides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snmbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#9 of 13 in Sentosa Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel and Hotelopia so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing