We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Nice clean rooms. The resort has good restaurant choices and just walk straight onto the beach. Lots of activities close by. For me its great value compared to other nearby resorts, and has a much better atmosphere. Its not world shattering service or rooms, but its a fun place to stay, simple and worry free.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mush5273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,699 - 2,705 of 3,809 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Its a really a family resort instead of for couples..

Hereby the slightly review :
- Room is small, but very clean and tidy
- Free transfer from Hotel to Vivo City (nice)
- Nice pool area
- Lack of information for special price Voyage De La Vie (none of the concierge know there is special price 20% discount for voyage de la vie show if you are staying at Shangri-la's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
- excellent breakfast

Room Tip: higher floor with better view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uthinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband, child and myself were on a week-long tour of Singapore on our annual summer vacation and we stayed at the Shangri-la Rasa Sentosa resort for two days. The experience has been singularly fantastic and we were sorry to leave. To start with, the check-in formalities were a breeze - no crowd when we checked in at around 2 pm (though they state that the check-in is at 3 pm, if you go earlier and they have the room, there is no issue). Our graden view room also had a view of the sea on the side, which was a pleasant surprise. The room came with a mini fridge well stocked with soft and hard drinks as well as ready to eat noodles, chips and the basic tea/coffee maker facilities. The room was very comfortable, luxurious and without a hair out of place as was the bathroom and other accessories provided. They also have free high speed internet - for those of you who are still not substantially enticed by the beauty of the place to put down you gadgets for even a minute!! :-) Room service was very prompt and even though they gave us a time limit of 20 mins, our dinner came to us well ahead of the stipulated time. The red line and blue line bus station as well as siloso beach tram stations are bang outside the resort as is a seven eleven. The underwater world and siloso fort are also next door, so getting around to see the main attractions of sentosa was also very comfortable. The food was delicious and their buffet breakfast spread is extensive and you are spoilt for choice. They also had idli, upma and dosa on their buffet as well as rice and Conjee (kanji). So it really doesn't get better than this for a hard core south indian with a very fussy eating child. The two Indian Chefs - Biju and Aravind deserve special mention as they made a special preparation of rice and rasam for my daughter on request. Though there are a few Indian items on the menu, they are ever willing to make something up for you on request - for which we remain very grateful. They have a twice a day housekeeping service. The pools are good, big and well maintained. There is a private beach on the property that offers lovely views of the sea scape. On the day of our check out, we ran a bit behind schedule having spent the day at the Universal studios and we were well past our check out time, but the reception was quite understanding about it and allowed us to check out at 3 pm (normal check out time is 12 noon) at no additional charge. This may have been because it was a week day - I am not sure if these exceptions will work on peak dates. These small things go a long way in making for a memorable holiday and we were a delighted lot as we left Sentosa. The only minus if you want to call it that, is that it is a pricey place and the rentals and food are both very expensive - but if that is not an issue, then go for it by all means! We would personally love to stay here again.

Room Tip: The thing about Sentosa is that you spend more time out of than in the resort, unless you are on a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pratima_Chandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed in a Family suite with wife and 2 boys. The overall experience was much more Holiday Inn than Shangri-La. Unfortunately you still pay Shangri-La rates so its not great value for money...

The Pros:
1)Resort is big enough with some good facilities for kids ...the kids pool area was great and you have good access to facilities around (underwater world is worth a visit and the very ordinary siloso beach is next door)
2)Room was big enough for family 4 and was well appointed ...

The Cons
1) Despite a recent renovation the hotel is old and tired and infrastructure isn't 5 star- corridors are scruffy, carpets are dated, the pool bar is tacky, we had cold water 4 times ( dodgy plumbing...?) and had to finally move rooms. Finally, had to queue 30 minutes to get into breakfast when it got busy. There is serious gap between the actual infrastructure and the 5 star price tag. Not good enough.
2) Service is patchy- staff at restaurants not being attentive or proactive ( apparently due to the renovation they lost 80% staff - it shows everywhere ....) , no one helped with bags at lobby,
3) Weak management - specifically, when I gave feedback on the above (the cold water issue was the real complaint) I got a breezy response 1 x week later.This exemplifies the issue - it should never have got to the point where we had cold water 4 times and had to move before a member of their senior management noticed... 1 x week later!

Overall, a very disappointing hotel and experience. It's a shame there isn't another real 5 star family resort around Singapore because this resort is getting away with mediocrity- and in the process damaging the Shangri- La brand.

Room Tip: To avoid a view of one of the worlds busiest shipping lanes get a garden room or pool view on a lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pjls-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I have ventured to many parts of the worlds (Europe, America, UK, Australia, and New Zealand) and stayed at so many luxury (Marriott’s, Starwood, Hilton, Radisson, St Regis, Palaces) and not so luxury hotels, apartments etc and you know service when you are presented with it. Everything from check-in, to walking past a staff member, to being organised with non-allergy bedding, to hiring a biking, booking a restaurant, the service at the restaurants and travelling to the airport was incredible. The staff and their service are out of this world.
I stayed in a deluxe sea view room with 2 double beds with my father on the 8th floor from 15th -18th May 2012.( i am in my 30's) It was a very nice room and the room amenities are excellent. They even have individually wrapped hair bands which for a person with long hair I thought was super. I also like the fact they had extra face wipes, cotton buds and tissues as well as face clothes. The turn down service was excellent as you can get extra towels which is good if you have showered after being out or at the pool during the day and need extra for the morning before the room is serviced the next day. The complimentary water they give you each day, I thought was spot on especially in a place which is so humid so thank you.
I used the gym which has all the state of the art equipment including being able to charge your iphone and listen to its play lists while you exercise and there was always enough towels on hand. We ate mostly at the hotel which was out of this world, I have been lucky enough to eat at famous restaurants all around the world and often have buffet at hotels such as the Marriot and Sheraton on the Gold Coast often. I was amazed at the quality of the buffet at the resort in the evening and the effort the staff put into the dishes to provide you with a unique taste of dishes of diffent asian and modern cuisine, some were the best I had ever tasted. When I arrived I felt like a snack and went to the pizzeria on the beach which again the quality and health of the pizza was as good as Rome! Talking about the beach after going for a bike ride (brilliant hybrid bikes, loved it as it was my first time using one) which was easy to hire right outside the hotel car park, I was happy once again to be staying at this hotel as it was the only hotel with direct beach access and private beach with beachside chairs and day beds which is always clean. I spent a decent amount of time at the pool area and love the pool and I like how you don’t have to feel suffocated by the kid’s area because you can just sit on the other side of the pool away for the kid’s zone. Ample towels were provided at the pool. I had a signature cocktail at the pool bar, which was incredible and was impressed by how attentive the staff were including the life guards on duty, with the guests overall.
I was lucky enough to eat at the Al Carte restaurant on the beach for dinner on night and if you can this is “must do” experience. Again not only is the food part of the best I have ever had, but they have singers that go around to each table with instruments and they were fantastic plus you get a brilliant view and settling on the water around the trees
Another added bonus to the hotel is the fact is right on the door of many of Santosa's main attractions and right next to the Aquarium which includes shark feeding and a dolphin and seal show. Which is not quite the class of the dolphin show at Sea world in gold coast, Orlando or San Diego but still a very worthwhile visit ( the seals dancing were fantasic and kids loved it!!) and the crabs and other fish and ocean life you can view makes it even more worth your time. Especially if you have kids as there is lots of interactive activities. I was able to club entry with a visit to the butterfly and bird sanctuary. And I was pleasantly surprised by this place, not only did it have amazing butterflies but the birds in the sanctuary were out of this world, a lot of which are not only from Asia but South America too. The layout of the venue is also so lush and beautiful and seeing so many different bugs and creatures was so fascinating. And the facts I learnt from both the Aquarium and the butterfly and Bird Sanctuary was great.
The Hotel also provided a free shuttle to VIVO city for shopping and even though I did not have enough time to venture there I was told by local friends that they shop there and it is way better than Orchard road which is overpriced and very touristic. Santosa itself has a lot to offer (in door sky diving, the new resort world and casino, Fluge, golf courses everywhere,shows and bridge climbing ) and you could easily stay here a week or 10 days without getting bored especially, staying at a hotel as fine as this .
I don’t have kids but walked past the kids club many times (as its next to the elevators I used) and saw many kids at the pool and at meal times and they all seemed happy with everything the resort had to offer and the parents seemed very calm and relaxed as they seemed to get a lot of support of the hotel staff. So I would defiantly stay here even if I had kids.
As you can tell I cannot rate this hotel highly enough if you are going to Singapore, as even if you want to venture to the city it is not far and so much nicer that staying in the city. I defiantly would stay here every opportunity I got and finish off saying to the hotel thankyou and please please don’t change anything for the negative only for the positive as I know I would be bitterly disappointed if things were not as good the next time I stayed here and I will defiantly be endorsing it at every opportunity possible.
One last thing is my room included breakfast definelty have this included as the breakfast is again one of the best I have ever have and the biggest choice and variety with such high quality I have ever had.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle_Graham_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Fantastic hotel in great location. Sea View Terrace Room is beautifully decorated, spacious and immaculate. Fresh flowers were a lovely touch. Resort facilities are outstanding. Silver Shell restaurant was a little disappointing but Barnacles was top class. Make sure you have plenty money though, it's very expensive to eat and drink in the resort.

Room Tip: Sea View Terrace room is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed here twice. If you are in Singapore to visit, experience, have fun and relax... this is a really good choice. It's on Sentosa (a beautiful island connected to the main city by road, Sentosa Express and cable car) and this probably is the only beachfront resort in Singapore. That means you can find here all the advantages of a high quality island resort, plus the proximity to one of the best cities in Asia.

To keep it short: you have wonderful views from your balcony, a nice garden below and the forest around; beautiful rooms (following a complete refurbishment), very good pool and a small beach, plus a lot of facilities and perfect service coming from really friendly people.
The restaurants are excellent (quite a few options, including a romantic one by the sea – Barnacles) and breakfast can be overwhelming, if you're not careful :)

Along the Sentosa island you can find many interesting things to see and experience, including the new Universal Studios amusement park, gardens, historic sites, oceanarium, a golf course and a lot more.
From the hotel you can easily reach the wonderful Marina Bay and Singapore city center, where you'll be very busy no matter the time of day. Architecture, art, food, fun! And the public transport is close to perfect.
So... great city, great hotel, splendid place for a holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#3 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,109 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#39 of 319 in Singapore
22,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range: £175 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing