We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Family friendly resort”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with husband and 3-year old daughter to be closer to the amusement /theme parks (Universal studio, etc) action.

Location:
Prime stand-alone location with no other hotel next to it. Convenient with Sentosa Bus stand, 7-eleven, and Underwater world right outside of the hotel entrance.

Service:
Efficient service on when we were there on Thursday-baby cot request fulfilled, and got a table during breakfast quickly. Especially pleased with our buffet dinner at Sea shell. Chef whipped out vegetarian fried rice and pasta for us promptly. The service staff were all cordial but barely warm.

Came Friday, it got worse waited 30 mins for a table for breakfast, kids' pool and club was packed and was hardly a relaxing beach vacation.

Hotel:
A dated and tired looking hotel. Hardly a 'beach' resort. Disgusting water and it shouldn't even be a selling point for the hotel. Seriously pls take the 'only beachfront resort' in Singapore point down. Kids' Pool area is a huge plus but a tad dangerous for toddlers & preschoolers as the small kids' pool also is where is the water slides lead to. A separate wading pool is also available but slightly away from the kid's attraction.

Would only stay there again for the proximity to the main Sentosa attractions!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,992
    1,082
    348
    134
    77
See reviews for
2,144
708
72
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (901)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed for 7 nights and after a week in the Jumeirah Beach in Dubai were very disappointed. Hotel and room were reasonable and we did have a beautiful sea view but the beach, which was one of the reasons for choosing Sentosa Island was very small and not very clean. Breakfast was good but meals in the restaurants within the hotel were only average. Lunch at the pool bar was very good and the seafood restaurant in the grounds was first class. Used the excellent free bus into Singapore for some evening meals. The island and the hotel are very good for families but too "Disney" like for older people like us. Not a hotel or area we would return to.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a de luxe sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This property is dated and service is good- I was not blown away as I expect at a typical Shangri-La. Lots of things need updating- furniture in rooms is showing wear and tear and public areas around the pool all need updating and a fresh coat of paint.
Great location. Dissapointed with the beach as other reviewers have pointed out- lots of trash.
This property could be so much more- but overall I was dissapointed with the hotel for a Shangri-la.

My 3 year old had a blast chasing Pea Cocks and Lizards and sliding down the slides.

One of the worst things was the power was turned off from 1-5 am for a test-this was noted at the property-but not when making reservations-I would have avoided this night as we were sooo hot without AC and opening the balcony was not an option due to cheecky *aggressive* monkeys. Not to mention the power on and off was loud and an annoying emergency light was on in our room all night. This was a HUGE inconvience and made my night very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here for the first week of a 2 week honeymoon and our only regret is that we didn’t stay here for the whole two weeks!

We arrived much earlier than the normal check in time of 2pm but they were happy to allow us to check in early with no extra charge. The room on the 8th floor was beautiful with a front facing balcony giving amazing views of the pool/sea/island.

The pool area was amazing. Lovely, cleverly divided and heated pool, suitable for both kids and adults. As a Honeymooning couple, we didn’t feel like we couldn’t be a “couple” in the pool, but there were still plenty of the kids to do as well. Only criticism of the pool is that the slides were for kids only. But we got over that. There were plenty of sun beds to accommodate all who wanted one and staff where happy to bring over food and drinks from the bar, even if the bar by the pool was a little expensive.

The beech outside the hotel is dedicated to those staying at the hotel only and there were sun beds and small kayaks that could be used to play in the sea. I am unsure if these were charged as we were too lazy to look into it, but either way, it looked like fun.

There are a number of hotel restaurants with a range of different prices. We ate out a fair few nights, but when we did eat at the hotel, we discovered it was actually cheapest to use the in room menu! Most of the restaurants were a little expensive, but I guess that is to be expected if you are staying in a 5*. There were plenty of cheap alternative so it really did accommodate all.
Though we were there as a couple, it was clearly a child friendly hotel, but not to the extent that there were kids running around everywhere. I have been to a no kids hotel before and it felt a tad stale and lifeless. This hotel was bustling with happy faces of both adults and children, but there was enough room and space that you didn’t feel like you couldn’t get away from kids. Eg: an adult section in the pool.

They were nice enough to give us a few little freebees as we were honeymooning and the staff were always polite and friendly. The breakfast was served until 10:30 and they even opened up extra breakfast rooms to accommodate those getting up late, which seemed to be most of the hotel.

Spa treatment was expensive but nice and relaxing.

The location of the hotel could not be better (for us). It very easy to access and was far enough away from the loud noise of the beach front clubs but close enough that you could easily do the pleasant walk to the restaurants looking out over the sea.

There is also a bus stop directly outside the hotel giving fast and easy access to the free bus transport taking you all over the island. There is also a large car park for those with cars. As i stated at the start, the location is so good that we wish we had not gone over to the main land for exploring the rest of Singapore. We wish we had just used the very cheap cabs or used the free (to those staying on the island) mono rail that takes you right to a main stop on the mainland.

Overall, I could not be more complimentary about this hotel. It was a fantastic stay with great staff, facilities, food, pool, everything! A top hotel that I very much wish to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bladze1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on the 10th floor of this lovely hotel and were very impressed with the friendly staff, large clean rooms and relaxing pool area. We had a room with a sea view which was worth every penny. This hotel caters for everyone and seems to have plenty to keep the young ones entertained, but we being a couple looking for a relaxing break were rewarded with just that! location was great, lots to do on sentosa island and most within walking distance. Dinner at Casserole restaurant (on level 3) was very enjoyable and reasonably priced. Staff also deserve a nod as they were extremly polite and helpful. An absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nothingbutthetruth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenSan, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here purposely to see how lovely is the place. No doubt the hotel is set in a lovely location. The building architecture is fairly impressive. The rooms are a bit small though compared to other Shangri la resorts like Mactan and Kota Kinabalu.The services while we didnt have any complaint was not as impressive compared to the other shangri-la hhotels we've been to. Breakfast was ok but not as varied or abundant in selections as that of what shangila hotels are known for. The swimming pool is fairly nice. But their beach...um...a pathetic factor. Not only it was stinky, it was littered with plastic cups and floating discards. In all, this shangri-la branch fell a bit short of our expectations.It pales in comparison with its other shangri la sister resorts scattered in other asian countires despite being more expensive.
Shangri-la Mactan is still tops for me. Sorry.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binx A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My boyfriend treated us to a weekend stay at Shangri-la last weekend. Even though the resort is catered towards family and kids, we as a couple still had a very relaxing time. The pools are HUGE with a separate kids pool with slides. We ordered lunch from the beach/pool bar. The food are very reasonably priced. Service there was very efficient. Our room was on the small side but it was adequate. We had the Deluxe Seaview room, and upon earlier request was given a room on the top floor. The view was amazing from our balcony. Not your usual view of just the sea, this one has ships docked all over the beachline. We had dinner at their Indian restaurant there. Service was excellent. Food was a little slow to arrive for my liking but the food was very tasty, big portions and very reasonably priced. We had to wait five minutes to get table at breakfast as the staff was busy clearing tables but that was ok. The spread was very decent with lots of variety. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Shangri-la and left relaxed and recharged.

Room Tip: Deluxe Seaview! Request for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eunicekow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#5 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,839 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 312 in Singapore
21,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing